We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Torre Dorada is "Golden" because of Peggy Kalinowski and her Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Torre Dorada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Torre Dorada to your Saves list
Hotel Torre Dorada
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Los Cipreses N-5 | Residencial Huancaro | Residencial Huancaro, Cusco CUSC01, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 145 Hotels in Cusco
Arcadia, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hotel Torre Dorada is "Golden" because of Peggy Kalinowski and her Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at the Torre Dorada for a total of six days in late June.
This fine hotel deserves it's 5 Star reputation because the owner, Peggy Kalinowski, knows how to run a first-rate hotel and how to hire, train and trust her staff. Everyone was very helpful in arranging reservations for everything from restaurants to hotels in other cities. And, they never got it wrong. Arturo and Danny, not to mention the excellent drivers who got us to where we want to go, on time, every time.
The hotel is immaculate, the rooms extremely clean and smelling fresh every day. All promises kept and always with a smile.
If you go to Cusco do not miss this great place!
Claudete Levin and Aaron, Sue and Paloma Zaima Family

Room Tip: All rooms are first-rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    976
    98
    17
    8
    4
See reviews for
196
526
70
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Being worldwide travelers and having stayed in different types of hotels, from Donald Trump's hotel in Chicago to a one-cot, no hot water room, Hotel Torre Dorada beats them all hands down! Their customer service is SUPERB TO THE MAX. Their rooms are clean, clean, clean. The staff, Arturo, Danny, Mario, Jose and the rest are courteous, friendly, patient, knowledgable and very kind. They are experts in their field.

We hit the jackpot staying there. A fabulous trip because of them. We recommend HOtel Torre Dorada as the place to stay when in Cusco.

Torre Dorada staff and owner, thank you so much for everything.

GEORGE & GRACE GONZALES
TEXAS

Room Tip: Talk to Arturo or Danny and they will accommodate the best they can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

We enjoyed 6 nights at the Torre Dorada hotel as we explored Cusco and later hiked the Inka trail. The hotel kept our luggage for us while we were on the trail at no extra charge.
The desk staff were very helpful, friendly and spoke very good English.
The drivers drove safely and would take you anywhere you needed to go in Cusco. To return to the hotel, you would just call and they would be there in 10 minutes.
The breakfast staff prepared a variety of baked goods, assorted fresh fruit, juices and made to order eggs.
In the common area outside your room there was always hot water for tea. There was a separate heater in each room that you could adjust for comfort.
The hotel was spotless and in a fairly quiet area of the city. You only had to be aware that the room doors were not soundproof and anyone outside your door could hear your conversation. Noise did not seem to travel via the walls however.
We would definitely return to the hotel if we went back to Cusco. In fact, we felt like we were coming home when we returned for our final 2 nights after Machu Picchu!
Thank you very much for a restful home away from home.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at the Torre Dorada for one night before we headed to Machu Picchu. The staff there is so darned wonderful. A prime example: even though we were not able to get rooms there after we returned from Machu Picchu, the staff arranged for our transportation from the Poroy train station to the other hotel, and they offered to help with airport transportation too.

The hotel is located a 5-10 minute drive to all the main touristy locations, but it offers free drop off and pick up. How great is that? Also, the staff can recommend safe and clean locations to eat or shop.

The place isn't the fanciest or biggest, but the prices are great, and the staff takes such good care of guests. I'd happily recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

This is my first posting in Trip Advisor, and I just had to write and agree with all the other glowing reviews of this hotel and its staff. Everything about this hotel is extraordinary. The floor suites are charming and the rooms are clean and comfortable. As others have noted, the kind and pleasant staff will assist you in any way possible, The shuttle service around town is great.

Two examples of their incredible service: When we arrived at the Cusco airport, the driver was waiting for us. However, our luggage was lost. He waited with us for over an hour while we located claim services and filed reports. The staff kept in contact with the airport while we were gone the next day, and arranged for the delayed luggage to be delivered to us.
On one occasion, the hotel shuttle was delayed in picking us up from the plaza due to heavy traffic, and they sent someone in person to let us know and wait with us! They must arrange for a contact person to be available near the plaza in case of need!

It was a wonderful stay all around.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011 via mobile

The hotel was fantastic, clean and inviting. The staff could not have been more helpful and the taxi service was invaluable! The cherry on top was the breakfast, superb!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millstadt, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

This hotel has fantastic service!. One guide book said something like it has 5 star service but with nicer people,and that could not have been more true. Marco and Danny took great care of us; made reservations, arranged transportation, printed boarding passes, gave good advice on places to visit, and more. The hotel is not close to the square, but that is absolutely not a problem. They provide a shuttle service to and from the square and other places of interest that are nearby. ( For a small fee they will even take you to places farther out.) Actually they are only a phone call away and provide safe reliable transportation. The rooms are very clean and the breakfast fresh! We would stay there again!

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Torre Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torre Dorada

Address: Calle Los Cipreses N-5 | Residencial Huancaro | Residencial Huancaro, Cusco CUSC01, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cusco
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Torre Dorada 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet Residential area 10 minutes away from Main Plaza, Personalized and medical attention, We give advice on where to eat and tours in general according to your preference and we help you with any kind of problem that may arise during your stay in Cusco, airline and bus reservations, etc. We are your "home away from home" we provide FREE transportation to the Plaza, airport and bus terminals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Torre Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Dorada Hotel
Torre Dorada Cusco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Torre Dorada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.