We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing place, perfect to immerse yourself in the atmosphere...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Corihuasi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostal Corihuasi to your Saves list
Hostal Corihuasi
Calle Suecia 561, Cusco, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 272 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Munich
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing place, perfect to immerse yourself in the atmosphere...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Along with my friends I stayed at the Corihuasi hostal back in December, we all liked the place, the staff is friendly and helpful but reserved. The atmosphere is very relaxed, the rooms are simple but clean, and the restaurant/lounge area is very cosy, especially when the firelace is on, the complex is quirky, it feel like being in a mini-village. I felt this was the right kind of place I needed in order to enjoy and immerse myself in the andean culture. The views are great!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    77
    26
    5
    3
See reviews for
40
78
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

If you are looking for a friendly place to stay not far from the main square then the Corihuasi isn't too bad.
The Pros are:
* Just a five minute walk up a gentle hill from the main square
* Very friendly staff - it makes such a difference to have nice friendly people to greet you and answer any questions.
* Some rooms are nice BUT some have very little natural light - we had the superior room with a great view but our sons were in a 3 bedroom room with very little light - would recommend it.
* The shared space which was a large room with a lovely room was a nice space - this was used as the dining room and the relaxing room - had a big fire place.
* Very clean and well cared for
* Easy to arrange taxis etc.
* Breakfast was one egg scrambled, fried or poached with a bit of bread but wasn't bad for a Peruivan breakfast.

Cons
* Some rooms were dark with no views
* Could be very noisy at night with the local night club banging away all night
* As in most places people were a bit noisy at times - leaving for early flights and not being thoughtful of other people but this was not the fault of the hotel.

Would I stay there again? Possibly. If I did stay there again it would because of the lovely people who run it.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the rooms with a view - the superior vies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
japan
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I stayed this hotel for 2 nights before and after Machu picchu. First day room no.8, second day was room no.19. Both of rooms were clean.

+: nice view from the hotel.
the room has hairdryer and heater.

-: pickup service didn't come
room no.19 was noisy when upstairs people walked around and used toilet.
it was so hard to climb the street in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: except room no.19
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Just 5 minutes walk from the main square but all uphill so take it slowly.

Staff had good English and were cheery and helpful. We liked the big rooms and original walls (4ft thick in ours) overlooking town.

WiFi decent speed and in rooms which is a bonus.

Breakfast all fine. For the price it is good value compared to the two more expensive places we tried.

Note that we paid a few dollars more by booking online even though 'best price guarantee'. Also sign saying 10% discount for cash but apparently not for us as an online booking?

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

we stayed there for 3 and 2 nights with our group in this very nice and friendly hostal, up on a steep hill; the service and breakfast were very good, coca tea during all day. breakfast/sitting room with marvelous views over Cusco. Our breakfast servant was outstanding. this very friendly guy did his job with the most enthousiasm we ever encountered. Wifi in the dining room, not in the rooms. in a word 'a great hostal'.

Room Tip: they have 2 nice panoramic rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

not a big deal, but the walk uphill from the main square can be annoying esp due to the altitude. i would ask a taxi to take me up in the future for a buck.

the place itself is very unique and cool. clean and breakfast is good. wifi only strong in main common area. i miss this place. the next hostal we stayed at, samay wasi wasn't nearly as good.

Room Tip: water pressure is good, which is a rarity
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in this hostal for a few days in Cusco. We found it to be good value. It is in a good location, about 10 mins along a small but fairly steep sloping road down to the main square, which is typically Spanish, with cathedral and lots of nice restaurants and bars. Aside from that the main plus for this hostal is its views. By virtue of being high up, the views from the rear dining romm and our bedroom were spectacular, across the rooftops and down to the square and cathedral. The hotel was clean and we were looked after well, including storing our luggage while on the Inca Trail.

Room Tip: We paid extra for a better room, it was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Corihuasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Corihuasi

Address: Calle Suecia 561, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 272 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a renovated XVIII century colonial-style inn, Corihuasi features rooftop views of Cusco historic centre, just 2 blocks from the city’s main square. Wi-Fi is free.The inn features parquet floors and colonial-style furniture. There are colonial decorative details and scenic Spanish galleries with a seating area featuring a fireplace and overlooking the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Corihuasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Corihuasi Hotel Cusco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Corihuasi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.