We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Around Lovely Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Mercado Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added El Mercado Hotel to your Saves list
El Mercado Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 7 Cuartones 306, Cusco 84, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 145 Hotels in Cusco
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“All Around Lovely Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This is a great boutique type hotel with a decent amount of rooms. However, the feel is rather quaint with a nice courtyard and neat outdoor seating features around the walkways. The included breakfast is very nice with a great variety of foods from local to international. You can order your eggs however you want and they have a juicing station and even a traditional Peruvian tea cart.

The rooms are all a little unique from each other. I was in a group so I saw a few. They are very nice with great bathrooms. The beds are great. My one warning would be to make sure you get a room away from the main street. The nose is very loud in those rooms (but not the others). After staying awake all night listening to dogs, trucks, and other loud sounds I requested to be moved. This was taken care of right away by the very nice and helpful front desk staff.

Lastly, the location is great. It is about three blocks from the main square and from there you have a lot around you. Really this is a wonderful hotel in a great location.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    20
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
66
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The El Mercado has recently been renovated after being purchased by Mountain Lodges of Peru.
It is part of a package of hotels for an REI trekking adventure we just returned from.
Whether you are on an REI trip or not, the hotel is a great choice to stay in Cusco!
It is located 3 blocks up from the Main Square (a 5 minute walk to, but maybe 10 minutes back, as it is uphill and you are above 11,000').

From the moment you arrive, you are treated wonderfully. With a welcome Coco Tea drink and a relaxing seat in the courtyard, the check in process is very stress free. We found all the staff to be very nice and helpful at all times. Organized around a small central courtyard, with complementary coffee and tea, this is a great place to hang out, catch your breath and meet other guests.

The rooms are clean, well appointed, and quite charming, we thought they were great.
(They are a bit small, and open to the bathrooms, if that might bother you).
Snack plates great you everyday, as do Chocolates on your bed at turndown service.
There is some noise, from either the street or the many dogs barking and running around Cusco.

The staff gave great recommendations on restaurants in town (try Greens, Chi Cha, or Limo) but the restaurant here is very good too! The food was excellent, and very reasonably priced.
The complementary homemade potato chips and accompanying dips are fantastic!
The bartender made great Pisco Sours, taking the time to teaching us how to make them properly.

The breakfasts were included, and a highlight!
Located in a separate basement area, there is a buffet of cheeses, meats, fruit, coffee and tea. Eggs and crepes can be ordered a variety of ways, but the specialty smoothie & juice bar and healthy tea bar are fantastic, you can get many varieties made up however you like them.

If you are on a long trekking tour, you can check some bags, and they are waiting for you in your new room upon your return. Mountain Lodges of Peru has thought everything through here, they truly made everything so easy and accommodating. But it is the helpfulness of the staff, and the calm relaxing courtyard that makes the hotel so special!
Highly recommend you consider this hotel.

Room Tip: The top floors do have some views of the City
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the El Mercado hotel in Cusco on 6/14/2014 after flying to Cusco from Lima. We found the hotel to be beautifully decorated and the staff very friendly and helpful. After returning to the hotel following a tour of Cusco we were trying to decide what to have for dinner. We had been advised to eat light so we looked at the hotel restaurant's soup menu. We found most of the soups had cheese, which my wife does not eat, so we asked the waitress what she might suggest. She said they always have Chicken Vegetable soup and she could serve it with fried potatoes. We ordered that for both of us and it was excellent. The hotel is centrally located very close to the town square, shops and restaurants. After going to the Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu we rode the train back to Cusco and returned to the hotel on 6/17, arriving about 8:00pm. We had stored our large bag at the hotel which they promptly delivered to our room after we checked-in. Since it was getting late, we went to the restaurant for some of their Chicken Vegetable soup again. It was just as good, if not better, this time as it was the first time. The next morning we were up early to catch the Andean Explorer train from Cusco to Puno and their breakfast room was open at 6:00am so travelers could eat before they went on their way. Both mornings the breakfasts were very good and the staff very friendly and helpful. If we return to Cusco we will definitely plan to stay at the El Mercado again.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back, our second room, are larger than the rooms in the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I am peruvian and I have been in Cusco many times and all type of hotels. But I may say this one of my favorite, it is cosy and especially different than the others. I may say this is a good way to show our culture.
Rooms: clean, good shower, pressure and temperature of water (sometime it is difficult to find in Cusco)
Breakfast: So good, so different than the other hotels, like if you were in "real market". For example, fresh juice, there is one person ready to prepare your favorite in front of you. Also, try the therapeutic andean refreshment.
Restaurant: quality and price very good. I tried a chicken quinua salad, and was good and the price good as well, comparing with other restaurants in Cusco.
Service: attentive.
Location: 3 blocks walking from Main Square.
Thank you Lalo, Alex, Fernando for making our stay so comfortable, hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

I really like this hotel. It's thematic and thought in every detail. The rooms may be a little bit small but clean, cosy and new. The staff used to leave fruits or sweets by the end if the day in the room, so nice! The restaurant has a restricted menu though.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel Islands, UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Probably one of the finest boutique hotels we've had the pleasure of using. Located in a quiet street, but just a few minutes walk from the main Squares of central Cusco. Rooms were very spacious, thoughtfully decorated and fitted out to a very high quality. Probably the best shower of all our time in Peru! We particularly liked the central courtyard area, where we kicked back on a couple of occasions enjoying a drink and reading in the late afternoon - really atmospheric...we thought it had something of a Moroccan feel to it. Staff were unfailingly helpful and polite. I couldn't fault the buffet breakfast, but a lot of what was on offer wasn't quite to our taste. However, the freshly made smoothie station was a really nice touch and the omelettes were scrummy! We had a bit of a problem with the arrangements for our airport transfer at the end of the trip (no fault of the hotel's, I should add), but the receptionist couldn't have been more helpful in getting on the phone and sorting it all out for us. Top marks all round!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

In our first trip to Peru, we went to Cusco and stayed in the El Mercado hotel! SO close to the main square and when we walked in the courtyard, it was so relaxing, sunny sky with puffy white clouds! Very comfy. Then when we went to our rooms - OMG! Outstanding! Loved the art in the halls and in the rooms. Lots of room, separate space for sink, shower and toilet (GREAT for more than one person!). And the staff were so kind and helpful! I LOVED this place!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Mercado Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mercado Hotel

Address: Calle 7 Cuartones 306, Cusco 84, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 145 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Mercado Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Mercado is Mountain Lodges of Peru’s new boutique hotel in the heart of Cusco. It is proof positive of the company’s total commitment to its guests, featuring original and eye-catching interiors and exceptional customer service that starts right at the very beginning of the adventure, in Cusco itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your El Mercado Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Mercado Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.