We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place - Best in Cusco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Torre Dorada

Save Saved
You added Hotel Torre Dorada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Torre Dorada
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Los Cipreses N-5 | Residencial Huancaro | Residencial Huancaro, Cusco CUSC01, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 143 hotels in Cusco
Write a Review

1,012 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    898
    88
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
176
493
64
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Alberta
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2006

From the moment we arrived in Cuzco we were looked after. The hotel picked us up at the airport and we were whisked to our hotel. Even though it was eight o'clock in the morning our rooms were ready for us. Peggy the owner suggested we nap for 3-4 hours to let our bodies acclimatize to the altitude.
Peggy and her brothers treated us like family. Peggy helped us choose and book excursions and gave us great advice. They took us anywhere we wanted at any time of the day. They preferred we did not take taxicabs and worried about us until we were safely back at the hotel.( Not that we ran into any trouble anywhere in Cuzco.)
The hotel was beautiful, immaculate and had a great view from the breakfast room of the city.
Peggy spoke fluent english and provided us with great insight into the culture of Peru. I could go on and on about how well we were treated by Peggy and her staff. Torredorada hosted us to one of my most memorable trips. Thank you, Peggy.
Ingrid Oseen
Turin, Alberta, Canada

  • Liked — the owner and staff friendliness
  • Tips/Secrets — contact Peggy directly for great price
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2006

Our family of six (including 2 teenagers) think Torre Dorada "rocks" - what an incredible find! It deserves all the praise that it has received. Ms. Peggy's gracious hospitality combined with the lovely rooms and amenties made our 3 night stay the best of 4 places we used in Peru. An incredible bargain for both the quality and quantity of care and service. Anyone going to Cusco should give Torre Dorada serious consideration - you won't be disappointed!

  • Liked — Service of staff - amenties such as a great breakfast
  • Disliked — a little away from the tourist sites of Cusco
  • Tips/Secrets — Give this hotel serious consideration!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2006

I am happy to add to the justifiable parade of good comments about the Torre Dorrada in Cusco. In a nutshell Peggy and her family run an impeccably clean and quiet hotel.

Aside from being able to come home to a comfortable hotel at the end of the day, Peggy went above and beyond in her willingneess to help us make arrangements for our trip. She has a nice binder stuffed with tour info for day trips from Cusco, Machu Picchu packages and jungle excursions, all of which she can arrange to have booked for you. We were having a terrible time trying to book a hotel in Aguas Calientes but Peggy patiently plowed through a long list of hotels, calling each one, until finally at the very last she found an opening. Her helpfulness is surpassed only by her patience.

The only minor considerations for people visiting are:
1. The hotel is not in the center of town, though that can be a good thing if you want quiet. One of Peggy's amiable brothers will pick you up or drop you off anywhere, anytime (something we took frequent advantage of) but if you choose to take a taxi it will cost you only a dollar or so to get to the hotel. It's only a 5-10 minute ride door to door.
2. We were there in August (Peruvian cold season) and it was a bit cold in the rooms. Peggy does provide space heaters however and plenty of warm blankets. And thanks to the reliable hot water we didn't freeze washing up.

In summary I give an enthsiastic 4-star thumbs-up to Peggy and the Torre Dorrada. If it's your first time in Peru, if your Spanish is not very good, or if you just want a clean, cozy, quiet , safe place to stay then book the Torre Dorrada.

  • Liked — Great service, clean rooms, ample space
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2006

My friends and I stayed at Torre Dorada on our trip to Cusco and it was wonderful!

The hotel itself is immaculate and modern. The rooms are clean and cozy. The bathrooms, linens, furniture and wooden floors are all new. Outside of our room was a lounge area with a tv, books, magazines, and teas. There's a dining room on the top floor where they serve breakfast every morning (thumbs up for the crispy bread). It was outside of the center of Cusco (5 min drive) but Oscar and Arturo were great and picked us up whenever we needed. Oh and there was free internet.

Peggy (the owner) was incredibly friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. She gave us great advice on adjusting to the altitude, restaurants, and places to visit. When planning our itinerary she always told us ab all the various options. She booked our train to Macchu picchu and helped us find a last-minute guide and driver to bring us to Saqsaywaman and the Sacred Valley. She went out of her way to help us and the other guests at the hotel.

By far the most personal experience I've ever had in a hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Staff and rooms
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Torre Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torre Dorada

Address: Calle Los Cipreses N-5 | Residencial Huancaro | Residencial Huancaro, Cusco CUSC01, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cusco
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Torre Dorada 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet Residential area 10 minutes away from Main Plaza, Personalized and medical attention, We give advice on where to eat and tours in general according to your preference and we help you with any kind of problem that may arise during your stay in Cusco, airline and bus reservations, etc. We are your "home away from home" we provide FREE transportation to the Plaza, airport and bus terminals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, T4B, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Torre Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Dorada Hotel
Torre Dorada Cusco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Torre Dorada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.