We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Cusi Wasi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Cusi Wasi to your Saves list
Hostal Cusi Wasi
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   Avenida Arcopata 466A, Cusco 1, Peru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 275 Cusco B&B and Inns
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Picked us up at the airport on time. Had a great room for the price and the hostal has a wonderful courtyard for relaxing and breakfast. I also appreciated the location which was walking distance to the main square.

The staff was also so sweet and nice. They especially helped me when I fainted due to altitude sickness.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    68
    8
    7
    6
See reviews for
28
55
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

The Cusi Wasi hostel is a hike from the centre of Cuzco. With the lack of oxygen for newcomers, it's worth taking a taxi on arrival because the walk with luggage will leave you breathless. It's almost a kilometer from the main square, not as advertised. Also, we walked and had trouble to find it; many locals weren't familiar with it.

The rooms here are adequate but very small with only a window the hall that goes around a central courtyard. The toilets have no window. I was glad we were only there for two nights. The room got very hot and airless with two of us although it started out cold. Also the rooms have little noise insulation. The noise in the stairs or in the courtyard is heard everywhere.

Getting breakfast was not clear. There were no directions. We knew it was included but there was no-one around when we went down to find it. It was simple fare when it did come. A roll, slice of cheese, jams with instant coffee or tea.

One member of staff spoke English. The others had only a smattering of vocabulary which can lead to a lack of understanding. I woudn't go back to this hostel - rooms too far and too small.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FALMOUTH
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We had our doubts about staying in a cheap hostel, but what a charming place and the staff are so welcoming and helpful. It is a little way from the centre but it is good to walk down to the centre and get a taxi back, taxi's are cheap. The tour buses leave from just across the road so you are normaly first on and can choose your seat. The rooms are small but adequate. There is a very good Italian restaurant near the centre at the end of
Avenida El Sol. Cusco is a beautiful city and the train journey to Machu Picchu an absolute delight as, of course, is Machu Picchu. The trips organised by Cusi Wasi are very good. But if you are making your own way it can be cheaper, also use StarPeru airline to get to Cusco from Lima.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the front of the hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We stayed at the Cusi Wasi hostal for little under a week. It is a charming hostal with a very good location. The center of Cusco was well within walking distance (5-10 min) yet it was very quiet in the hostal. It is not a luxurious hostal which is reflected in the price, however the hostal is clean, cosy and with very helpfull staff that assisted in whichever questions we had.


In particular, the help with arranging a tour to Machu Picchu and the tour it self was above what we had expected. We felt that we were taken good care of at all points during the trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

I had such a great time staying at the Cusi Wasi hotel.I was traviling my own and no Spanish.
The staff warmly welcomed me every night even though I couldn't speak Spanish at all. I stayed in the end of rainy season so my schedule had to change a couple times because of rain.They helped me out a lot to get better results.I really enjoyed staying and relaxing at the hostel after the long day on tours and the location also takes about 10 mins walk into center.Email communication was really excellent.Room was nice and clean.I would highly recommened this as a comfortable,clean,affordable place to stay in Cusco.Especially warm lovely staff!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We had an excellent stay at the Cusi Wasi with our 8 & 10 year old kids. The staff were so friendly and helpful both before we left Australia and while we stayed with them. Nothing was too much trouble (even a very early morning breakfast on a couple of our day trip departure days).
Email communication was excellent and they assisted us with booking childrens tickets to Machu Picchu as we couldn't do those on-line.
Our room was a little cosy with the 4 of us, but perfect for our needs as we only used the room to sleep in as our days were spent exploring.
Location is about a 10 minute walk into the centre of town.
Would recommend this as a comfortable, clean, affordable place to stay in Cusco.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the road, can be a bit noisy from very early in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

I feel guilty writing this report as the staff are so lovely but please do not stay here. We had a family room which faced the main road, my children are 9 and 11 and at 2am we were all still awake. My son was in tears due to fumes entering the room . It was like being next to a motorway and a bus station with barking dogs all around.I can't describe the noise. We changed to another hotel the next day Hostal Rojas and this was much nicer for the same price. We met up with some friends of friends who lived in Cusco and when we told them where we had stayed they couldn't believe we would have picked a hotel in such a bad neighbourhood,like I said the staff were great but not enough to compensate for the dreadful location

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qmtu, Propietario at Hostal Cusi Wasi, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
This room is our only room which faces the main road. Just before our guests' arrival the balcony doors had problems shutting well. We are working on this problem right now, sealing the balcony with an extra set of windows so that the noise will never be a problem again.

I wonder who told them that this is a bad area: that is completely untrue and unjustified. In fact this part is known as one of the better areas in town on a walking distance of only 10 minutes to Cusco's central square.

I am very sorry that the noise apparantly influenced our guests' overall opinion so badly: as you can see from all the other reviews: our cleanliness, service, rooms and price/quality are all well appreciated. We hope to continue to give a first-class hospitality experience to our future guests, despite this incident.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Cusi Wasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Cusi Wasi

Address: Avenida Arcopata 466A, Cusco 1, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 275 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Cusi Wasi 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Cusi Wasi! Our rooms have heating, a modern private bathroom, cable-TV, free Wi-Fi and warm water 24 hours a day. Our kitchen is at your disposal, as well as an Internet PC. We offer laundry services and free coffee and (coca leaf) tea. Prices include breakfast, transport from the airport or bus or train station and taxes. We offer first-quality excursions to Machu Picchu and also the Inka Trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Despegar.com so you can book your Hostal Cusi Wasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Cusi Wasi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.