We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is my idea of a hotel in Peru” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa San Blas

Save Saved
You added Casa San Blas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa San Blas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tocuyeros 566 | San Blas, Cusco 051, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 144 hotels in Cusco
Key West, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“This is my idea of a hotel in Peru”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Staff was awesome...professional, helpful, full of suggestions and just plain nice. The lobby had coca tea available 24/7 and I encourage all who stay to drink plenty of this beverage...it really helped with breathing. Rooms were comfortable, clean and welcoming. The hotel is located up a walkway which taxed breathing but I just stopped at the gift shops to look and catch my breath.
There is a restaurant available. A lovely place in the middle of town. Safe to walk after dark...lots of police to insure security.

Room Tip: Don't forget your electrical converter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    234
    124
    43
    10
    6
See reviews for
77
199
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had the semi-apartment rooms with terrace locations that faced across the rooftops. The room had a living/kitchen area cum table, desk and sofa doiwnstairs and an open loft sleeping area upstairs. The bath was well appointed, but only a stand-up shower, no bath. Cusco is pretty hilly so the idea of a hot bath might be appealing. Nice locally produced textiles for sale adorn each room and are "themed". Interesting history to the hotel as well. The brakfast was nice, not outstanding, but good. There's coffee and tea available in the lobby, as well as tea bags, sugar etc. in your roomw with a kettle. And the WiFi is fast. The location is very nice, and close to everything, although it is situated on the hill, so it's a walk up from most of the plazas and touristy restaurants to get home. We noticed, but didn't mind. The staff was accomodating and helpful. Overall this was a good value.

Room Tip: The Terrace Duplexes are nice, but they do adjoin a music institute. A lot of practicing and playing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had a great experience at Casa San Blas. The hotel is pretty centrally located, so we were able to walk to a couple good restaurants, and the staff was very helpful - we realized our itinerary had an erroneous time on it and they were able to help us call and fix it, which I'm not sure I could have done with my broken spanish...The rooms were clean, the breakfast was fine, coca tea was on tap, which definitely seemed to help with the altitude. We even got the wireless in the room, which was super nice. I can't really comment on value, as we booked through an agency which rolled all our hotels together from all the places we stayed that trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I recently had the opportunity to visit Cusco and stayed at Casa San Blas. It was perfect! The most charming hotel with many special features from hot water bottles placed in you bed at night to a delicious breakfast every morning. The location was perfect and we were able to walk to most places. I was traveling with a group and we had many last minute details to make our trip perfect. The staff made everything come together. At one point we needed to get 20 tickets to visit Manchu Piicchu and had about an hour to make it happen. The man at the front desk rode in a taxi with one of out team members and helped put it all together. I have never experienced such amazing customer service. If you are visiting Cusco you will love this hotel!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful, but the third floor has an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglasville, Georgia, USA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The staff was very helpful in moving our luggage and was very courteous. Breakfast was delicious. It was nice to have internet access from the hotel lobby. The staff at the reception desk helped our group in some of the logistics associated with transportation to the Cusco airport when we checked out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel. Walking distance to main plazas. (Beware of the walk back if you plan to enjoy a day of shopping. Hotel is atop a seriously steep hill but there are lots of shops along the way to perise while you catch your breath.) Staff was awesome. Our luggage was lost en route to Peru. They showed great care to help make sure we were able to contact the airlines and follow our claim. Overall great stay. One of the best of our stays on Peru!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed here on 2 occasions and on both visits was initially put in the wrong room after booking a suite. Had to spend 1 night in a regular room as they had double booked. Service was very poor in resolving my problem. Suite room was very nice but the regular room was incredibly small. Breakfast here was very poor with very little choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betsi C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casa San Blas, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear guest,

We were very surprised when received the comment you posted on Casa San Blas Boutique Hotel profile on Trip Advisor.
The thing is that we are not sure that you experienced what you described (a very bad stay and service) in our hotel.
We did not have any record of such an inconvenience. This is why we would really appreciate if you could double check and let us know if you certainly stayed in Casa San Blas Boutique Hotel (Tocuyeros, 566, San Blas, Cusco, Peru).

Thank you very much for your attention.

Best regards,
Marta Fernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa San Blas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa San Blas

Address: Tocuyeros 566 | San Blas, Cusco 051, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Cusco
#25 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa San Blas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa San Blas is the first Boutique Hotel in Peru since 2003. Our cozy and intimate colonial house located in San Blas mingles the comfort and luxury with the customized service so you feel as home. Our philosophy in Casa San Blas, moreover, is that our guests have a real contact and experience with our traditions and knowledge. Thus, our guests admire elements of Peruvian culture such as traditionally hand-made weavings which are showcased throughout all our rooms and halls. We have also built a terrace balcony on the third floor to allow great views of the city of Cusco both day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Casa San Blas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa San Blas Cusco
Casa San Blas Hotel Cusco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa San Blas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.