We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Corihuasi Hostal, Cusco” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Corihuasi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Corihuasi to your Saves list
Hostal Corihuasi
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   Calle Suecia 561, Cusco, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 282 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Corihuasi Hostal, Cusco”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

A good choice for a budget stay in Cusco - which is not easy to find. In Cusco terms this hostal is good value. The Corihuasi has a great location close to the Plaza de Armas, and some rooms have wonderful views over the city...while others have no view at all and are a bit dingy. Breakfast is just about adequate, as long as you eat eggs. Otherwise its very limited. The rooms are clean but the beds a bit soft. But then Cusco is for walking and sightseeing, so you don't spend much time in the room. Sadly the whole Cusco/Maccu Pichu experience has become an overpriced tourist honey pot. If you are spending a small fortune to visit Maccu Pichu, don't bother with the other old Inca ruins near Cusco...such as the fortress of Sasqawan above Cusco...a beautiful walk up the mountain (though we didn't see any other walkers, just hordes of tourist buses), only to be asked for $100 dollars for a family of 3 for entry to see a fairly unimpressive ruin.....more old stones of the type you will see in Maccu Pichu anyway. Overpricing and greed is spoiling this destination.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    86
    28
    5
    3
See reviews for
43
89
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay at Corihuasi. I stayed at The Point for the first few days in Cusco, which was fun, but it was party central and I didn't get a whole lot of sleep. I moved over to Corihuasi for the night before my Machu Picchu hike; I really appreciated the tranquility of the setting. It's a bit of a hike uphill to get there, but the view makes it worth it. They have a sweet wraparound balcony where you can look down on the city. The rooms themselves were comfortable for two and also quite. Also, good hot showers. We woke up very early for the hike and they had a nice breakfast laid out.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We LOVED this hotel!!!!!

They answered all our emails efficiently prior to arrival.

Pick up at the airport could not have been easier and it is free. The hotel is fabulous, made of old stone, ceiling beams, open fire, stone steps, rustic furniture.

We booked the panoramic room (room 1), the view is spectacular, we never closed the curtains, at night you can look out across the town and mountains from your bed, the twinkle of lights from the houses and stars is so lovely.

Breakfast is really pleasant, again with a wonderful view, and the staff are really friendly and nice. The breakfast is basic but more than adequate.

Location is great, 2 min walk uphill from the main square, sometimes we stopped for a rest but often didn't need to.

If you are a light sleeper, you may find that you are woken by guests coming and going as the rooms are not sound proof, it didn't bother us at all.

I found this hotel, clean, cosy, friendly, with great location and stunning views. I would recommend it highly and would LOVE to visit again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great location, very close to Plaza de Armas, thou a little bit uphill. Simple but comfortable rooms, very clean, v comfy beds, hot water, lovely staff. The breakfast room has a gorgeous view. BUT, it all depends on the room. The first time I stayed, the room was good. The second time thou, it wasn't. The only window was to a corridor and didn't even have a proper curtain, if the light was on outside, your sleep was off.. And there was no wifi connection in that room. It was disappointing but I still liked the place..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I stayed here for one night only. If my budget could handle it I would have stayed longer. It's more pricey than most hostels in Cusco (but a bargain by British standards). The view was simply stunning so I could rave about this alone. The breakfast room was lovely with similar beautiful views. The included breakfast was tasty, cereal, choice of eggs and bread roll with a hot and cold beverage. I found the staff very helpful, though I didn't book any tours with them so can't comment. The room wasn't huge but comfy bed with plenty of blankets and a super heater if needed. Great hot powerful shower too (something not to be taken for granted).

Room Tip: Rm 8 had an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed two days here, and our experience was avarage. Indeed there are great rooms with wonderful views, but by no means all of them! We had room nr 11, with small rooms and a wooden ceiling that separated us from the upstairs neighbours. The latter implied we could hear every step they made and worse...
Also, the service was OK but not extremely helpful with airport pickup, finding good rooms (we asked by email for a room with a view but didnt got it) nor tourist info (a taxi they recommeded for the sacred valley was absolutely poor)
The good side: they tried to make it up giving us a discount, but damage done. I hope it was just a negative personal experience but I think some things could really change to improve this hotel....

Room Tip: Make sure you get a good view, check beforehand
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Along with my friends I stayed at the Corihuasi hostal back in December, we all liked the place, the staff is friendly and helpful but reserved. The atmosphere is very relaxed, the rooms are simple but clean, and the restaurant/lounge area is very cosy, especially when the firelace is on, the complex is quirky, it feel like being in a mini-village. I felt this was the right kind of place I needed in order to enjoy and immerse myself in the andean culture. The views are great!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Los Marqueses
Hotel Los Marqueses
#50 of 150 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#36 of 150 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 528 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kuska Hostal
Kuska Hostal
#37 of 282 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hostal Wara Wara
Hostal Wara Wara
#8 of 286 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Piccola Locanda
Piccola Locanda
#11 of 282 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casona les Pleiades
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Corihuasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Corihuasi

Address: Calle Suecia 561, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 282 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Corihuasi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a renovated XVIII century colonial-style inn, Corihuasi features rooftop views of Cusco historic centre, just 2 blocks from the city’s main square. Wi-Fi is free.The inn features parquet floors and colonial-style furniture. There are colonial decorative details and scenic Spanish galleries with a seating area featuring a fireplace and overlooking the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hostal Corihuasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Corihuasi Hotel Cusco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Corihuasi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.