We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really nice hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of LOKI Cusco

Save Saved
You added LOKI Cusco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
LOKI Cusco
Cuesta Santa Ana #601, Cusco, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 222 Specialty lodging in Cusco
goa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“really nice hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2008

loki hostel is in a really nice location... up above the city, but still walking distance to the centre... the view at night is really beautiful! and if you're lucky, on a clear night u can see the milky way from the lawns...

the hostel itself is very clean and the staff is really friendly... i had a great time there..

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    116
    36
    21
    13
See reviews for
2
44
57
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

My girlfriend and I spent 4 nights in a matrimonial room (75 soles per night - about US$25). We got good reviews from friends and decided to give it a go. Front desk checked us in quite efficiently and in a very friendly manner. Room was clean and cozy, altough we were a bit dissapointed by it's size. Bathroom was clean and in very good conditions, with hot water all day long and fresh towels and linen provided every day. One thing we didn't like about the room was that there was no closet or drawers available so we had to leave all our stuff in the bags. Besides that and the size, it was all good.

The common areas include an extremely pleasant backyard with a few hammocks and plenty of space to lie on the grass, read a book, meet people or just chill. It also has a bar with excellent music, a pool table, and reasonably priced drinks. Awesome atmosphere overall. Excellent if you don't want to go all the way to the plaza to have a few drinks. Another plus was the GORGEOUS english barmaids and all the great people we met (If you like english accent then you'll love it... it's like a small British colony).

Would've loved staying there a few more days.

  • Liked — The atmosphere, meeting new people, hot water all day
  • Disliked — The room's size and the lack of drawers
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2008

one of the most beautiful houses I´ve ever been. really good acommodations. people were really friendly and kind.
recommended!

  • Liked — the house
  • Disliked — very cold
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2007

Located a nice bit from the town square where all the bars are and huge steps must be negociated to get to the hostel. Alot of rooms in the hostel which leads to a good atmosphere with an inhouse bar and food is also available. Above average showers with hot water. Would have no problem recomending except for distance from town

  • Disliked — distance from town
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2007

Stayed here with 5 friends in early July 2007 for 4 nights. Booked well in advance and got 3 ensuite rooms at ground level. Rooms were clean and new towels and bed linen provided each day. Showers were always hot and free breakfast in the morning was a great bonus. Staff were friendly and helpful and bar food was of a good quality. Only slight downside was the loud music at the bar late at night, fine if you were drinking but if your getting up early for an excursion it could prove annoying. Otherwise it was an excellent base camp for us.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and security at front desk made you feel safer
  • Disliked — Bar is centrally located around the rooms and the music late at night can be annoying
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2007

I stayed there for 4 nights.
I guess that it depends of what kind of traveler you are. If you are an Anglo (ie:Australian, Kiwi, British etc) you'd like the place. There is plenty of booze and partying. They cook their own food and you won't need to interact with the locals or learn any Spanish.
Now, if you are a real traveler (non-anglo). This is, you like to experience new cultures, talk to people, meet the locals, try their food, learn their language etc, then don't stay here and go somewhere in San Blas.
The good:
-The building, the showers, free internet, cheap Westernized food, and drinks.
The bad:
-Staff has bad attitude and most of them don't speak Spanish.
-The rooms are dirty and the sheets don't fit the beds.
-It's cold
-It's located far from the centre or the best part of Cusco (San Blas)
-Slow check in and out.
Have a great trip

  • Liked — The buiding
  • Disliked — Staff, general crowd, location, dirtiness, lack og organization
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peru
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2006

What a great hostel - not only does it have a great and safe location, the hostel is well designed for the backpackre, offering everything you need under one roof.

Many of the hostels my friend and I stayed in in S America, didnt have common areas, or offer enough opportunity to meet ther backpackers, but at loki this was definitly not the case.

Every evening they offer dinner at 8, meaning all the backpackers are in the once palce at the same time, ready to swap stories and have a drink.

Theres a free continential breakfast, free internet, tv room, nice chilled bar, a terrace (be great if Lima wasnt so foggy!) and nice staff.

book it!

  • Liked — How well organised and designed it was - really felt the place had been well thought out by owners
  • Disliked — Limas weather
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to LOKI Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LOKI Cusco

Address: Cuesta Santa Ana #601, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 222 Specialty lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have made Loki a combination of all the things we liked in a good backpackers hostel. A fun, comfortable and safe place where you can meet other travellers with good quality services that are sometimes hard to find in South America. We welcome you to come and soak up the atmosphere and history of one of the most historical places in Peru.Cusco is a fantastic city in the Andes with a thousand things to do! From here, backpackers hike to the lost city of Machu Picchu, raft down Peru´s wild rivers, tour the Sacred Valley, go horseback riding, visit the floating islands of Lake Titicaca, explore the rainforest of the jungle, or go rock climbing and bungee jumping, and more! We even have our very own Volunteer programme. Check out all the fun stuff you can do in Cusco.WHY STAY AT LOKI?THE LOKI EXPERIENCEStaying at Loki is about the unique, fun experience you'll have meeting other travellers from all over the globe, having a place to relax and socialiTze, getting out and seeing the city around you, and having a family for the time you're with us. We welcome you to come and enjoy our famous, relaxed and friendly atmosphere.THE LOKI HOSTELLoki hostels are comfortable. Set up in unique buildings with all the features you are looking for. You'll find large common areas to chill out, happening social bars, tasty food and a wide drink selection, friendly staff and a great atmosphere. We've taken care of all the small things as well, and made sure everything is nice and clean.WHAT'S GOING ONLoki hostels are busy with events and activities every day to entertain and meet people. Get involved in the games, competitions, and silly fun stuff that let's everyone have a good time. We always screen all the sporting events live on our Big screens as well!USA family of backbackers, working with our Bolivian and Peruvian Loki Family, dedicated to making Loki the best Hostel you have ever stayed in. We are onsite to help you with any issues and to enjoy the great atmosphere together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, HostelBookers and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your LOKI Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loki Backpackers Hostel Cusco Peru Hotel Cusco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LOKI Cusco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.