We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, service and experience!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seledonia's Waik'uc

Seledonia's Waik'uc
Calle Chihuampata 564, Cusco, Peru
+51 984 374 986
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 407 restaurants in Cusco
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Seledonia's Mesa is the place to be in Cusco if you want a familiar athmosphere and truly excellent local food! Lunch at Selia's (as friends call her) is a sunny and joyful experience in her warm, covered patio. And dining is like being home at a Cusco family, enjoying some of Cusco's finest dishes in a cozy athmosphere. Cooking classes are part of the experience, too: so you can take Seledonia's wonderful cuisine back home!
munich
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, service and experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

It's a pitty not to go. People would be missing something if they don't go to Sele's restaurant. Not only the food is amazing, the prices can't be any better!! they prepare the food once you order it, In the restaurant you can see her, Seledonia, but also her beautiful children helping and being there whenever they can. They are just lovely people which makes the whole experience a delight!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    70
    5
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Delicious Peruvian food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The food here is fantastic! I came back here a few times for both dinner and the menu lunch and was always impressed. Celia was really very lovely and I couldn't recommend this place highly enough!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matera, Basilicata, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The woman here, the owner, is absolutely lovely. She has a small little restaurant and it is too bad that people hardly now it. Also, the food was good and the atmosphere relaxed. We felt very welcome.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huaraz, Peru
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food, great service; great price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I encountered this restaurant by pure coincidence and honestly my first impressions wasn't very good. But as soon as I received the card from the 8-year old Merel, and saw really nice plates (and great translations in English). My interest was awoken ;-)
I asked for an ají de gallina, a plate that I've had many times during my 8 years here in Peru and it's like pasta bolognese; you can really tell whether you're dealing with a good cook or not.
I can say that this ají de gallina was possibly the best I've ever had in Peru!! Simply amazing. So since then, we've been back on many occasions and still love to go there. Good food for great prices and always served with a smile. See you there soon??

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“food made with love”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Seledonia, the owner and chef is a one of a kind woman. The food she makes is prepared with love and served with a smile. I would highly recommend checking this place out, you will feel welcomed and leave full and content.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seledonia's Waik'uc also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Seledonia's Waik'uc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seledonia's Waik'uc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.