We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and beyond” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Piuray Hostal Cusco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Piuray Hostal Cusco to your Saves list
Piuray Hostal Cusco
Picchu San Martin Av, Tupac Amaru c-4 a 50 metros de la linea ferrea Como ir al colegio Simon Bolivar, Cusco 51084, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 244 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Above and beyond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

First up, I rarely give out 5 stars, because I always think there is something you can improve. However, for Piuray, I can't really think of anything. We stayed here for about 1 week or so and had a fantastic time. We stayed in a 6 bed dorm but were the only ones occupying it. The hostel is located about 15 minutes from Plaza de Armas (the last bit you'll have to huff and puff a bit - but hey, this is Cusco!), about 10 minutes from the Mercado and supermarket. It's at a lovely setting and from the terrace you have an excellent view of the city. The breakfast is superb! There are pancakes, eggs, bread, jam, coffee, tea, mate and a smoothie if you want to make your fruit blend of choice :) The kitchen is fully equipped and even the oven is working!!! A rare occasion and we totally took advantage of it, making a German version of Mac-n-Cheese and having dinner with the lovely owners. Aydee and Katy are fantastic ladies, they helped us from the very beginning with a pick-up from the bus station, storing our bags while we were on the Inca Trail and making us as comfortable as possible.
We would recommend this property to anybody, especially the room at the very end of the balcony where you see the city from your bed! Awesome.
Thank you girls!

Room Tip: 5-bed-dorm at the end of the balcony has an excellent view of the city :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
21
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed at Piuray for a total of eight days in July and made it our home base in Cusco. Aydee and Kathy were wonderful hosts. These women looked after us like family and made our stay with them one of the best experiences that we had in Peru. They make the best pancakes and the view of the city and mountains is spectacular. I loved eating beakfast on the trerrace each morning. The rooms were always clean, these women work very hard to keep the place spotless. The kitchen is humble with basic facilities, which was fine for us as the food is so good in Cusco that we ate out most nights. We were able to leave our bags for no charge while we went on trips for several days at a time. It's an easy short walk to the market and city centre and at night we would take a taxi back to the hostel.
The ladies scrubbed our filthy clothes after returning from the Amazon and alway went the extra distance to meet our needs.
The only reason that I do not give this five stars is that I would have liked to have had the option of hiring a heater for the room and hot water bottles and a shower mat for the cold tiles would have been a nice touch. Other than that this is a lovely hostel with fantastic staff that makes it a real treasure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Aydee met us at the bus terminal (to ensure we didn't get ripped off by taxi drivers) at 7am! She was lovely and friendly from the start. We had a great room with gas heated hot shower (heat on demand) and a really tasty breakfast prepared for us every day. It was great to have a kitchen too so that we could prepare our own meals if we wanted. The view over Cusco was great and it wasn't a bad walk into or out of town - although it is recommended to take a taxi at night. Nothing was too much trouble for Aydee and the other girl (sorry we didn't get your name) - they gave us loads of useful information about Cusco and the surrounding area and Aydee even walked us to the MP ticket office, which is (bizarrely) out of town a bit. I really can't say enough about how friendly the girls were. On top of that it was clean, well equipped and a haven to retreat to after more than one attempt at high altitude frolicking in Cusco.

Room Tip: I don't think there could be a bad room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiclayo, Peru
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed here for nine days in total. It's an easy ten min walk from the main square. Katie and Iyeedar are very friendly and helpful. Clean rooms and clean bathroom with hot shower! Great little kitchen for self caterers. We were able to leave our bags there whilst we did the inca trail for free. The hostel is generally nice and quiet compared to many places we have stayed in Peru. Highly recommend this hostel!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco, Peru
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I loved staying in Piuray Hostel, so much so that i extended my time in Cusco! Between being met at the airport, being provided with my own room, the gorgeous view and the welcoming personalities of the staff this cant be beat. I would recommend this to anyone who doesnt mind a 15min walk to their hostel and who would like to avoid over-priced and noisy city centre abodes.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed at Piuray during out time in Cusco (3 nights) in August. Even before we got to Peru, the hosts were fantastic. They were extrememly helpful and even both us our tickets to Machu Pichu for us. They were knowledgeable, friendly, and all round excellent people. The accomodation was also great, and in my opinion amongst the best bang for your buck when in Cusco. I Highly recommend them!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Some time ago I stayed a couple of days at Piuray Hostal Cusco. It is a cheap place but they offered a remarkable amount of service. The people you run the place Katy and Aydee just started half a year ago and really love their business and try to make the best out of it by helping their clients/visitors. In the morning you can have a wunderfull breadfast with a view to the whole historic centre of Cusco. I would say that this place is among the best when it comes to the comparison of quality and price. I also met a lost of nice people in the hostal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Piuray Hostal Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piuray Hostal Cusco

Address: Picchu San Martin Av, Tupac Amaru c-4 a 50 metros de la linea ferrea Como ir al colegio Simon Bolivar, Cusco 51084, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 244 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Piuray Hostal is located just 15 minutes from the main square. We offer 2 matrimonial rooms with private bathroom and 11 single beds with private bathroom, 12 single beds with shared bathroom. We have wifi connection, availability of the kitchen,hot water 24 hours and a nice view from our place. You will find here of our hostal a nice familiar atmosphere. We will help you in everything you need during your stay in Cusco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Piuray Hostal Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piuray Hostal Cusco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.