We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exellent option for Cusco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Andariego

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added El Andariego to your Saves list
El Andariego
270 San Andres Street, Cusco Cusco01, Peru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #50 of 253 Cusco B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Exellent option for Cusco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

I visited Cusco few times and always used top hotels until a friend told me about el Andariego as an option.
It is a very nice, quite, clean hostal, located in the centre of Cusco.
Special mention for the staff friendly and always ready to help with the smile (some big hotel could learn). Their nice garden is so pleasant that I spent hour reading and having my coffee there; after noisy Cusco it is a superb place to rest and at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    25
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
32
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

We arrived late, by taxi, after a train ride from Aguas Calientes. The hotel is hard to find from the street. We wondered, how safe is this city, after going through two sets of steel gates to get to the hotel.
The hotel is an old mansion set back in what would have been a courtyard. It has a nice ambience and is filled with old furniture. The staff are very helpful.
Our room was in a separate buildng out in the courtyard. It was not overly large, but enough to set out the suitcases and still move around. We had a hot water problem at first which the front desk had to solve. The bed was quite hard.
There is a nice dining room and a good breadkfast is made to order.
There are tables and chairs outside in the courtyard which are pleasant to sit around and enjoy the sunshine.
The hotel is well located and a short walk to the Plaza des Armas and most of the sites.
If you are looking for a good average hotel I would reccomend this establishment.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

This hotel was our "home" while in Cusco before and after a 9-day trek to Choquequirao and Machu Picchu. The hotel furnishings (in the lounge and in the room) are a bit tired, and, like the rest of Peru, there are no true 90-degree corners. However, the location was quite good (for access to Plaza del Armes) and the staff was awesome.

We took a "matrimonial" room (double bed) with a working fireplace and private bathroom. In addition to the fireplace, there was a small electric heater and loads of blankets. There was a phone and TV, neither of which we tried. There was no hot water the first night until we asked at the front desk. The fellow there said to give it 10 minutes and he hurried off to press a switch or turn a dial somewhere. Once the hot water started flowing, it stayed hot. (Actually, we found that using only the hot water in the shower was fine without having to turn on the cold water.)

The hotel held our bags during our 9 day trek. They were always helpful and friendly. We enjoyed breakfast, and always felt safe and secure at the hotel. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Spent 3 nights in this hotel and found the staff to be very helpful, especially Carlos. The breakfast was outstanding with eggs any way you liked them. Rooms were clean and beds comfortable. Convenient to Place de Armes and shopping. Truly a great value for the money.
Diane

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

My review is in 2 parts: hotel and tour operator
1) The hotel's furnishings are very simple, however the service we received was 5 stars. The breakfast consisted of papaya/banana salad, eggs, bread, jam, fresh squeezed orange or papaya juice, tea/coffee. The water pressure was good and no significant problems with hot water. There was an electric heater that we used nightly because the room was colder inside than the outside. The thick duvet and the electric heater was plenty to keep us warm. The room was larger than the typical room and therefore easier to sort all the present we bought in Cuzco. The manager Carlos Harms was phenomenal: very hospitable and friendly and recommended our favorite Cuzco restaurant: Etopoy.

2) Upon our arrival at the airport, the tour operator associated with the hotel picked us up. His name is Carlos Sanchez Valencia with Inka Land Peru Adventures. We booked Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu with him. We asked if the tour will be in english only and he said yes. He said that we will visit 3 places in Sacred Valley then go on train to Aquas Calientes and hotel + bus+ Machu Pichu guide.
What we ended up getting was not what he told us: We saw 1 place because he booked the train for an earlier time and the tour was english+ spanish (mostly spanish). The guide dropped us off as close to the train station as he could, but we still had to run for 1 mile because the train was leaving in 10 minutes. Once we got to Aquas Calientes, it was per plan. He cheated us and that left a very bad taste in our mouth.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

I stayed here for a few days in January 2011 and I was very satisfied with this place. It's location is very close to the Plaza de Armas, but at the same time it's very quiet at night given that's located off the main street. The night manager Carlos was always extremely helpful for any question or request we had. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. I stayed at 5 different hotels while in Peru and this one was by far the best choice.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010 via mobile

This hotel met our needs for 3 one night stays in November before/after the Inca trail hike and after a one week trip to Bolivia.

Luggage storage was provided with no problems.

Staff were very helpful and tried to do everything to make our stay comfortable. They even helped to order pizza for us on a rainy day. We requested a room with a fireplace and the staff was readily available to build a fire for us whenever we requested.

Breakfast was plentiful with yogurt, granola, coffee, tea, fresh juice, fruit, bread and eggs.

Airport transfers were messed up on two occasions with no one showing up to pick us up. The hotel uses an external company for this so they need to look at alternatives! However the staff was very apologetic and provided us with two free transfers from the hotel to the airport. Make sure not to pay more than 7 soles for a taxi to/from the airport to this hotel.

We did not like two things about the room. The shower pressure and hot water were mostly non existent. The room had a skylight which was great during the day but would light up the room way too early in the morning.

Overall this hotel met our needs.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Andariego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Andariego

Address: 270 San Andres Street, Cusco Cusco01, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 253 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Andariego is a lodging that offers comfort. It is the ideal place to relax after a day of sightseeing in cultural Cuzco and its environs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your El Andariego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Andariego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.