We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loki loki loki oy oy oy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of LOKI Cusco

Save Saved
You added LOKI Cusco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
LOKI Cusco
Cuesta Santa Ana #601, Cusco, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 222 Specialty lodging in Cusco
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“loki loki loki oy oy oy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Ok, so anyone looking for a place to get some sleep - THIS IS NOT IT. Not okay with people stumbling into your room at 3 am, drunk, on drugs or bringing back a random to have sex with on the bunk beneath you....again, THIS IS NOT THE PLACE FOR YOU. My friend and I stayed here after our Inca Jungle Trek (which we booked through Loki and it was fabulous!!!) to Machu Picchu and we needed a few days of recuperation and fun. And if you're looking for the place in Cusco to party, this is it. Theme nights, costumes, high altitude drinking, tons of ridiculous, ridiculous fun. Make sure you dance on the bar and try a blood bomb. Not too hard to do for anyone that's stayed in a Loki hostel.

Other nice things about it: hot showers, awesome food at their restaurant, free computers and wifi, awesome booking agency that has the best budget deals for fun treks to Machu Picchu, great place to meet tons of fun people whether traveling solo or with people, really nice open space with tables, hammocks and a chill inside area that people hang out in all day but turns into the bar at night.

Downsides: it's at the top of a massive hill in Cusco (which with the altitude, is killer), it's obviously loud and sometimes obnoxious with the amount of drunken idiots stumbling all over, can kind of get sucked in to the party atmosphere and lose track of actually being in a pretty amazing city like Cusco

My recommendation - spend a few days here post-Machu Picchu to party it up with some fun people and then get out. And if you want to try and sleep, either get a private room or at least a dorm with 4-6 people.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    118
    36
    21
    13
See reviews for
2
44
57
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Started out with good advice and recommendations from the Lokin tour reservation office. Experienced staffs gave me a lot of insights and pretty professional about the city. Paid for Machu Picchu and Puno Amantani Island tours with Loki, however my luggage was in their storage room. After Machu Picchu, I arrived in Cuzco Loki again around 11pm only to realize that the front desk FORGOT about my room. I was extremely upset and angry because I was super tired and had to wake up 5am that morning to catch a bus to Puno. They offered me a 6-bedroom bunk but I told them no because I specifically requested a private room of my own. So they made it up by offering me an 8-bedroom bunk all to myself. I accepted of course because I really had no other choice since they forgot about my reservation. And oh just so you know that there is no towel available for bunks. That was really bad experience and I thought I was going to be upset again when I return from Puno.
However, after Puno, I was upgraded to an awesome matrimonial room with CLEAN TOWELS this time round. The room was beyond standard and I’d a good view of magnificent Cuzco. The staffs apologized and I automatically changed my point of view about Loki Cuzco. Next 2 nights were a pleasant stay. Location was a little bit inconvenient because it is right up on the hill. So if you’d like to get back to your hostel from the city area, it would be a tedious walk. I did once and I couldn’t do it another time because am not used to the high altitude in Cuzco as I come from Singapore. So most of the time I ended up taking a taxi back to the hostel but taxi fare should not take you more than 5 Soles.
I stayed in Loki Lima after Cuzco. Am quite surprised Lima Loki could not keep up with the professionalism of LOKI Cuzco although they’re of the same chain. I would recommend Loki Cuzco BUT NOT Loki Lima.

Room Tip: Go for the matrimonial room. Is okay to spend a little bit more but its such an awesome room and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

club 18-30... drunks, drugs and wast-a-zoids hang out... First night girl chucking up and crying, second night drunk German girl trying to get changed (stumbling around naked) only to bring back a random and have sex on the bunk below me all night and the third night banging and screaming from next door as boy/girl decided to have a full blown domestic as one had cheated on the other, etc. Enjoyed the hostel and staff BUT understand what you are getting (catching) here before you check in!! Safe travels x x x x

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Loki has great food, great bar and great people. The location is up a giant hill, and the first day at altitude it is a difficult climb! But as that is this hostel's only problem, its pretty easy to overlook!!

