We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent value - great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Andina Classic - Cusco Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Andina Classic - Cusco Plaza to your Saves list
Casa Andina Classic - Cusco Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Portal Espinar 142, Cusco 84, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 147 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lima, Peru
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excelent value - great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Conveniently located, one block form main square in the center of the historic downtown Cuzco. Very clean rooms, helpful staff, nice breakfast, no extra thrills - no bar and restaurant is only open for breakfast.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator and stairways, street view is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    249
    64
    18
    5
See reviews for
126
209
50
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

if you read my review about amaru hostal (http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g294314-d501296-r216623825-Amaru_Hostal-Cusco_Cusco_Region.html) then you probably know how we ended up here. after a stressful time searching for another option with hotels.com, we ended up on this one.

a friend of ours who lived in cusco recommended it because of its proximity to plaza de armas. he was absolutely right! the location is perfect. it's right around the corner from plaza de armas and very close to san blas. you can't go wrong. there are plenty of restaurants, museums, shops, and convenience stores nearby.

the amenities are pleasant but bare. there's all the coca tea you can drink in the lobby. there's a business section with a couple of computers and a nook of donated books that other travelers have left behind. the hotel offers free wi-fi, but it can be a bit spotty. the best location is in the lobby. they also have an atm and offer currency conversion. however, we found that the bank next to the hotel had a better exchange rate though only slightly.

the rooms are pretty small so don't expect much. the first room we were in, the shower rod WILL send a small current into your body if you touch it. that was room 331 i believe. it can be a great way to wake up if you don't like coffee. if you don't like that, the inconsistent hot water might help. our second room was better. no electrocution and only marginally finicky hot water. in-room safes are available, but you'll have to request a key up front. there are heaters in the room ... which depending on when you stay, you might find necessary.

as far as service goes, it was all around pretty nice. the attendants were always friendly and helpful. the only issue we had was the initial transportation. one of the hotel attendants told us the shuttle from the airport was free for guests. as it turned out, it wasn't. they wanted to charge us S/.30 (soles -- approximately $10). after we showed them the emails, they finally agreed not to charge us. while we were hiking, they held our luggage for us until we returned. nice. :o)

breakfast is free here and decent. it's pretty consistent with bread, ham, yogurt, cereal, eggs, pancake, juice, and coffee. the view from the breakfast area overlooks the plaza so it's quite nice.

it seems most places offer breakfast for free, wi-fi, and luggage storage so i would consider this standard fare. at any rate, we weren't disappointed at all. it's not a four or five star hotel though so don't get your hopes up.

Room Tip: 331 has the electrocuting shower rod. :o)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Classic - Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It is really important for us to know about the impressions of our guests as these represents an opportunity to improve.

We are glad that you found the location of our Classic Cusco Plaza hotel convenient for your stay; as you mention, we are half a block away from the main square of Cusco. As well, we are pleased that you enjoyed our facilities, we always strive to give the best to all our guests.

On the other hand, we regret if we did not meet your expectations regarding your room. We have shared you impressions with our team and hotel manager in order to correct certain errors.
Finally, we appreciate your candid comments concerning our staff members.

We truly hope that you can visit us again soon.

Best regards,

The Casa Andina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Enjoyed our stay here while traveling in Peru. Hotel was clean (bring your own conditioner- they don't have any) and in a great location. Front desk staff was friendly and accommodating with any of our needs. Was within walking distance to many shops and restaurants. Great jumping off point for hiking the Incan trail and the hotel held our extra luggage while we were away. Coco tea always available to help with the altitude.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The Casa Andina Classic in Cusco is right in the centre of town, so its location is perfect; restaurants, shops and tourist sites are all close by. The rooms are very clean and comfortable with everything you need and the staff is extremely warm and helpful at all hours. A simple breakfast is served at an early hour so you can get a head start on your day. We highly recommend this hotel and would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

A family with 2 small children we had specifically booked 2 adjacent rooms and confirmed those upon arriving at the reception, When led to our rooms these were on opposite ends of the aisle and it took quite some arguing before we managed to get adjacent rooms. Finally, the lobby, rooms, toilets, carpets and the establishment needs and overall overhaul.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Classic - Cusco Plaza, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience at our Classic Cusco Plaza hotel.

We regret the inconvenience presented at your check in regarding your room’s assignment. We understand your need to be close to your children, and we sincerely apologize for the lack of coordination to reserve your adjacent rooms. Please accept our sincere apologies; nonetheless, we are pleased to know that the situation was resolved.

Sincerely,

The Casa Andina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

This hotel has a great location, near the main square in Cusco. As soon as we arrived, the staff brought us cups of coca tea and got us checked in quickly. Breakfast is included and it starts early enough that you can get breakfast before some of the tours that leave in the early morning. There is also free internet (but it is slow so that could be improved). Rooms were comfortable, clean, and very nice. We really enjoyed our stay there because it made it easy in the evenings to walk to some great restaurants that are right in the vicinity. Also the staff speak good english and we never had a problem communicating or getting the information we needed. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The location is excellent , in the centre of town.It is spotlessly clean .The staff were very helpful and friendly. The brekfast was typical for the region with plenty to eat and variety, The rooms are basic but have ample room,compfortable beds .
we would stay at this hotel again without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Andina Classic - Cusco Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Andina Classic - Cusco Plaza

Address: Portal Espinar 142, Cusco 84, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Cusco
#32 Family Hotel in Cusco
#42 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Andina Classic - Cusco Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly convenient: under the colonial arcades of stately Plaza-Regocijo & around the corner from Cusco's beautiful Plaza de Armas. Guests of this hotel can't get much closer to the restaurants, bars, and shops that mark the Plaza de Armas of Cusco.The original Casa Andina hotel features a cozy fireplace lounge and top-floor breakfast room with unparalleled views of the Cathedral and the Plaza-de-Armas. Its elevator & central location are ideal for convenience-oriented independent travelers. Some of the services the hotel offers are: Internet Center, Wireless Internet service, ATM, laundry service and breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your Casa Andina Classic - Cusco Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Andina Classic - Cusco Plaza Hotel Cusco
Casa Andina Classic Hotel Cusco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Andina Classic - Cusco Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.