We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Backpacker La Bo'M

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cusco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Backpacker La Bo'M
Save
You added Backpacker La Bo'M to your Saves list
Carmen Alto 283 | San Blas, Cusco 084, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 244 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't be better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed here before and after our Machu Picchu trip and absolutely loved it. Location in San. Blas is great for restaurants and cafés, as well as cute independent shops, and only a very short walk to the main Plaza. The dorm and private room were both really comfortable, there's a great view from the upstairs balcony and a cosy common area with a log fire for chilly Cuzco nights. We even toasted marshmallows! Crepes for breakfast are a bonus. Everyone is incredibly welcoming and went out of their way to make us feel at home and help us out with taxis, luggage storage etc. Don't go anywhere else!

Room Tip: If you are a couple, the two bed 'dorm' that has a connecting door to another dorm is great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
23
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed here for three nights in mid-June 2014 and had a great experience. Staff was extremely welcoming and helpful with travel arrangements. Beautiful view of Cusco from the third floor. Excellent location in San Blas, close to everything you want to see and do in the city. The creperie is not to be missed, whether you stay here or not. Excellent coffee and tea blends. Shared the third-floor matrimonial suite with two friends, has two beds (one queen and one double) and private bathroom with toilet, shower and sink.

To be sure, it's still a hostel- it got chilly at night, and the shower was cold. But the bed was comfortable, with a few heavy blankets, and the price is outstanding for the value you get. If you're looking for a great experience, and don't need to be pampered too much on creature comforts in your room, La Boheme is perfect. Will be staying there again next time I'm in Cusco.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We love La Boheme! It's the best place to stay close to the city center. It is located down the street from Plazoleta San Blas and is an (under) 10 minute walk to the Plaza de Armas. The hostel is charming and the staff is amazing. They always had excellent suggestions of where to eat and things to do. The crepes you eat for breakfast are delicious, but be sure to eat at the crepería for lunch or dinner, too. Their crepes are SO good.

We stayed there with 4 teenagers in the shared rooms and it was very comfortable. There are lockers with locks, lights by the beds so you can all go to sleep at different times without the big light being on, and hot water if you put the handle of the shower in the right spot. Cusco nights and mornings are very cold, but the beds all have two very thick blankets and we weren't cold at all. The rooms also had curtains on the windows. Wifi is reliable and the lounge area is a very friendly area to work. The lounge always has a big fire going at night and there are games to play, books to read and movies to watch. It's a great place to buy crepes and sit and eat.

We traveled with 4 kids in tow (ages 10-17) and I was worried about staying in a hostel since some of the hostels we've stayed in previously have not been very family-friendly. However, the hostel is very quiet and the staff made us all feel very welcome. The staff is the definitely the best part of the hostel! I asked my kids what the best part of the trip was and they all said La Boheme (not Machu Picchu!) so they must be doing something right. Thank you Sara, Sergio and Emy for making it a great stay for us!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaBohemeCusco, Gerente at Backpacker La Bo'M, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Thank you Laura for your review! All the team was so happy to read it! It's been a big pleasure to meet you, and to receive you at home! Such a great family! We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in Cusco, and particularly in La Boheme, and that your kids will remember it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel aviv
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

If you are looking for a quit place which is close to the center, this is the best place . The room is comfortable , always clean and in a good condition. The staff is amazing! Kind full and patient. I just loved them! They can keep your staff if you are going out for traveling for free!and this is very important . The hostel has is oun creps restaurant which means you have a good price and also a great breakfast! I enjoyed staying there for almost 2 weeks'! An excellent hostel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaBohemeCusco, Gerente at Backpacker La Bo'M, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Thank you very much for your review, it's really important to us! It helps to carry on, and to improve everything every day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I don't understand how this place is #1. It's true the staff is EXTREMELY kind and helpful, but that doesn't guarantee a good night of sleep. My wife and I got a private double room with private bathroom, in the upper floor. Those were the coldest nights of our lives. There is no insulation and just a thin piece of glass on the top of the wall (tries to) separate the room from the cold air of Cusco. The cover on the bed is very thick but that doesn't compensate for the gelid room. In addition, that stupid window doesn't have curtains... So when the sun is up at 6 am, you are probably awake. Oh, and by 9 pm there is no more water in the shower. To mention the positive things about this place, I repeat the staff in very friendly and sweet. The pancakes for breakfast are really good, the decoration is cozy and clever and the location is very quiet and in a walking distance from the main square.

Room Tip: Do not accept the private douple/triple room in the upper floor. It's VERY cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahTen, Gerente at Backpacker La Bo'M, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are sorry to read that you spent a night so cold here... But anyway it's helping to improve everything, so thank you. I wanted you to know that after your trip here, we've changed the showers and now we give heating in these rooms, for the colder nights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordoba, Argentina
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I stumbled upon La Boheme by chance, I was looking for a quiet relaxed placed and wandered around the city for a while. When I got there I knew that was it. The best vibes in town, no doubt about it.

Sarah, the owner, is the most lovable girl. The whole place has her magic touch! I fell in love with the double crepe portion in the mornings... mmmmmm!

I stayed there for a month and it was my salvation. My parents also came to visit at the end of the month and stayed with me on a separate private double room. Any doubts just ask Sarita, she's the best ;)

Love!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Sarah did a great job with that hostal. It's very charming, nicely located in a peaceful street very close to both the main plaza and the main Inca site of Cusco. We stayed two nights and liked it so much we decided to go back there after our tour to Machu Picchu.

In less than 5min walking you are on the main plaza of Cusco, 10min and you are at the entrance of Sacsayhuaman, the beautiful Inca site of Cusco.

Rooms are what you expect, simple and clean, quiet. Value for money is excellent. The lounge area is pleasant, internet works well. And they keep renovating and improving the place with good taste.

But of course the main thing is the people. Sarah is true one, with the heart in the right place. Artist and entrepreneur at the same time. You will enjoy chatting with her. She and her guys will welcome you with open arms, and her crepes are just soooo good. Whether salted or sweet, you won't resist, it's just too good. The real French thing.

And of course they will advise you nicely for whatever you may need.

We're going back there in 2 days. It's all we need to finish our trip happily.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Backpacker La Bo'M? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpacker La Bo'M

Address: Carmen Alto 283 | San Blas, Cusco 084, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 244 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Backpacker La Bo'M, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.