We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel n the heart of Cusco” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal El Triunfo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal El Triunfo to your Saves list
Hostal El Triunfo
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Triunfo 379, Cusco 001, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 285 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel n the heart of Cusco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Hotel El Trunfino

Reception staff were lovely, and while some had limited English, they all tried their best to help with any questions. They brought coca tea to our room for us without even asking, to help for altitude sickness.

Our room was massive and on the top floor so no noise from above which was great. Our windows however faced Plaza De Armas and a variety of bars and clubs so some nights were very noisy until 4am. Not sure of a lower floor would avoid this external noise.

The bed was really comfortable and the pillows were great. There is no heating but the bedding is great. Shower could be a bit temperamental if other people on the hotel are using them as well, but nothing unbearable.

Overall we enjoyed our time in Hotel El Triunfo and would go back if we ever return to Cusco.

Room Tip: Perhaps a downstairs room to get below the music outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    102
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
27
69
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Everything about this hotel exceeded my expectation. The location, only a block from Plaza de Armas, could not have been better. The room (we had the 4 bed, private bath, and balcony) was very clean and comfortable. The staff were amazing, very kind, helpful and generous; when our taxi was unable to take us all the way to the hotel (due to Semana Santa procession), Giovanna, walked blocks to meet us on the street corner and personally escorted us to the hotel. I would definitely stay at Hostal el Triunfo again if I ever make it to Peru again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I booked this hotel for our last trip to Cusco, back in January 2014. I was surprised of how beautiful and clean this hostal is. It got great views of Cusco city and especially at night when the city is all lit, it spectacular! It is also well located, just a block away from the main square and close to everything, shops, ATM just across the road. The service is really good, they are kind and very friendly. Modern rooms and bathrooms, I couldn't be more happy with the decision to stay there.
We spent my last night in the Casa Andina hotel and I regret every minute I had to stay there and really missed Hostal El Triunfo where we received better service, felt like at home and even had better facilities.Thanks guys for making our stay the best we ever had. Can't wait to go to Cusco again and stay in Hostal El Triunfo but I know that I need to be quick you get booked out pretty quick! Cheers from Australia,

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the second floor otherwise you may hear the door bell. Look out the window at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

The location couldn't get any better. It was right in the center of town. The hostel was fairly clean and the staff was helpful. The biggest concern was the noise. Every night groups of people would gather early in the morning to wait to be picked up for their trek and we would be awake until they left.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arequipa Region, Peru
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

I'm a first time international traveller and this hotel was a great experience. Especially after the Machu Picchu hike. It was very comforting to come back to a hot shower and warm bed. The view from our room was spectacular. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The location is amazing - 2 min walk to to center of Cusco (Plaza da Armas) and the place is clean with friendly staff. if you are looking for a fun hostel to meet people though this is not that kinda of place - it is more of a hotel in this sense. The rooms are simple but clean and the shower is nice and strong (and hot!) which was much needed after the Inca trail! Overall we were pretty happy and felt it was a good hotel for the price you pay (much better than another similar one we stayed at for a higher price in the area).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed there 2 nights before heading on the 4 day Inca trail to Machu Picchu. The place is clean, they make your beds (not every place does in Peru), breakfast is provided, there's hot water 24x7, coca tea available 24x7, and good wi-fi - basically everything you need.

The location is great, just 50 metres from the main square of Cusco, close to the cathedrals and the best pubs, restaurants. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They printed out our tickets for us and were very obliging.

There are probably other good hostels too, but this one is quiet and worth the money. If you're looking for a place to interact with other guests however, this is not the right choice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#51 of 150 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
0.0 mi away
Feel at home
Feel at home
#22 of 282 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 49 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Posada del Viajero Hostal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostal Wara Wara
Hostal Wara Wara
#8 of 285 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santa Maria Hostal
Santa Maria Hostal
#61 of 285 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Inti Wasi - Plaza de Armas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal El Triunfo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Triunfo

Address: Triunfo 379, Cusco 001, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 285 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal El Triunfo 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of the magical city of Cusco only half block from the Main Square is Hostal El Triunfo , behind the Cathedral, where you will find a warm welcome and will feel at home. We are near everything: restaurants, museums, art galleries, churches, discos, pubs, etc. We have large, light and comfortable bedrooms with private bathroom, with hot and cold water all day long. TV cable and telephone, some of they have balconies to Triunfo Street; and all of them have beautiful views of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hostal El Triunfo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal El Triunfo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.