We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky - Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Agustin International Hotel

Save Saved
You added San Agustin International Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Agustin International Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Maruri 390, Cusco, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 143 hotels in Cusco
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quirky - Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The halls and public spaces seemed to have been designed by Antonio Gaudi. The rooms are spread over 3 floors and some overlook an interior court yard. As I was with a large group I saw several rooms which ranged from large 3 bedded rooms to smaller doubles used for singles. Very helpful front desk and a pot of coca tea always ready off the sunken lounge. Close to the sites and lots of resaurants. Anyone who can make a realiable mixer for showers could make a fortune in Peru as the water temp/pressure is difficult to maintain.

Room Tip: May be best to see the room 1st. One overlooked the service entrance - which gets busy at 4am! The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    124
    73
    15
    9
See reviews for
51
100
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deal, Kent
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a couple of nights prior to a trip to Machu Picchu and a couple of nights after. We liked the pueblo styling of the hotel and the beds were comfortable. Our first room was compact and the temperature in the shower was unreliable; however, the room we were allocated on our return from MP was much larger with an enclosed rooftop terrace, which was delightful. The main thing that let the hotel down was the breakfast service. Every single day we had to wait for either clean bowls, plates,cups or for the food and drink to be replenished, whatever time of the morning we went to breakfast!

Room Tip: The room with the enclosed balcony was 232
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Maybe a little understaffed in the A.M. Restaurant, However all staff encountered seemed very friendly & helpful. The property was lovely with a lot of character. The staff at this hotel were very polite and friendly anytime I was given a chance to converse with them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at different times in different rooms and i was not pleased. Hotel is old and in desperate need of repairs, the first room was small, and the bed was small too. We are from the USA, so we like our beds bigger. Bed was comfortable though, and since it was cold in Cusco we didn't mind the small bed. They do provide a small portable heater which worked ok.
The breakfast is just ok. The hotel would have been better if it was in better shape. The second room had a loose toilet!!. The overall look of the hotel is not very clean. But the worst was the staff. Unfriendly, nobody looked like they wanted to be there. Granted, the hotel was very busy but all other hotels we stayed around Peru were busy also and none had bad attitudes as the people in San Agustin International.
Hotel also has wifi. Breakfast is basic.

The second room we stayed in was bigger and by a courtyard, but when we got there it was about 8:30 PM and they were doing some kind of renovations at that time!!!. Crazy!. People wanna rest!.

Way better hotels to stay in Cusco.
The location though, is great, you walk to plaza de armas, restaurants, etc..
Wouldn't recommended if you value service. Go somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The hotel was fine and what to expect from a Cusco hotel. The breakfast was good and the staff seemed friendly enough when I spoke with them. However, the noise from the square comes into the room all night long so don't expect to get any sleep without bringing a white noise machine or earplugs. Also, I was allergic to something in our room which caused constant congestion and ended up leading to an ear infection. The place works in a pinch but I wouldn't return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is as quiet as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights. The room had the basics and the location is great. The staff were not very friendly or helpful. In fact, every time we went to the desk, they seemed put out to have to help someone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed here on our Machu Picchu tour with Transit Tours. It was ideally located to shops and restaurants. It was noisy from the street but the room was clean. Breakfast was the same fare as all the others with a continental style. The lobby was very large with lots of seating. We had some problems with our tour guide who did not reserve us our dinner. Once it was sorted out, the hotel gave us a complimentary drink for the inconvenience even though it was not their fault.

Room Tip: I would just ask for a room that was in a quiet section of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Agustin International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Agustin International Hotel

Address: Maruri 390, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 143 hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Agustin International Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your San Agustin International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Agustin International Cusco
Hotel San Agustin International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Agustin International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.