We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great staff and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dragonfly Hostels Cusco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dragonfly Hostels Cusco to your Saves list
Dragonfly Hostels Cusco
Calle Siete Cuartones 245, Cusco 84, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 245 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great staff and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stayed here for 3 weeks.And really enjoyed Julien and gracie.Always, very friendly.Went above customer service.Booked alot of trips through them also.Made alot of friendships here also.IF, you are looking for a quiet place but, friendly place.This, is the one you want to stay in.And, the
showers have hot water and great water pressure.thanks Julien and the best gracie!see you again next year!!

Room Tip: Stayed in three d7fferent room all were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CuscoDragonFly13, Manager at Dragonfly Hostels Cusco, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Michael,

Thanks for your review; we are really happy you enjoyed your time at the Dragonfly Hostels.

All the staff of the Dragonfly Hostels does their best for you to have a wonderful time. We make the balance between fun and chill out. We know and meet our guest needs.

This is a place where you can have a good time at the bar with friendly atmosphere and also a place where you can sleep peacefully to be ready for your trek.

See you next year Michael, I’m waiting here to do Choquequirao & Machu Picchu with you…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    34
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
8
45
42
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Dragonfly has soooo great service and there are soo great staff also!! They make my memories very memorable and worthy!! I can not forget dragonfly. And if i go cusco again i will definitely stay dragonfly !!! And grace is the best !!!! Luvya!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CuscoDragonFly13, Manager at Dragonfly Hostels Cusco, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Lyra,

Thanks you so much for your review, we do our best for our guest to enjoy the time they spend with us.

You brought a really good atmosphere to the Hostel and a great Staff like you say is all the time happy to help you to enjoy the beautiful city of Cusco.

Have a good and safe travel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We booked dragonfly due to the rave reviews on tripadvisor but we were so disappointed. It was quite far from the square compared to other hostels in the area and that was just the first of it. We arrived and were shown the double room we booked. It was right on the courtyard with no blinds and a door that didn't open properly. When we asked if there was any chance of changing rooms we wwre rudely told no that was it. After that we decided to find somewhere else to stay. They did refund half of our money but I would really recommend if you are a couple to stay somewhere else.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CuscoDragonFly13, Manager at Dragonfly Hostels Cusco, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear, Liberty and Andrew,

We are truly sorry to read this review. Our Backpacker hostel is the second closest one to the square (3 blocks away) is like 5 minutes walking . As we told you before the door of your room is a bit tricky to open and we are sorry our receptionist couldn’t explain you how it works and the windows have curtains. As we understand that we have some rooms that are in front of the courtyard we try to keep the music low so you can rest as pleasant as you can. We are not a party hostel.

Our first concern about your complaint was about our new receptionist behavior as we are well known about our nice and great customer service. We think there may be an English misunderstanding as we realize that our receptionist English is not fluent and she may try to explain that there was no other double room to switch. At the moment she is no longer working with us but we don't accept from any member of our staff this kind of attitude

As we heard this from you we charge you the 50% and not the 100% of the booking as a way to recompense you for the inconveniences. Also our invitation to have some drinks covered by the hostel still on.

We hope in the future you give us an opportunity to show you that our service is the best.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Best service especially from the front desk (Graciela). She welcomed us with warmth and love. We really do appreciate the hospitality from everyone! We would definitely return on our next holiday to cusco. :)
Good team work guys ! Xxxxxxxx

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CuscoDragonFly13, Manager at Dragonfly Hostels Cusco, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Rika,

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure for us to have you here in Dragonfly Hostel in Cusco.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do our best to make our guest feel like home during their stay.

All the staff gives the 200% of themselves to attend to the needs that our guest may have.
Hope you think about us in your next holiday.

Safe & Happy Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete, Panama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, the building is lovely, my room was very clean and the hostel is quiet - they close their bar at 10:30pm. This has got to be one of the best bargains in Cusco.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CuscoDragonFly13, Manager at Dragonfly Hostels Cusco, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Lucy,

It´s good to hear that you like our service. Our lovely housekeepers always do their best to keep the place clean and tidy. And we also worry about the sleep time of our guest so we close the bar at 10:30pm but our guest are free to keep partying at the bars and club that are just a few block away from us.

Thank again for your review and you trust in Dragonfly hostels Cusco
Hope hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed staying here very much. Very clean, spacious rooms, convenient location, good internet and very nice staff. And not unimportant, best hot showers we had in South America! Only point would be the laundry as we lost some as they mixed it up with somebody else his laundry but that's because they have outsourced it to another company. Would be better if the hostal would get its own washing machines. Staff did everything to fix it and I don't think it is a regular problem. Other than that this place is perfect. Thanks!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I stayed at this hostel before Christmas time. It was my first trip sleeping in a hostel and I couldn't ask for more!! The place is well decorated, colorful and charming, with great communal areas. The owners are adorable (especially the french accent), and they can help you plan anything you need, answer all questions, and even counsel you on nice restaurants around :) On top of that, who would think you could find a hostel with a microbrewerie in Cusco? That was a nice and delicious surprise!!

Room Tip: There are some privates rooms with your own bathroom/shower !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dragonfly Hostels Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragonfly Hostels Cusco

Address: Calle Siete Cuartones 245, Cusco 84, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 245 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dragonfly Hostels offer unique ambiance in the historical district of Cusco and is located only 2 blocks from the Plaza de Armas. Enjoy your stay in an authentic colonial house with great facilities at affordable prices. Enjoy our barbecue nights around the bar. Discover our microbrewery and try our brew of the month. Welcoming staff 24h/7, Free WiFi and common areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Dragonfly Hostels Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dragonfly Hostels Cusco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.