We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel was great, people were great, service was great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terra Andina Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Terra Andina Hotel to your Saves list
Terra Andina Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Union 184, Cusco, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 147 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
halifax
1 review
“Hotel was great, people were great, service was great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2009

The Hotel was as good as any Hotel I have stayed in around the world if not better. Great place to stay at a really reasonable price. Close to everthing

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    299
    72
    14
    14
See reviews for
158
345
69
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles County
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2009

I stayed at Terra Andina in October 2007 with my 2 sons and enjoyed it so much that there was no question on where to stay in Cusco with my husband, and 3 others after our week in Lima for our son's wedding. In fact, our son choose to stay there with his wife for their honeymoon the same week even with us there as he also felt it was the best choice. Right across from the backpacker train station and a large marketplace and a short walk to the center of Cusco. Staff was so helpful and the breakfast buffet is good and is set up in a very nice open atmosphere. Rooms are spacious and bathrooms very roomy and spotless! Can't say enough about it other than this is the place to stay! Note, if stairs a problem book on the first floor. Website's pictures are accurate of facility.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

We had a terrible experience from the moment we arrived at this overpriced hotel.

First, the Lima airport and Cusco airports were boh closed so we were unable to get to Cusco until a night later than planned (after incurring costs for hotels in Miami and Lima). We immediately contacted Terra Andina to tell them of our situation and they said not to worry, everything would be taken care of when we arrived. That could not have been further from the truth.

Instead, when we arrived they essentially told us their policy was to profit from our misfortune. They acknowledged that they had lost no business from our night delayed arrival since the hotel was not nearly full. I spent literally hours having to talk to one person after the next about how this was unfai because the closed airports was completely out of our control (and of course b-c the airline can blame it on weather we were out of luck there too). Not a fun way to spend time in Cusco.

The hotel is run down and chintzy. For example, you get 1 towel per person and the checkout time is 8:30 am! Also they did not turn on the heat and it was freezing in the room. The rooms were poor quality and value, and the toilet did not work in ours. Turn on the shower for a second and expect it to become humid and not air out for hours.
It is too bad because the on site staff all seemed very friendly but the management obviously has no sense of justice or customer service. The reservations manager was particularly unhelpful. There are plenty of other places in town that are similarly located and look the same but offer half the price. If you are still going with Terra Andina despite all this, a word of advice: book when you get here directly with the front desk. We learned that we were paying nearly double of what others were. They obviously negotiate quite a bit for those that book upon arrival. Do not fall for the online rates and whatever you do, do not prepay this hotel!!

Go with Casa Andina instead. Far better location and rates!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco_Manager, Manager at Terra Andina Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2009
Dear Ms Khaun:

We find unfair your comments about the Terra Andina Hotel; we are sorry we had to apply our cancellation penalty according to our terms and conditions.

Our Resident Manager and our Reservations Manager are two very helpful professionals with over 15 years of experience in the hospitality industry and they are the ones responsible for the success of our operation (please read the other 89 reviews posted).

We do provide two towels per guest, and extra towels are available at no extra cost.

The only way to provide you with a check-in by 12 noon is to request a check-out by 8.30 am, this standard policy for hotels in Cusco, because most flight arrive and depart between 7:00 am and 12:00 pm

Our rooms are clean and meticulously inspected before delivering it to our guests (please read the other 89 reviews posted)

Our showers are always praised; we are one of the few hotels in Cusco that delivers great water pressure due to a unique “constant pressure” water system installed at the hotel.

The only way to have a guaranteed confirmed reservation in Cusco is by pre-paying. Cusco is not a business destination and rooms must be booked in advanced to avoid the risk of not having a room upon your arrival.

We are very sorry that you have chosen the Terra Andina Hotel to unload all your frustration caused by flight cancellations.

We sincerely hope that the rest of your trip goes without further inconveniences.

Truly yours
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

I have just arrived from a nice trip to Peru with my wife and we both felt that it was important to write a review about this hotel - after all, we have chosen it based on Tripadvisor's reviews and we could not think about a better place to be in Cusco (unless, of course, you are willing to spend a lot of money to be in a 5 star - but, in Cusco, all you need is a comfortable place to crash after long walks during the day).

Perfect location - a nice 10 minutes walk to the Plaza de Armas - far away from the noisy part of town, closer to a fantastic local market and some other atractions. Friendly staff, always willing to help, a very good breakfast and very spacious rooms. Terra Andina is the right place to be in Cusco!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

It was my first time in Cuzco and I choose a 3Stars hotel for the value,I was very gladly surprised to find how good this hotel is,their general Service is Excellent,rooms clean and confortable bath impecable(only problem that the rooms to he courtyard are a bit noisy especially at night)their personnel,reception bellboy,housekeeping,waiters are thereto make you feel at home.
Ivery highly reccomend you stay in this Hotel on your trips to Cuzco.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario, canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2009

very nice hotel, exceeded our expectations. Staff most accommodating, quiet location.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

Nice hotel in a colonial mansion, ten minutes walk to the Plaza de Armas (city center). Good restaurant with very reasonable prices and very attentive staff (great pisco sour), we ate there most of the nights. Good breakfast (included).
The rooms are basic and in our case the bathroom did not had enough ventilation (the ceiling painting was falling).
They pick you up at the airport but only take you back there if you arrange your tours with the travel agency that makes the transport. We didn't do it. We booked and picked up the train tickets to Machu Picchu, the admission tickets and the bus Aguas Calientes-Machu Picchu on our own. We took the city tour, Sacred Valley tour and a guide for Machu Picchu with "Expediciones Waynapicchu" (calle Mantas 109). We saved around $120 compared with the agency that works with the hotel (taxi to the airport 10 soles= $3). Your decision... ;-)
Great food anywhere but we recommend restaurant INKA in Plaza de Armas: great food based in popular receipts with a modern touch. The staff incredibly attentive.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Terra Andina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terra Andina Hotel

Address: Calle Union 184, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Cusco
#17 Family Hotel in Cusco
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Terra Andina Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Terra Andina Hotel is located in the historic district of Cusco. It is a Colonial Mansion converted into a First Class Hotel.We are half a block from the charming Plaza san Pedro, Eiffel’s designed San Pedro Market and only four blocks from the Main Square.The Terra Andina Hotel is a 31-room full service. We offer comfortable accommodation, with amenities such as, 100% pure cotton bed linens, wall-to-wall carpet, private bathroom, hot water, telephone, cable TV, safe deposit box, hair dryer and heating.Our Superior Rooms are larger and in addition include a selection of King or Queen size bed or twin beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Terra Andina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terra Andina Cusco
Hotel Terra Andina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terra Andina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.