We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly hostal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Cusi Wasi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hostal Cusi Wasi to your Saves list
Hostal Cusi Wasi
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   Avenida Arcopata 466A, Cusco 1, Peru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 244 Cusco B&B and Inns
Groningen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very friendly hostal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This hostal is perfectly located just outside the centre of Cuszo, the staff is very friendly en helpfull, a perfetc patio just to sit or the make your own meals. Beds were good, and rooms were clean and comfortable

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    64
    8
    7
    6
See reviews for
24
52
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

This is a quiet well presented hostel with a small frontage but spacious interior,about ten minutes from the main square. The staff were very helpful and went to great lengths to help us with on going tours.It is clean and comfortable.They have a good web site so check it out if you want to make bookings.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Cons: Not exactly right downtown, we walked from hotel and took a taxi back uphill. Small-sized rooms have funky smell often covered by odd chemicals used for cleaning. One room downstairs smelled like mold. No windows leading to outside, so no views - window is off bathroom. Little things like shower sprayers broken, and plug sockets not secured to the wall correctly...

Pros: Great staff, very helpful for everything - especially trips. Breakfast individually made, but orange juice was not fresh. Great lower lobby with plants, and cool pictures on the walls. Free storage, and ok wifi. Let us check in early. Recommended for the fair price and excellent staff.

Room Tip: Beware rooms on very bottom floor - make sure you ask to see (smell) rooms before checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

The rooms are small and ours did not have windows, but the place is lovely and the staff absolutely terrific. Blanca was extremely helpful both in planning our trip prior to arrival and during out stay, We used Cusi Was as "home base" and traveled to and from Cuzco to Machu Picchu and Lake Titicaca. The lobby is gorgeous.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Good choice of rooms in this small boutique hotel. We had a private double adjacent to our four kids, and they all had their own beds (very happy about that). Walking distance to the main square and far enough away from the action to be relatively safe and peaceful. Great value, excellent help with booking private tours to Sacred Valley. Like everything in Cusco, it had lots of stairs :) Highly recommend for families.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We travelled to Peru in October of 2011, and stayed at Cusi Wasi for a total of 4 nights. The service was great, and for $40/night, you truly cannot ask for more. We found the room was quiet, aside from the sound of people walking in the hallways, the type of floor mixed with rubber soles was very squeaky, but that is peanuts for paying $40 a night. It is a nice 5-10 minute walk to the main square, and despite reading an opinion here about the area, we encountered no bad experiences walking to or from the hostel. The people were great and very helpful, we will definitely recommend to others!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Picked us up at the airport on time. Had a great room for the price and the hostal has a wonderful courtyard for relaxing and breakfast. I also appreciated the location which was walking distance to the main square.

The staff was also so sweet and nice. They especially helped me when I fainted due to altitude sickness.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Cusi Wasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Cusi Wasi

Address: Avenida Arcopata 466A, Cusco 1, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 244 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Cusi Wasi 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Cusi Wasi! Our rooms have heating, a modern private bathroom, cable-TV, free Wi-Fi and warm water 24 hours a day. Our kitchen is at your disposal, as well as an Internet PC. We offer laundry services and free coffee and (coca leaf) tea. Prices include breakfast, transport from the airport or bus or train station and taxes. We offer first-quality excursions to Machu Picchu and also the Inka Trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hostal Cusi Wasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Cusi Wasi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.