We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loki Hostel, Cusco, Peru” 2 of 5 stars
Review of LOKI Cusco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added LOKI Cusco to your Saves list
LOKI Cusco
Cuesta Santa Ana #601, Cusco, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 244 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Loki Hostel, Cusco, Peru”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 1 week. We found the bar staff in particular to be unfriendly and unhelpful. My boyfirend and i had to stay a night in hospital due to food poisoning, yet we still got charged for the night in Loki! They also overcharged me as they didn´t take off my deposit that I paid with hostelworld when booking.I didn´t like the atmosphere in this hostel. Also, it´s up a huge hill which is really tough with the high altitude. I won´t say it´s terrible cos in fairness it´s clean and the food is good.Much prefer the Wild Rover.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    175
    50
    31
    17
See reviews for
2
61
74
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed in a 8 bed dorm with plenty of space and lockable trunks for luggage. The beds were comfortable and the shared bathrooms were clean with good showers. The bar is great fun and not too expensive. It is a 'party hostel' so if peace and quiet is what you're looking for, Loki isn't the place for you! The food is good, they offer free tea & coffee all day and a free breakfast of rolls with butter & jam. The bar shows films on a projector during the day and has a pool table and free internet access and WiFi.
It's a short walk into town but between the altitdue and the steepness of the hill Loki is located on, we often got a taxi back (you can get one from the main square for S/.4 or 5). All in all a great hostel and one I would recommend and stay in again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed here before an after Inca Trail. The beds are the best I encountered in the whole of South America. The bathrooms are cleaned regularly and pretty decent.

The atmosphere of the hostel is brilliant. The staff are pretty nuts. The food is really good and pretty cheap although there are cheaper local places down the street.

Cusco was such a fun city. Mamma Africas is a must see.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed in a 8 bed dorm with plenty of space and lockable trunks for luggage. The beds were comfortable and the shared bathrooms were clean with good showers. The bar is great fun and not too expensive. It is a 'party hostel' so if peace and quiet is what you're looking for, Loki isn't the place for you! The food is good, they offer free tea & coffee all day and a free breakfast of rolls with butter & jam. The bar shows films on a projector during the day and has a pool table and free internet access and WiFi.
It's a short walk into town but between the altitdue and the steepness of the hill Loki is located on, we often got a taxi back (you can get one from the main square for S/.4 or 5). All in all a great hostel and one I would recommend and saty in again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Literally my fav place, the staff were so so friendly and the rooms are so nice, especially compared to some other hostels. would definitely recommend it. lots of fun people to meet there.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011 via mobile

We stayed there in Dec. 2009. Big busy hostel with lots of partying! Good service at the reception, bar, internet....Located up a hill but climbing a few steps is not an issue!!!! Great place to meet new people! Definitely up to the Loki standards!!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

The place is set up as a kind of resort for back-packers which means everything you need is here (i.e. food, drink, travel agency, internet, TV room etc etc) this means that you don't actually need to leave the hostal for anything and most backpackers therefore spend the majority of their time in the hostal without exploring the city.
It's kind of funny how the chain hostals (Loki, Point, Hosteling International) are so popular in South America because especially in Peru and Bolivia a bed in a chain hostal dormitory will often be the same price as your own private room in a lesser known hotel (I guarantee if you shop around you will find a cheap room somewhere). However, I guess the chain hostal is an easy option for most backpackers as there is no thinking or effort involved?
All that said, if you need new friends it can be a good place to meet other young back-packers and you don't need to know any Spanish to live here (English is the official language here) so it's an easy and safe option. I never stayed long because I found a room in San Blas with private bathroom for the same price as the dormitory bed in Loki.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to LOKI Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LOKI Cusco

Address: Cuesta Santa Ana #601, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 244 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have made Loki a combination of all the things we liked in a good backpackers hostel. A fun, comfortable and safe place where you can meet other travellers with good quality services that are sometimes hard to find in South America. We welcome you to come and soak up the atmosphere and history of one of the most historical places in Peru.Cusco is a fantastic city in the Andes with a thousand things to do! From here, backpackers hike to the lost city of Machu Picchu, raft down Peru´s wild rivers, tour the Sacred Valley, go horseback riding, visit the floating islands of Lake Titicaca, explore the rainforest of the jungle, or go rock climbing and bungee jumping, and more! We even have our very own Volunteer programme. Check out all the fun stuff you can do in Cusco.WHY STAY AT LOKI?THE LOKI EXPERIENCEStaying at Loki is about the unique, fun experience you'll have meeting other travellers from all over the globe, having a place to relax and socialiTze, getting out and seeing the city around you, and having a family for the time you're with us. We welcome you to come and enjoy our famous, relaxed and friendly atmosphere.THE LOKI HOSTELLoki hostels are comfortable. Set up in unique buildings with all the features you are looking for. You'll find large common areas to chill out, happening social bars, tasty food and a wide drink selection, friendly staff and a great atmosphere. We've taken care of all the small things as well, and made sure everything is nice and clean.WHAT'S GOING ONLoki hostels are busy with events and activities every day to entertain and meet people. Get involved in the games, competitions, and silly fun stuff that let's everyone have a good time. We always screen all the sporting events live on our Big screens as well!USA family of backbackers, working with our Bolivian and Peruvian Loki Family, dedicated to making Loki the best Hostel you have ever stayed in. We are onsite to help you with any issues and to enjoy the great atmosphere together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your LOKI Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loki Backpackers Hostel Cusco Peru Hotel Cusco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LOKI Cusco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.