We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terra Andina Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Terra Andina Hotel to your Saves list
Terra Andina Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Union 184, Cusco, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 145 Hotels in Cusco
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We consulted Trip Advisor before booking a total of 8 hotels in Peru, and made all great choices, including this one. As with all our picks, this has a little local character along with the rest of its amenities, which we looked for. The location is perfect, a fun, interesting 3 block walk from the Plaza del Armas, and a half block uphill from a fascinating, busy indoor town market where we took our first dozen or trip photos. Good breakfast buffet, coca tea always available, good staff, rooms are quite nice.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a narrow side street, so I wouldn't expect a view; we actually had an internal r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerraAndina_11, Gerente at Terra Andina Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Sir or Madam:

Thank you for your review in TripAdvisor. Your comments help us all at the Terra Andina Hotel, it makes us feel proud of our performance and it encourages us to continue to improve our service.
As a token of appreciation to your comment we are glad to offer you a complimentary one night stay on your next trip to Cusco or for any friend’s trip to Cusco.

Thank you very much

The Management
Terra Andina Hotel
Cusco, Peru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    277
    67
    13
    13
See reviews for
144
322
67
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel is not brand new, and while it is fairly well maintained its age does show. PLUSES: breakfasts are very nice, its location is not very central but close to all the sites, service is good, it has duvets, and its portable heater was surprisingly adequate. MINUSES: Internet is not reliable, rooms are extremely small, no flexible hose in the shower, no elevator.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed in this Hotel in the middle of August. The front desk crew were very friendly and helped a lot. I had an emergency and they assited me with all my needs and were very understanding.

Breakfast was excellent, with a lot of good quality food. The Hotel is easlily accesible to all parts of the City and it is located in a very nice street where you really get the feeling of being in Cuzco.

HIghly recomended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerraAndina_11, Gerente at Terra Andina Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Sir or Madam:

Thank you for your review in TripAdvisor. Your comments help us all at the Terra Andina Hotel, it makes us feel proud of our performance and it encourages us to continue to improve our service.
As a token of appreciation to your comment we are glad to offer you a complimentary one night stay on your next trip to Cusco or for any friend’s trip to Cusco.

Thank you very much

The Management
Terra Andina Hotel
Cusco, Peru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manta, Ecuador
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I had a reservation problem. I spoke to the front reception manager "Liliana" and asked her how we can solve this problem. She had one of those fake, frozen, painted on smiles and proceeded to tell me that nothing can be done. The interesting part is that she refused to try or even suggest as to what I can do to. One of the junior staff members whispered that I should speak to the hotel manager, a Mr. Eduardo. This man handled everything in a friendly professional manner, going out of his way to insure my satisfaction. Contrary to Lilana who seems to have forgotten that she works in the hospitality industry. Perhaps a change of venue, working in the laundry room would be more applicable to her personality.

Room Tip: try to get a larger room, some are quite small
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerraAndina_11, Gerente at Terra Andina Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Sir or Madam:

Thank you for your review in TripAdvisor. Your comments help us all at the Terra Andina Hotel, it makes us feel proud of our performance and it encourages us to continue to improve our service.
As a token of appreciation to your comment we are glad to offer you a complimentary one night stay on your next trip to Cusco or for any friend’s trip to Cusco.

Thank you very much

The Management
Terra Andina Hotel
Cusco, Peru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This hotel was all that we were looking for and more. The staff was wonderful in every way and took great care of us. Ofter anticipating our needs before we'd even thought of what we needed! It was in a wonderful location to walk to many sites in Cusco and the price was wonderful for the accommodations provided. We were picked up at the airport on time and were able to check into our room early because we had been traveling for 24 hours and were very tired. Later on, we were able to check out late due to our flight leaving later in the day. We highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerraAndina_11, Gerente at Terra Andina Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Sir or Madam:

Thank you for your review in TripAdvisor. Your comments help us all at the Terra Andina Hotel, it makes us feel proud of our performance and it encourages us to continue to improve our service.
As a token of appreciation to your comment we are glad to offer you a complimentary one night stay on your next trip to Cusco or for any friend’s trip to Cusco.

Thank you very much

The Management
Terra Andina Hotel
Cusco, Peru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ollantaytambo, Peru
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is the easiest way for me to convey my experience here

PROS
-price
-location is pretty good, there is a small super market across the road and I found the restaurants I was looking for walkable distance
-excellent service, I called before arriving and staff arranged my airport pickup for the standard going rate (not inflated) and they also accommodated me when I requested a room change with no argument whatsoever (se cons..)
-served coca tea right away and there was constant access with the tea table in the lobby. Definitely a life saver.
-the restaurant seems to accommodate guests at flexible times during the day.

CONS
-I had difficulty working the shower, definitely had a learning moment trying to figure out how to get anything but scalding hot water. The levers weren't very clear or labeled. No hair conditioner so bring/buy your own!
-This hotel was loud in the early morning, starting at 4:30. STEAR CLEAR OF ROOM 303! It is right next door to the service quarters where laundering is done and the first morning I was awakened to doors slamming and tons of foot traffic. And mysteriously, smoking, although its a non smoking hotel. They graciously accommodated my request to change rooms. Even in room 212 however, there is a lot of early morning ruckus. I have to conclude that the walls and doors have no insulation - I wonder if this is the case with all hotels in Cusco?
-the safe and the space heater were both broken in my second room
-8:30 AM checkout is not my style. They offered to delay checkout for a charge of $50 which I declined.

OVERALL
If you aren't going to spend much time in your hotel and only need the bare essentials - clean sheets towels, a bar of soap ,shampoo, a hot shower, and helpful staff then this place is for you If you were like me and want to schedule lay-low time for acclimating this isn't the best choice.

Room Tip: avoid room 303 or the 3rd floor in general!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerraAndina_11, Gerente at Terra Andina Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Sir or Madam:
Thank you for your review in TripAdvisor. Your comments help us all at the Terra Andina Hotel, it makes us feel proud of our performance and it encourages us to continue to improve our service.

Thank you very much

The Management
Terra Andina Hotel
Cusco, Peru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I stayed here for one night after visiting Machu Picchu and needing to catch an early flight out of Cusco in the morning. Based on the reviews here on TripAdvisor and the low price (around $80 pre-paid), I booked this hotel.
As to the positives: Decent location near the center of town, friendly service, free wifi coverage
As to the negatives: It wasn't overtly unclean, but it certainly didn't give me a "clean" feeling upon checkin. The carpets in the common areas have seen better days. In the room, the bathroom is very minimal, all white tile. There was a bit of a musty smell from the bathroom so I kept the door closed, lest the smell permeate the sleeping area. This is definitely an older property - no card key, an old fashioned, metal key and no elevators. I was on the third floor so that meant a haul up/down with luggage.
It's not a horrible place, it is just very very basic. I think the 3.5 star level is overreaching. It's more of a 2.5 - 3.0 star place.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Terra Andina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terra Andina Hotel

Address: Calle Union 184, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Cusco
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Terra Andina Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Terra Andina Hotel is located in the historic district of Cusco. It is a Colonial Mansion converted into a First Class Hotel.We are half a block from the charming Plaza san Pedro, Eiffel’s designed San Pedro Market and only four blocks from the Main Square.The Terra Andina Hotel is a 31-room full service. We offer comfortable accommodation, with amenities such as, 100% pure cotton bed linens, wall-to-wall carpet, private bathroom, hot water, telephone, cable TV, safe deposit box, hair dryer and heating.Our Superior Rooms are larger and in addition include a selection of King or Queen size bed or twin beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Terra Andina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terra Andina Cusco
Hotel Terra Andina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terra Andina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.