We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to it's No. 1 reputation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Torre Dorada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Torre Dorada to your Saves list
Hotel Torre Dorada
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Los Cipreses N-5 | Residencial Huancaro | Residencial Huancaro, Cusco CUSC01, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 145 Hotels in Cusco
Pittsburgh PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lives up to it's No. 1 reputation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2008

We stayed at Torre Dorada for 4 nights in April and found out why this hotel is rated no. 1 in customer reviews. Peggy (the owner), Raphael and staff treated us like family. From the time we were met at the airport by Arturo to our final goodbyes, they could not do enough for us.
Not only did they give us a very thorough welcome with info about the hotel, Cusco and other areas to visit, but Raphael actually went with us to help us purchase bus tickets, etc. With our limited knowledge of Spanish this was a HUGE convenience.
The free rides back and forth to town take only a few minutes and it was great to know we could count on them. Even when we had to leave at very early times it was not a problem. When we took the train to Machu Picchu they prepared us a small breakfast (when it was way earlier than breakfast was scheduled) plus they gave us each a boxed lunch for the trip.
The hotel recommended a tour of the Sacred Valley and set us up with a driver. His name is Victor Falcon and he was wonderful. He's a very good driver and very professional. The cost was nominal and he went out of his way to please us.

  • Liked — The friendliness and professionalism of the staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    977
    98
    17
    8
    4
See reviews for
196
527
70
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hookstown
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2008

I have to say that our experience at the Hotel Torre Dorada was all and more t han everyone wrote about in the previous reviews. My husband and I have been all over the world and stayed at hundreds of hotels and we have never encountered an experience like this. The whole staff went above and beyond to make our visit to Peru an exciting and enjoyable vacation. We stayed at the hotel for three nights and then left for two nights for Machu Picchu and then went back to Hotel Torre Dorada..............we felt like we were coming home! I cannot say enough about the hospitality, cleanliness,decor, food, and above all, the one-on-one treatment we received. We'll be back! Paula Basinger

  • Liked — TKhe hospitality of the staff
  • Disliked — I loved it all
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2008

Loved Peggy and her staff. She went way beyond what I expected.
Although the hotel is out of town they were always available to shuttle us to town and pick us up when we called.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2008

We traveled extensively in Peru this past March and the Torre Dorado provided us not only with the best accomodations we had during our 11 day stay in Peru BUT the STAFF was outstanding. The owner and the manager were totally cooperative and went out of their way to meet our needs. This is THE PLACE to stay in Cusco.

L. Gritz in San Diego

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2008

My husband and I, together with my father, visited Cusco last March. The owner, Peggy, is very much a "hands-on" person and can be seen at the hotel throughout the day. Her staff, Rafael, Rosemarie and others, are very polite and willing to please. Upon arrival, prior to 9 am, we were met by Arturo, who took us to the hotel. As part of the check-in process, we were given information as to getting into town and back out again, places to eat, the Tourist Ticket for the sites, and if you request ahead, they can even get your tickets for Machupicchu (rail, bus and entrance), they will even book a place for you in Aguas Calientes. At no extra cost, one is shuttled to the Plaza de Armas (and picked up at Gatos Market back to the hotel), taken to the train station at the crack of dawn oand picked up after a weary day at MP, or taken to the plane, bus or train when one is departing. If neither Arturo nor Cristobal, their trusty drivers, were available to pick you up, a taxi would be sent to the pick-up point with the hotel's plaque bearing its name. For our trip to MP, we were given a snack box and a bottle of water. Bottled water was supplied to our room at NO EXTRA Cost; a thermos with hot water and a variety of teas were available on a table in the hall on each level 24 hrs a day. Breakfast had a spread of various breads, cereal, jams, coffee and teas, yogurt and fresh fruit (banana, melon, papaya, grapes, pineapple) plus eggs boiled, scrambled or fried, and ham & cheese. The young breakfast room attendant would come in a few minutes after we had arrived with a jug of freshly squeezed orange juice and to ask if you wanted eggs and how.

Despite Torre Dorada under going construction, so that us guests can be better served in the future (Peggy being very concerned about how this construction would effect her guests) and the location being a couple of miles from the Plaza de Armas, and compared to other places we stayed during our vacation, we would return there in a heartbeat. Highly recommend it.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, Friendliness, Free Shuttle Service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2008

Proudly exhibited at front desk are TripAdvisor and Lonely Planet awards. But once you notice them, you already are checking-in.

It's impossible to rate this hotel with other than "Excellent", because its owner turn a normal building on an average neighborhood in just an amazing and complete experience!!!

There are just pros, so I'll list them briefly:

- Great reservations system, prompt answer, easy arrangements, everything arranged as requested.

- Hotel is 5 minutes from city center by car, so they provide direct transportation on private car free of charge back and forth. Also free airport transfer (10 minutes ride) back and forth. Moving through Cusco is trouble free.

- At arrival, you will have a warm welcome and complete briefing about the property, nearby activities and even far activities if requested: from Cusco downtown, to Sacred Valley, Machu Picchu and if asked, info about trip to Lake Titicaca or the Amazon.

- Property is basic but absolutely new, rooms are lovely decorated and extremely clean from corner to corner. Hotel expansion is under execution.

- Breakfast is included and is delicious, comprising eggs, cereal (Inka style with local cereals), breads, fruit, ham, cheese, juices and hot drinks. Basic hotel offered dishes are available for lunch and dinner.

But none of above are the key points of this hotel. What really turns this experience in something different is when you have chance to sit down with a hot tea cup to share experiences and histories with Peggy (hotel owner). Or when you call from city center late at night to ask for free transfer back to the hotel and Rafael (front desk) not only confirm that the car is on the way but also say that he is glad that you are OK. Every point of contact is a warm and close experience.

Without any doubt, best owner operated boutique hotel in Cusco and I guess there are really few like this worldwide.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2008

We recently returned to Toronto from a three week trip to Ecuador and Peru. While in Cusco we stayed for four nights at the Torre Dorado, a quiet hotel in residential Cusco. The location was a ten minute taxi ride to the Plaza de Armas with transportation there and back provided by the hotel. The hotel was outstanding, the bed very comfortable with great pillows. Breakfast included a variety of food and the view of Cusco from the breakfast room was great. The service at this hotel was wonderful and nothing was too much trouble for the guests. Peggy and Rafael were wonderful hosts and made us feel at home. We booked our Machu Picchu trip through the hotel and everything went very smoothly. The hotel room was lovely, the washroom was spotless and there was always hot water. All of the staff was friendly and courteous and did a great job. If we were to go to Cusco again we would definitely stay here again. We wouldn't think of staying anywhere else. We had a wonderful stay.

  • Liked — Outstanding service from the owners and staff, felt at home
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Torre Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torre Dorada

Address: Calle Los Cipreses N-5 | Residencial Huancaro | Residencial Huancaro, Cusco CUSC01, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cusco
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Torre Dorada 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet Residential area 10 minutes away from Main Plaza, Personalized and medical attention, We give advice on where to eat and tours in general according to your preference and we help you with any kind of problem that may arise during your stay in Cusco, airline and bus reservations, etc. We are your "home away from home" we provide FREE transportation to the Plaza, airport and bus terminals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Torre Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Dorada Hotel
Torre Dorada Cusco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Torre Dorada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.