We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kuoda Travel in Peru” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kuoda Travel - Private Day Tours

Kuoda Travel - Private Day Tours
Urb. Marcavalle N-25, Cusco, Peru
+51.84.221.773
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 340 Activities in Cusco
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kuoda Travel offers tours that are private and personalized. We help our clients have the vacations of their dreams, not ours. True luxury means that you are able to have the experience you want without having to worry about a thing except enjoying yourself. We offer that luxury both on day tours in and around Cusco as well as on complete itineraries throughout Peru and beyond.
Hastings, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Kuoda Travel in Peru”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

What a marvelous trip. From the first experience to the last it was great.

Kuoda Travel is a first class organization. We were referred to Tom by friends who had visited Peru. We were in touch by email and the requests were answered promptly and accurately. Tom helped us put an agenda together. It started out with my husband and I taking our 15 year old grand daughter to Peru. When friends saw the itinerary they decided to join us. There were 7 on a small private tour and it was wonderful. The Kuoda guides were always on time, met us at the airport and took care of our boarding passes in each place. They were there to help us and answer all our questions. They were very knowledgeable and proud of their great country.

We went into the jungle of 3 days, visited Cusco, Machu Picchu and the Sacred Valley. All attractions were interesting and our accomodations were first class.

The drivers were very good and we felt comfortable in the van that we were driven around in.

The Kuoda president, Mery met us at the airport to wish us a safe journey. Tom, his wife and new baby also greeted us with a fond farewell. Where else would you get this kind of care?

We plan to return to Peru with my sister and brother in law and we will definetly be calling Tom for help.

We have been home for 2 weeks now and have told many of our friends about the great experience we had.

I would highly recommend using Kuoda as your travel advisor when you plan a trip to Peru.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We Can't Resist Returning to Peru - Thankyou Kuoda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Wow – my husband and I returned home last night from another vacation in Peru. A few years ago we discovered Kuoda who organized the most amazing journey for us throughout Peru. Have to say it did not stop there we have returned to Peru every year since ( 6 times). In the process we have learned a little Spanish and become more familiar with doing some things on our own but we always look to Kuoda for the special touches. Once again we enjoyed a few splurge days at Sol y Luna where we never tire of the beautiful gardens. Also discovered a new restaurant for us in Cusco called Greens. We actually enjoyed organic greens here for breakfast , lunch and dinner. This time our Kuoda friends involved us in some of the philanthropic work they do for outlying villages where few tourists ever visit. As a person who knits and spins Kuoda helped me satisfy my desire to connect to the fiber related activities in local communities. Sometimes after all our trips to Peru I get to thinking we have seen it all but this time we were introduced to an amazing old Hacienda (Huayoccari) in the Sacred Valley that is still inhabited by the descendant of the owners . This is a place that is a living museum full or amazing art and an extensive display of ancient artifacts and treasure from Inca period and before. Here we had a gourmet lunch complete toasts of good wine. And just when I thought there was not a new store for me to discover for shopping treasures I found a jewelry store on San Blas (Esma) that had some unique jewelry made from silver and fiber. Ah fiber and silver for me a perfect combination. For my husband and I Kuoda is not only a fantastic travel company – it is an ongoing experience in our travel lives.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Personalized + Professional + Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

With only minimal reviews out there on South American Private Touring Companies, we took a chance on Kuoda Travel. Our experience with them definitely supports the idea that sometimes big risks equal big rewards!

Our Kuoda experience begins with Tom, our trip planner specialist. He was prompt, thorough, patient, and added just enough of his own advice and experiences to help create the trip of our dreams to Peru. We planned our entire trip through dialoging over email. He answered all of our questions (there were a lot) and made us feel secure in all aspects of our trip planning.

The guides that Kuoda provided us were absolutely wonderful! Because of them, we can honestly say that our time in Peru was nothing short of spectacular. Everything was organized, efficient, and professional. We always felt like we were in good hands. Everyone appeared knowledgeable and passionate about the country. For example, during our touring time in Colca Canyon and Arequipa, our designated guide had medical training regarding high altitudes and he made us feel at ease when we were not feeling 100%. This is very important when your body is not used to the very high altitudes (almost 16,000 ft!).

Our touring van also carried oxygen in case needed. All the drivers were safe and courteous. We felt comfortable napping as we traveled long distances in our comfortable and clean vans.
All guides were always there (at the required time) to greet us and guide us to the next step. During a portion of our trip, I got really ill. Our guide had made a Kuoda Representative aware of the situation and we received several in-room phone calls to check on how I was doing. It was comforting to know that someone was looking out for us and if we needed additional medical attention, someone would have been there to provide guidance it if needed. I felt this was an instance in which Kuoda went above and beyond.

The founder of this company, Mery, had even made it out to our hotel in Cusco to meet us personally. Even if it was for a few moments, it was nice that she stopped in to say hello. Because Kuoda gives back to the community, part of our itinerary allowed us to have a special lunch in the home of a famous local artist and his wife who was actually friends with Mery. What a unique experience to be welcomed into their home, get a tour of his gardens and art studio, and share a homemade lunch together!

The highlight of the trip to Peru, for us, was actually Lake Titicaca and the Floating Islands. We enjoyed the tour, meeting a family, trying on their traditional clothing, and taking a ride on a reed boat around the lake. Seeing the morning sunrise over the Lake Titicaca was something that we will always remember.

Kuoda also arranged for us to visit an authentic village in the hight plain of chinchero, near Lake Piuray. It is these types of experiences that travelers get to witness the true authenticity of the place visited, giving us a very real look into the lives of the local people. We will always remember our time there, participating in a ceremony and dancing with the village women.

We highly recommend this touring company to those traveling to Peru who wouldn’t mind paying a little more to get a more personalized, 1:1 tour of the country with guides who are dedicated to their job and passionate about their country. We are glad that we decided to go with Kuoda as opposed to the “discounted” or group tours that may take you to the same destinations, but not provide such an individualized, private experience. We also felt better knowing that this company supports the communities by taking their guests “off the beaten path” providing them with such unique experiences (i.e. visiting with the local artist and his wife, visiting a remote village and observing a ceremony, and meeting and spending time with a family on the floating islands on Lake Titicaca!)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bluff, California, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Kuoda really delivered”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had Kuoda set up a one week tour for our family in July and we couldn't have been happier with their service. We had already spent a week in Cusco at a Spanish language school (Amigos - highly recommended) so they customized our tour to focus on the outlying areas (of course, including Machu Picchu). Granted, we wanted to be spoiled a bit and asked for 4 and 5 star hotels. We had our own van and driver and they really took good care of us. Cost was $250 / for tours, hotel and most meals. I'm sure we could have found a cheaper tour but I doubt we could have found a better one. And I'm sure they would have found cheaper accommodations had we requested it. But we didn't know if we'd ever get back to Peru so we went for it. It was nerve wracking paying for the tour upfront after only having seen positive reviews on the web, but Kuoda really delivered for us. Thank you Mary, Juan and Juan for an amazing experience!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kuoda Travel - Private Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Kuoda Travel - Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kuoda Travel - Private Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.