We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque Salineras” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salinas de Maras

Salinas de Maras
Carreta a Maras | San Isidro G-15, Cusco 00051, Peru
984857762
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 341 Activities in Cusco
Type: Historic Sites, Geologic Formations, Sightseeing Tours
Attraction details
Bottmingen, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Picturesque Salineras”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The visit of the salineras near Moray is a must when you are in the Sacred Valley. Hundreds of small pools, each producing 200kg of salt every month since more than 500 years.
Very picturesque place!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,644 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,005
    531
    97
    10
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“One of my favorite sites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I loved experiencing the salt mines during my stay in Cusco! This was one of the most interesting sites for me, maybe because it was so different that the other sites...and I love salt! I was able to buy several bags of salt for very reasonable prices to bring back to the states. I would recommend this excursion to anyone visiting Cusco, it is included with the partial admission ticket to the Sacred Valley but is a separate adventure...take advantage of it!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay
Top Contributor
489 reviews 489 reviews
253 attraction reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
450 helpful votes 450 helpful votes
“A welcome change from Inca ruins”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

It’s quite a spectacular sight, and makes a change from looking at rocks, although we are told that thee salt flats have been farmed since pre Inca times. The salt deposits on the rock walls make for same nice abstract photo compositions (see my pictures).

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

It's one of the most amazing sights I had in my trip to Peru. To see that white mountain, in the midle of the brown valley is really impressive.
You can buy gourmet sault for a very low price.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“A Unique and Interesting Place to Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

If you are in the area, I highly recommend a brief stop here to get a few photos of this very unusual place. I was impressed that the locals have been drying the warm salty water that comes out of a spring here for centuries in hundreds of shallow evaporating pans cascading down a valley. These pans have been continually in use since Inca times. The best time to visit is in the dry season when there are more of the salt pans that are white from the drying salt. I was there in the rainy season so not as much white, but it was still impressive and photogenic. There is a small entrance fee for visitors. You can see the place where the warm salt waters comes out of the ground, and dip you hand into the water and give it a taste - really salty. The water flows by gravity through a series of channels and is let into the pans. During the dry season it takes about 20 days before the salt can be harvested. There are a few shops where you cab inexpensively purchase bags of the salt to take home as great gifts. Plan to spend no more than an hour.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salinas de Maras also viewed

Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Salinas de Maras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salinas de Maras, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.