We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Already pleased with the reservation service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amaru Hostal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Amaru Hostal to your Saves list
Amaru Hostal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cuesta San Blas 541, Cusco 001, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 150 Hotels in Cusco
Sint-Truiden, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Already pleased with the reservation service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I booked a room for 2 nights with 2 friends. Alr 1 daybthe send me an email asking if we wanted to get picked up from the aprort for FREE! Just becouse we are staying there! We definately are not from around so thisnis very pleasant! They are also have given me tis to not get stuck with anoying cab driverd and people how wanny take you on tour!l
This service is already so excellent that i have no doubt about the stay there!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    184
    45
    15
    11
See reviews for
85
236
48
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My parents and I stayed here in August 2013 after staying at the Andenes al Cielo for 2 nights (much recommended). Amaru is a standard place -- the rooms are small but relatively clean and there is hot water. The views are fantastic and the patio was very nice. Breakfast was also good: eggs, yogurt, bread, coffee, and orange juice. It is of good value for Cuzco.

Things we liked less about Amaru: there were a large amount of ants throughout the room (especially the bathroom). It was really, really loud. We had a hard time falling asleep a couple of the nights. We left really early one morning (before breakfast started) to head to Machu Picchu and they would not provide breakfast for us (I know that this was a lot to ask, but many of the other places in Cuzco will provide breakfast to go for early travelers).

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have a fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Amaru for 2 nights before the Inca Trail and 1 night after. We loved it there. The room was comfortable, the shower had hot water. The breakfast was also great (bread and jam, fruit salad w/ yogurt and cereal, an egg, orange juice and hot tea or coffee). The receptionists were very nice and the coca tea available was essential. We had trouble sleeping due to the altitude, but that is no fault of the hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed in two different rooms while were were there and both were quads. The first night we were in Room 2, which is downstairs. The room is nice but it was really cold. The next day we asked to move to Room 1, which is also a quad. Room 1 was much better since it's upstairs, gets natural light and has a view of the city. Both rooms were cold and we rented a heater. The staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is very clean and seems to be well run. They also have a computer for common use and there is a wifi in the hotel. The hotel is in a great location near the Plaza de Armas and many tourist restaurants. We also enjoyed the breakfast and my son said that the scrambled eggs were the best he has ever had. It's not a buffet and with a family of four, we had to ask for more rolls, but the wait staff had no problem giving us another basket. We were told extra eggs would be an additional fee. I researched a lot of hotels in Cusco and I am happy with our choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Amaru was an absolute delight. The villa is built around a couple of pretty courtyards which have gorgeous views over Cusco. It's well-located between San Blas (less than 5 minutes walk) and Plaza de Armas (ten minutes walk). The rooms are comfy and the water is hot. They also run a 24 hour reception and a very early breakfast (6 am), which is very useful for early starters. The superior rooms are on the second floor and have great access to the fab views from the upper levels. The standard rooms on the lower level are no less comfortable, though, but with a little less of a view.

Strongly recommended. Cusco can be a bit of a tourist trap but this place is superb value for money.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This place is so nice, $55/night with one free airport pick up. The room we have was at 2nd floor, with an attic with 2 Chairs and a table, you can see the mountains from the attic. The room is clean, bed is confortable with a clean smell.

Very close to the Plaza de Arma, the staff is very friendly. The yard has a lot of plants. Only down thing is they don't have WIFI in the room, only in Public area.

Breakfast was included consistently bread, tea, juice, fruit & yogurt, and an egg. Tasty & adequate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Think of this more as a boutique hotel than a hostel. It was by far the nicest place we stayed (on a budget) in Peru. The views are quite good, and the building itself is very attractive. It is also spotlessly clean, and we saw staff taking care of the place every day (repainting, cleaning, weeding, etc).

We booked online and had some trouble paying the deposit but ended up getting it to work through Western Union. Paid the remainder in US cash upon arrival. Staff was always available and helpful during our stay. Most of them spoke English quite well. Breakfast was consistently bread, tea, juice, fruit & yogurt, and an egg. Tasty & adequate.

The bedroom & bathroom were cozy and clean. It was a little cold at night so we rented the electric space heater for $3/day. I don't think it did much to warm the room, but it was nice to stand by after a shower!

The location is very good - just a 5 minute walk to the Plaza de Armas. Lots of good restaurants nearby (Jack's Cafe is literally 30 seconds away). Easy walking to all the other attractions (the mercado, museums, the cathedral, etc).

Bottom line: a comfortable, value-priced place to stay with easy access to all the downtown historical attractions.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.8 mi away
Mirador de Santa Ana
Mirador de Santa Ana
#44 of 150 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#3 of 150 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 stars 1,195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#14 of 150 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Wakapunku Hotel Boutique
0.6 mi away
Hotel Unumizu Cusco
Hotel Unumizu Cusco
#27 of 150 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaru Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaru Hostal

Address: Cuesta San Blas 541, Cusco 001, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Cusco
#21 Business Hotel in Cusco
#23 Family Hotel in Cusco
#28 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amaru Hostal 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two blocks away from the main plaza in the hearth of the ancient district of San Blas. Colonial-style house with gardens and the best views of the city. Friendly and professional staff, confortable rooms and yummy included breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Amaru Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaru Hostal Cusco
Amaru Hostal Hotel Cusco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amaru Hostal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.