We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Torre Dorada

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Torre Dorada to your Saves list
Hotel Torre Dorada
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Los Cipreses N-5 | Residencial Huancaro | Residencial Huancaro, Cusco CUSC01, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 150 Hotels in Cusco
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Exceptional Staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

This was a fantastic bed and breakfast for our stay! We arrived at the hotel at 8:30 am and our room was ready and waiting. The staff carried our bags and provided fantastic restaurant recommendations. The free shuttle to and from the main square was always quick and available. The staff is very friendly!! When we arrived back from our 4 day trek, our room was again ready and this time on the first floor so we didn't have to go up the steps after the hike. Breakfast was always plentiful. Highly recommend. If you are a light sleeper, you may want to request the 4th floor as you could hear footsteps above but it didn't bother us.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,057
    106
    19
    8
    4
See reviews for
209
566
80
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The hotel is in a quiet residential area (which was to our liking) so every room was (much better than) good. We stayed on two separate nights and both rooms were excellent, My wife and l disagreed about the five star rating for location. She was going to rate it four star believing that some people would prefer to stay "closer to the action" - walking distance. This hotel offers 24/7 access to Plaza de Armus by their own driver service so l believe the location of this hotel is five star excellent. We both agreed that this hotel is five star all the way. Loved everything about the accommodation and the quality of service from the staff. We didn't require a gym or pool as we needed all of our available time to appreciate Cusco. Special thank you to Henry for his attention, although all of the staff (sorry but we are guilty of forgetting their names), from the receptionists, drivers, cleaners, breakfast cook to the staff we never met (gardeners etc) who all work as a team to deliver a quality experience. Loved the fresh squeezed orange juice at breakfast! Thank you Peggy and all of the team for living up to the previous great reviews on TA in making our visit memorable. Our final advice is to be a good guest and your stay will usually be better than expected.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a quiet residential area (which was to our liking) so every room was (much better th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Ok, maybe third times a charm, but my previous 2 reviews got deleted.

In a nutshell, this is a great hotel and the reviews are spot on. Hotel is clean, staff is extremely helpful and its a great spot to venture to Machu Picchu from. They do provide free rides within the city, and even helped my wife and I arrange a driver to pick us up from the train station after our trip to MP (tickets were sold out, so we were dropped off at a station about an hour from the city--driver was waiting for us with a sign as soon as we stepped off)

The owner is very kind and brought an oxygen tank to our room when my wife had some altitude sickness. The breakfast is included and is simple, but served by two very kind staff members ("kind" is a repetitive theme at this establishment) :)

Wireless in rooms can be spotty but there is a desktop in the lobby also. The drivers were always punctual and eager to carry bags, etc so tip them please.

Again, dont hesitate, just book this!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Wonderful staff - very accommodating (everyone from Front Desk to Breakfast to drivers). The owner was very pleasant and friendly. The staff helped us book a tour to Machu Picchu and arrange for dinner. Breakfast was lovely and very filling. We were travelling by motorcycle so the parking was important. Quiet and very home-like. We loved our stay here. Easy access in and out of Cusco. Felt like a home stay rather than a hotel.

Room Tip: nicely located out of the main town with driver available. Altitude makes it difficult if you are o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The only potential negative of this place is the (slight) inconvenience of not being in the middle of Cusco. This never really proved to be a problem, as the free ride service was prompt and efficient (although not expected, we frequently tipped the drivers a soles or two). The caring attitude of the staff was outstanding, and I had some of the best scrambled eggs of my life here. I even woke up at 3AM one night and found the water in the hallway tea service area was still hot enough for a late-night cup of tea. The ultimate service experience was when we returned from our 4-day Inca Trek at 10:00 at night, utterly exhausted. Whether the clerk remembered us or simply realized we had to be his last reservation for the night, I don't know - but he instantly whisked my bag from my hand, grabbed a room key from the desk, and ushered us quickly into a ground-floor room. He didn't ask for my name or my credit card, or have me sign anything - he just let me collapse on the bed while he quietly closed the door and went back to his desk, no questions asked!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here for three nights before hiking the Inka trail and one night after the hike. Loved the place. Staff was amazing. Free transportation all over Cusco, and from the airport. Great recommendations. Breakfast was simple, yet delightful. Nice sitting areas on each floor with books and 24/7 hot tea. Rooftop is perfect for reading or soaking in the sun. Much quieter than main square hotels. After Machu Picchu, it felt like coming home. Would not think of staying anywhere else in Cuzco. If I could rate staff above excellent, I would.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Torre Dorada for a total of 7 nights (4 nights before our Salkantay trek and 3 nights after). The owner, Peggy, and her staff are AMAZING. She made it feel like home at every opportunity and made sure that we knew the best places to go - in Cusco and within the Sacred Valley. They arranged a car for us to visit Pisaq and stopped at some great places along the way. The hotel is very affordable and clean. There were only 2 things I would change about the Torre Dorada (hence the 4). Our rooms got very hot during the day. While we didn't stay in the room much before our trek, we were exhausted afterward and wanted to sleep in. The sun rises very early and there isn't the black-out curtain option, so the room got bright and hot by 6:30am. The other thing I would change is the cleaning solution they use. The strong smell gave me a headache. The good news is that it mostly smelled in the common areas & wasn't as strong in the rooms.
With that said - if we ever go back to Cusco, we will be staying at the Torre Dorada. I couldn't give it a 5 just because there were a couple things I would change...but the overall stay was quite enjoyable.

Room Tip: the 4th floor was very warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#14 of 150 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,135 reviews
1.0 mi away
Palacio del Inka a Luxury Collection Hotel
1.3 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
1.0 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
1.3 mi away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#34 of 150 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torre Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torre Dorada

Address: Calle Los Cipreses N-5 | Residencial Huancaro | Residencial Huancaro, Cusco CUSC01, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cusco
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Torre Dorada 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet Residential area 10 minutes away from Main Plaza, Personalized and medical attention, We give advice on where to eat and tours in general according to your preference and we help you with any kind of problem that may arise during your stay in Cusco, airline and bus reservations, etc. We are your "home away from home" we provide FREE transportation to the Plaza, airport and bus terminals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Torre Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Dorada Hotel
Torre Dorada Cusco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Torre Dorada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.