I made friends that endured my entire trip and I am still in touch with them now we're all back, the staff are amazing and look after you (even when you've drunk far too much!). This is a loki hostel so by definition it is a party place, but if you want to get a good night's sleep - I had room 4 in the basement where although dark, it was very quiet!!

I would recommend to everyone as it was one of the more social hostels I stayed in and great place to make friends.

Room Tip: I had room 4 (basement room) and it was quiet. It was at the front if the hostel and so away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braganca, Portugal
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I stayed there with a friend in june 2012.
Overall I liked it due to the very nice facilities, location, cleanliness and nice organization.
For me the only issue was really the noisy nights. Its really a party hostel and for that it is great. But if you need to rest and sleep good, maybe it is not the best place (even if you choose the "quiet rooms").
If you are traveling alone and want to meet people it is great there. You will find many people from diferent parts of the world.
The breakfast is really basic.
It is very clean. The staff is always cleaning the toilets and common areas, which makes it very tidy place.
The have free wifi only near the bar area. Free towels and shower and shampoo. Overall it is nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Finding a hostel that's clean, has plenty of showers and wifi, is close to the center of town (though up a steep hill that takes your breath away in the thin mountain air) and has a decent restaurant/bar where you can just chill is always welcomed with a sigh of relief while backpacking. Not to mention that the building is beautiful as well.And they have lots of day and volunteer trips, so if you're staying for a while, there are easy ways to get outside the main parts of the city. My main piece of advice is if you want to cut down on the party atmosphere a little, get a room facing the first courtyard, not the back courtyard where the bar is.

Room Tip: If you want to cut down on the party atmosphere a little, get a room facing the first courtyard, not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

I turned up in Cusco planning to stay a day or two and ended up staying two weeks. The guys and girls in the bar had the partying going every night and when they closed they made sure we all knew where the best after hours bars were. The rooms were very clean and I felt like everything I had was safe in the lockers provided. They staff also helps to watch out for you telling you what to look for and what not to do. They know where to get a good bit to eat and everything thats going on in town. Had a blast here, can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Bring a padlock and be careful walking home at night, just catch a taxi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to LOKI Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LOKI Cusco

Address: Cuesta Santa Ana #601, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 222 Specialty lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have made Loki a combination of all the things we liked in a good backpackers hostel. A fun, comfortable and safe place where you can meet other travellers with good quality services that are sometimes hard to find in South America. We welcome you to come and soak up the atmosphere and history of one of the most historical places in Peru.Cusco is a fantastic city in the Andes with a thousand things to do! From here, backpackers hike to the lost city of Machu Picchu, raft down Peru´s wild rivers, tour the Sacred Valley, go horseback riding, visit the floating islands of Lake Titicaca, explore the rainforest of the jungle, or go rock climbing and bungee jumping, and more! We even have our very own Volunteer programme. Check out all the fun stuff you can do in Cusco.WHY STAY AT LOKI?THE LOKI EXPERIENCEStaying at Loki is about the unique, fun experience you'll have meeting other travellers from all over the globe, having a place to relax and socialiTze, getting out and seeing the city around you, and having a family for the time you're with us. We welcome you to come and enjoy our famous, relaxed and friendly atmosphere.THE LOKI HOSTELLoki hostels are comfortable. Set up in unique buildings with all the features you are looking for. You'll find large common areas to chill out, happening social bars, tasty food and a wide drink selection, friendly staff and a great atmosphere. We've taken care of all the small things as well, and made sure everything is nice and clean.WHAT'S GOING ONLoki hostels are busy with events and activities every day to entertain and meet people. Get involved in the games, competitions, and silly fun stuff that let's everyone have a good time. We always screen all the sporting events live on our Big screens as well!USA family of backbackers, working with our Bolivian and Peruvian Loki Family, dedicated to making Loki the best Hostel you have ever stayed in. We are onsite to help you with any issues and to enjoy the great atmosphere together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your LOKI Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loki Backpackers Hostel Cusco Peru Hotel Cusco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LOKI Cusco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.