We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Torre Dorada

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Torre Dorada to your Saves list
Hotel Torre Dorada
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Los Cipreses N-5 | Residencial Huancaro | Residencial Huancaro, Cusco CUSC01, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
50% off room rate
Ranked #7 of 157 Hotels in Cusco
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The hotel is in a quiet residential area (which was to our liking) so every room was (much better than) good. We stayed on two separate nights and both rooms were excellent, My wife and l disagreed about the five star rating for location. She was going to rate it four star believing that some people would prefer to stay "closer to the action" - walking distance. This hotel offers 24/7 access to Plaza de Armus by their own driver service so l believe the location of this hotel is five star excellent. We both agreed that this hotel is five star all the way. Loved everything about the accommodation and the quality of service from the staff. We didn't require a gym or pool as we needed all of our available time to appreciate Cusco. Special thank you to Henry for his attention, although all of the staff (sorry but we are guilty of forgetting their names), from the receptionists, drivers, cleaners, breakfast cook to the staff we never met (gardeners etc) who all work as a team to deliver a quality experience. Loved the fresh squeezed orange juice at breakfast! Thank you Peggy and all of the team for living up to the previous great reviews on TA in making our visit memorable. Our final advice is to be a good guest and your stay will usually be better than expected.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a quiet residential area (which was to our liking) so every room was (much better th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleandFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Ok, maybe third times a charm, but my previous 2 reviews got deleted.

In a nutshell, this is a great hotel and the reviews are spot on. Hotel is clean, staff is extremely helpful and its a great spot to venture to Machu Picchu from. They do provide free rides within the city, and even helped my wife and I arrange a driver to pick us up from the train station after our trip to MP (tickets were sold out, so we were dropped off at a station about an hour from the city--driver was waiting for us with a sign as soon as we stepped off)

The owner is very kind and brought an oxygen tank to our room when my wife had some altitude sickness. The breakfast is included and is simple, but served by two very kind staff members ("kind" is a repetitive theme at this establishment) :)

Wireless in rooms can be spotty but there is a desktop in the lobby also. The drivers were always punctual and eager to carry bags, etc so tip them please.

Again, dont hesitate, just book this!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texastrojan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Wonderful staff - very accommodating (everyone from Front Desk to Breakfast to drivers). The owner was very pleasant and friendly. The staff helped us book a tour to Machu Picchu and arrange for dinner. Breakfast was lovely and very filling. We were travelling by motorcycle so the parking was important. Quiet and very home-like. We loved our stay here. Easy access in and out of Cusco. Felt like a home stay rather than a hotel.

Room Tip: nicely located out of the main town with driver available. Altitude makes it difficult if you are o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HRMktg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The only potential negative of this place is the (slight) inconvenience of not being in the middle of Cusco. This never really proved to be a problem, as the free ride service was prompt and efficient (although not expected, we frequently tipped the drivers a soles or two). The caring attitude of the staff was outstanding, and I had some of the best scrambled eggs of my life here. I even woke up at 3AM one night and found the water in the hallway tea service area was still hot enough for a late-night cup of tea. The ultimate service experience was when we returned from our 4-day Inca Trek at 10:00 at night, utterly exhausted. Whether the clerk remembered us or simply realized we had to be his last reservation for the night, I don't know - but he instantly whisked my bag from my hand, grabbed a room key from the desk, and ushered us quickly into a ground-floor room. He didn't ask for my name or my credit card, or have me sign anything - he just let me collapse on the bed while he quietly closed the door and went back to his desk, no questions asked!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here for three nights before hiking the Inka trail and one night after the hike. Loved the place. Staff was amazing. Free transportation all over Cusco, and from the airport. Great recommendations. Breakfast was simple, yet delightful. Nice sitting areas on each floor with books and 24/7 hot tea. Rooftop is perfect for reading or soaking in the sun. Much quieter than main square hotels. After Machu Picchu, it felt like coming home. Would not think of staying anywhere else in Cuzco. If I could rate staff above excellent, I would.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bride S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Torre Dorada for a total of 7 nights (4 nights before our Salkantay trek and 3 nights after). The owner, Peggy, and her staff are AMAZING. She made it feel like home at every opportunity and made sure that we knew the best places to go - in Cusco and within the Sacred Valley. They arranged a car for us to visit Pisaq and stopped at some great places along the way. The hotel is very affordable and clean. There were only 2 things I would change about the Torre Dorada (hence the 4). Our rooms got very hot during the day. While we didn't stay in the room much before our trek, we were exhausted afterward and wanted to sleep in. The sun rises very early and there isn't the black-out curtain option, so the room got bright and hot by 6:30am. The other thing I would change is the cleaning solution they use. The strong smell gave me a headache. The good news is that it mostly smelled in the common areas & wasn't as strong in the rooms.
With that said - if we ever go back to Cusco, we will be staying at the Torre Dorada. I couldn't give it a 5 just because there were a couple things I would change...but the overall stay was quite enjoyable.

Room Tip: the 4th floor was very warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edimiceli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

What a wonderful stay! We'd spent several nights in the center of Cusco with a tour group and decided to remain one extra night in Cusco, staying at the Torre Dorada. I cannot provide a higher recommendation! Peggy, the owner and her staff warmly welcomed us upon our arrival, making pleasant & interesting conversation yet she was not at all intrusive. Her staff was also wonderful. This hotel had more of a feel of an attentive bed and breakfast than a hotel. Note that the rooms are on the small side and it is located in a residential area, not the main square of Cusco but after the noise and traffic in the center of town this was the perfect getaway. In addition, they arrange a free, 24 hour shuttle for guests to get to and from the main square, so the fact that it is located in a residential area is not inconvenient at all. It is a bonus.

We were most impressed by dinner. We decided to have dinner at the hotel, for which we needed to order and provide Peggy 3 hours notice. She arranged for her private chef to shop for and prepare a homemade delicious, 3 course meal with a bottle of wine at the time of our choosing. The final cost was around a staggeringly low $65 U.S. It was our best meal in Cusco (and that's saying a lot). Breakfast was also quite nice, as Peggy walked to each of her guest personally greeting them. We felt as if we were welcomed into a family rather than staying in a hotel room. We only spent one night--out last night. I wish we could have stayed longer. What a beautiful way to end a once-in-a lifetime trip. Again, I cannot recommend Hotel Torre Dorada enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeynDnvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.0 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
1.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
1.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
#10 of 157 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#14 of 157 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,218 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
1.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
#18 of 157 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torre Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torre Dorada

Address: Calle Los Cipreses N-5 | Residencial Huancaro | Residencial Huancaro, Cusco CUSC01, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cusco
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#15 Best Value Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Torre Dorada 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet Residential area 10 minutes away from Main Plaza, Personalized and medical attention, We give advice on where to eat and tours in general according to your preference and we help you with any kind of problem that may arise during your stay in Cusco, airline and bus reservations, etc. We are your "home away from home" we provide FREE transportation to the Plaza, airport and bus terminals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Despegar.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Torre Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Dorada Hotel
Torre Dorada Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing