We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Honeymoon Experience!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terra Andina Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Terra Andina Hotel to your Saves list
Terra Andina Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Union 184, Cusco, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 147 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Honeymoon Experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Terra Andina Hotel in Cusco last month for part of our Honeymoon to Peru. It also happened to be my birthday. It was a wonderful experience. The room was clean and just a little on the small side. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful, especially when we ran into difficulty with needing to convert our US dollars last minute. They went above and beyond to help us. They even surprised us with a birthday cake for me on my birthday - it was wonderful and delicious! The location was excellent, about a 5-10 minute walk to the main square. We are very pleased with our stay here. We have great memories of our Honeymoon in Peru, thank you Terra Andina Hotel!! :)

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerraAndina_11, Gerente at Terra Andina Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Sir or Madam:

Thank you for your review in TripAdvisor. Your comments help us all at the Terra Andina Hotel, it makes us feel proud of our performance and it encourages us to continue to improve our service.
As a token of appreciation to your comment we are glad to offer you a complimentary one night stay on your next trip to Cusco or for any friend’s trip to Cusco.

Thank you very much

The Management
Terra Andina Hotel
Cusco, Peru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    297
    72
    14
    14
See reviews for
157
344
69
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed one week in Terra Andina in Cusco, Peru, and the service and atmosphere are First Class compared to other hotes I stayed in Peru. They definitely know how to provide a very good service. All staff are very helpful, attend to your needs instantly and make your stay very pleasant. Breakfast is very adequate with plenty fresf fruit, cereal and a freshly made omelette on demand! Most definitely highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerraAndina_11, Gerente at Terra Andina Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Sir or Madam:

Thank you for your review in TripAdvisor. Your comments help us all at the Terra Andina Hotel, it makes us feel proud of our performance and it encourages us to continue to improve our service.
As a token of appreciation to your comment we are glad to offer you a complimentary one night stay on your next trip to Cusco or for any friend’s trip to Cusco.

Thank you very much

The Management
Terra Andina Hotel
Cusco, Peru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed here before and after our Inca Trail Hike and therefore had two different rooms. I have nothing but excellent things to say about this hotel. The staff were extremely polite and helpful. The rooms were excellent and we had great sleeps. The breakfast buffet was very good as was the dining room meals. The location was very close to the main attractions, 5 - 10 minute walk. The decor of this hotel is very relaxing and interesting. I am recommending this hotel any of my friends who will be visiting Cusco.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerraAndina_11, Gerente at Terra Andina Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Sir or Madam:

Thank you for your review in TripAdvisor. Your comments help us all at the Terra Andina Hotel, it makes us feel proud of our performance and it encourages us to continue to improve our service.
As a token of appreciation to your comment we are glad to offer you a complimentary one night stay on your next trip to Cusco or for any friend’s trip to Cusco.

Thank you very much

The Management
Terra Andina Hotel
Cusco, Peru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I really enjoyed my 3 night stay at Terra Andina. My Spanish is non-existant, the staff were patient and helpful every time I needed advice. The area is safe and only a few minutes by foot to the Plaza Des Armas. The room I was in was nothing flash, but clean, secure, quiet, comfortable, with everything I needed - safe, fridge/bottled water... Well worth the price, I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Try the upper floor for minimal street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerraAndina_11, Gerente at Terra Andina Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Sir or Madam:

Thank you for your review in TripAdvisor. Your comments help us all at the Terra Andina Hotel, it makes us feel proud of our performance and it encourages us to continue to improve our service.
As a token of appreciation to your comment we are glad to offer you a complimentary one night stay on your next trip to Cusco or for any friend’s trip to Cusco.

Thank you very much

The Management
Terra Andina Hotel
Cusco, Peru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The hotel is very good, location is a little far from main plaza but close to a great folk market. My room was upgraded to a very comfortable room. Service is excellent and Eduardo Castañeda, the hotel´s general manager is most of the time on premises and will solve any problem you have. The hotel sent a car to pick me up from the airport. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Contact Eduardo directly to get tips on where to eat and have a drink in Cusco. If you have any pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerraAndina_11, Gerente at Terra Andina Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Sir or Madam:

Thank you for your review in TripAdvisor. Your comments help us all at the Terra Andina Hotel, it makes us feel proud of our performance and it encourages us to continue to improve our service.

