We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inconsistent so be careful” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Saranga

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Saranga to your Saves list
Hotel Saranga
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Av. Centenario 689, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Hostal Centenario)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #136 of 256 Cusco B&B and Inns
Bronx, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Inconsistent so be careful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This hotel is a good 15 minute walk to the Plaza de Armas. However, it is close to Avenida Sol and the large textiles market in Cusco so the location is good. It is close to Qoricancha and allows you to see some of the city outside of the really touristy parts. It also provides great views of the mountainside and the city and is beautiful at night.

That being said, the quality of the rooms are inconsistent. The room I had was fine- clean, spacious etc. However others who were travelling with me had ants, smaller spaces, and one was missing a bed in her room when she first arrived. This hotel is very cold and space heaters are provided, but it seemed like only the rooms that didn't need them, had them. Breakfast is included and provides the usual bread, butter and jelly, but also provides ham and cheese and sometimes cereal and yogurt. At busy hours however, these things are depleted quickly and slow to be replaced. You can come down to no bread in the basket and wait 15 minutes for them to put out more. Other staff is friendly, but not always helpful.

The bathroom did in fact have mold on the ceiling, but the water was hot and the pressure was really good. I had a decent experience and would most likely return to the hotel, but others I was with did not enjoy themselves and would tell you otherwise.

So, take your chances or don't. Room 210 is a safe pick, but I can't make promises for the others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
1
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed my stay here! Really central and near many markets! Very reasonable! Staff was great, rooms were good! Breakfast could be better! Found this b&b to be chilly but the staff accommodated us by bringing a heater for our room!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

I did this trip as a Spanish teacher with 10 students, my wife, and two other teachers. Centenario was a perfect place for us. It was booked for us by EF Tours, so I didn't choose it. I read the other reviews before the trip, and was a bit worried.

However, after staying there for four different nights, I think it must have been a very different place when the negative reviews were written. We loved it, and would definitely stay there again.

The street outside certainly isn't upscale, but we walked up and down that street at all hours, and found it to be well lit and perfectly safe. It's a great location, as Korikancha is just three blocks away, and the main plaza is just a couple blocks beyond that. But being two blocks off the main road makes it a much quieter street.

The hotel is sort of an odd pair of connected buildings, but once we got the layout, it was easy to navigate. The cafeteria is very nice and the staff both there and in the lobby are great. Most of the time everything went fine, and the staff was super polite and very helpful. Then, when my wife had a scary incident of altitude sickness downtown and we had her rushed back to the hotel by the Policía Turística, it was great to get there a few minutes behind her and find her at the front desk, bundled up in a blanket, sipping coca tea, with an oxygen tank next to her. Great staff and service.

The breakfast was typical of Cusco hotels, and was fine. They even let my students grab a bunch of the bread to take along for the day. The dinners were great. We had pasta one day, quinoa soup twice, and chicken another time. All four meals tasted great and filled us up.

The rooms were basic, but clean. The bathrooms were everything we needed, and very clean, as well. It is true that they turn off the hot water late at night. Some of my students got up early the first day and took cold showers. However, when we asked, the guy at the desk turned it back on immediately. So after the first morning, the first ones awake asked for hot water, and there was no problem for anyone.

There was noise at night, but that's Cusco in June. The whole month is full of parades, parties, and random firework explosions at all hours. Can't blame that on the hotel.

Room Tip: I like the rooms in the taller building, numbers 300 and up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beebe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

Mold on shower walls and shower curtain. Noisy and got sick from the breakfast. Not a safe neighborhood. A real dump. Employees claim they had not been paid. Booked through Texas AAA and Travel Bound. Do not use either travel company as they recommended this dump. Employees could not dail long distance from switch board.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

Stayed 3 non-consecutive nights at this hostel. The hostel is about a 15 minutes walk from the main square. Hostel staff was very helpful: from providing information, to assistance in booking taxi and luggage storage. The rooms were clean and each has a portable heater, which was nice. The floor/roof are wooden and may squeak when someone is walking in the room above. Breakfast was reasonable with fried egg, bread, juice and fruits. The hotel is quiet, good for resting after exploring Cusco. Other travelers that I have met commented that the hostel in which they were staying in had noisy parties (and drunk people) late into the night. My only issue with this hostel is the misleading advertisement (on their website) of a "complementary" transfer to the airport upon checking-out. I had enquired about the complementary transfer and was told by the reception staff that it is a mistake on the website.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

During our tour of Peru, we stayed in hotel Centenario on two occasions. The hotel provides a good value and you get exactly what you pay for. As with other reviews, it could get a little chilly in the room due to the lack of in-room heater. In addition, hot water was not always available either. While definitely not in the historic center of Cusco, it is just a walk away from it.
However, the main reason I would recommend this hotel to anybody, is because of its great staff. Everyone we ever encountered there (from front desk personnel to kitchen staff) was extremely polite and ready to help, even with the quite of language barrier we had. I was especially thankful to Julio (front desk), who literally went above and beyond his duties and provided the kind of service you expect at establishments with much greater number of stars on its plaque. Since he has a great command of the English language, Julio's help proved literally invaluable for us. We were not the only beneficiaries of his dedication, as we bumped into him at the airport, where he went to deliver a laptop forgotten by one of the hotel's guests.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsburg, IN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

I stayed at the Hostal Centenario with a group of 40 teachers and students as part of our tour. We were there for 5 days. It was our favorite hotel while on the tour. The staff was very friendly and helpful to the entire group. They had a lot of patience with my Spanish students and were accomodating to our requests. The rooms are spacious and very clean. We had breakfast and dinner with our package and it was delicious. They had rolls, cheese, eggs, cereal, yogurt, and fresh fruit for breakfast daily. The hotel is located about 10-15 minutes from the Plaza de Armas and is about 5 minutes from the main street in Cusco....great location!
Thank you Hostal Centenario!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Saranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saranga

Address: Av. Centenario 689, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Hostal Centenario)
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 256 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saranga 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Hotel Saranga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Saranga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.