Thank you very much

The Management
Terra Andina Hotel
Cusco, Peru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Staff very friendly. Impeccable cleanliness and very quiet. A few (and beautiful) blocks from the central square and main attractions of Cusco. Full breakfast and very tasty. Large rooms and bathrooms very good. Excellent showers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerraAndina_11, Gerente at Terra Andina Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Sir or Madam:

Thank you for your review in TripAdvisor. Your comments help us all at the Terra Andina Hotel, it makes us feel proud of our performance and it encourages us to continue to improve our service.
As a token of appreciation to your comment we are glad to offer you a complimentary one night stay on your next trip to Cusco or for any friend’s trip to Cusco.

Thank you very much

The Management
Terra Andina Hotel
Cusco, Peru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I picked this hotel based on everyone else's great reviews. We stayed here for four nights and it wasn't just the altitude that prevented us from being comfortable:

-Night 1: We were picked up from the airport by a hotel representative and taken in a complimentary taxi to the hotel. We loved this and thought this was a great touch. Upon check-in we were immediately given cocoa tea to help us acclimate to the altitude.The room we were given was small, but very cute. We rested for the afternoon in an attempt to keep our altitude symptoms at bay and went for a walk in the evening. The room was very warm and there was no air conditioning or external window for us to open so we found the temperature unbearable. Also, the bed was very hard. Some people are into that, but we had difficulty sleeping. We thought maybe it was really the altitude that was getting to us which was exacerbating our feelings about the room.

A note about altitude sickness: Just breathing makes you dehydrated. And just so you know cocoa tea/leaves is a stimulant so don't have it in the afternoon because it will prevent you from sleeping. Folding up 10 of the dry leaves and chewing it up like gum and leaving it in your cheek for 20 minutes is significantly more effective than the tea. You can also take Sorrochi pills (you can buy them for a sole a tablet in the local pharmacies), but I'm not convinced they did very much. Also, one of the symptoms of altitude sickness is sleeplessness, but sleeping pills don't rectify the problem, it makes you feel worse (trust me, I now have personal experience on this front and had to ask for a 5 minute hit of oxygen). Also, just breathing makes you dehydrated so you will drink tons of water throughout the night and pee constantly which makes sleeping a real challenge.

Fortunately, the free hotel breakfast was great. There was fruit, yogurt, eggs, pancakes, and fresh juices.

Night 2: Same issues as night one so the staff brought us a fan which would have worked if it didn't exacerbate our dehydrated state.

Night 3: After complaining of two nights of not sleeping, the manager of the hotel put us into a really large comfortable room with an external window. We still had broken sleep, but it was significantly preferable to our previous room because the bed was big and softer.

Night 4: We came back to the hotel after visiting Macchu Piccu and were put in the tiniest room. We couldn't even both open our suitcases at the same time. The main problem was that the shower wasn't working. It was about 10 at night and we had to get up early so all I wanted was a shower and to go to bed. I called down and they sent up staff who explained there was issues with the water in the entire hotel and that it was now fixed. There wasn't even enough water coming out of the shower head to even brush my teeth let alone shower. The guy fiddled around with the water for about 10 minutes and finally got some to come out, but then it was scalding hot or freezing, the water wouldn't mix. I called down again and once again the guy fiddled with the shower for another 15 minutes and couldn't get a decent temperature/water pressure. I asked if we could just change rooms and they said it was a full house. I told them I would not pay for the night because of the shower situation and then they magically had another room available and the shower worked fine! I was really exasperated by the end of this episode and complained upon checkout. They gave us a couple bottles of water for free and paid for our taxi to the airport which was a nice gesture.

Overall, I think the people who work at the hotel are very nice, but the hotel itself just isn't great and if you have difficulty sleeping or don't want to deal with issues, it may be worth it to pay a bit more and stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: If you stay here, get a room with a window that opens to the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerraAndina_11, Gerente at Terra Andina Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Sir or Madam:

Thank you for your review in TripAdvisor. Your comments help us all at the Terra Andina Hotel, it makes us feel proud of our performance and it encourages us to continue to improve our service.

Thank you very much

The Management
Terra Andina Hotel
Cusco, Peru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Terra Andina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terra Andina Hotel

Address: Calle Union 184, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Cusco
#17 Family Hotel in Cusco
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Terra Andina Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Terra Andina Hotel is located in the historic district of Cusco. It is a Colonial Mansion converted into a First Class Hotel.We are half a block from the charming Plaza san Pedro, Eiffel’s designed San Pedro Market and only four blocks from the Main Square.The Terra Andina Hotel is a 31-room full service. We offer comfortable accommodation, with amenities such as, 100% pure cotton bed linens, wall-to-wall carpet, private bathroom, hot water, telephone, cable TV, safe deposit box, hair dryer and heating.Our Superior Rooms are larger and in addition include a selection of King or Queen size bed or twin beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your Terra Andina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terra Andina Cusco
Hotel Terra Andina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terra Andina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.