We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Wara Wara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hostal Wara Wara to your Saves list
Hostal Wara Wara
Don Bosco 190, Cusco 08000, Peru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 275 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Room clean, hot water in shower, good breakfast, choice of bread, eggs and jam and the hosts make excellent evening meals that are a bargain at 20 soles per person. My husband also has food intolerances and the hostel was excellent in changing the breakfast and evening meals for him. Also both Miguel and Viviana are helpful in booking taxis and any trips you want to do. The views on the terracing of Cusco is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    41
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
125
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Firstly thank you Viviana Luciano and Miguel for making our stay the best we've had in South America. We have stayed in five star hotels to serviced apartments but this was by far the most memorable and enjoyable experience. The room are clean with beautiful sun kissed views of Cusco. The view from the living room is to die for.

The guys really look after you like a family. I saw many altitude sick travellers arrive in shoddy conditions but leave in full health after being looked after.

The food is spectacular - you cannot miss out on the breakfast and typical peruvian dinner.

In summary great hosts great views great food and unbelievably fabulous place to stay. Only drawback is we could not export The big Luciano to Australia. That baby is beautiful.

Be in touch guys!!!

Love from Aarathi and Sharad

Room Tip: The suite with views of Plaza De Armas
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahway, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hostal is so cute!!! and has wonderful views of Cusco's main Plaza. Miguel and Viviana were so helpful and nice. As soon as we got in they had our rooms ready and served us coca tea to help with the altitude. Miguel inmediately gave us a map of the city and pointed out all the things we could do in cusco (markets, museums and what ruins we could visit nearby). The first night we spent there they had some musicians come in and play traditional Peruvian music, which was very nice. Their food is also very good, had breakfast there eveyday. They also kept our luggage while we went to do the inka trail. The rooms were always very clean and on some of the colder nights they provided us with heaters. We really felt at home and it felt more like a bed and breakfast instead of just a hostel.

Although it is on a hill, we didnt mind the walks (we tried to avoid the stairs going up) and its just less than a 10 min. walk to the center of cusco.

PS. Their dog Tito is adorable!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

feels like home!
My husband and I spent 6 nights at Wara Wara last June. We had a wonderful stay: Miguel and Viviana are perfect hosts, extremely friendly and helfpul. From the moment they picked us up at the airport, we felt like we were in the company of long-date friends! The location is very nice, with a stunning view of Plaza De Armas and the surrounding mountains from the terrace. The common area is a perfect place to relax, make new friends and enjoyng the view of the thousands city lights at night. The city centre can be reached on foot in a few minutes. Breakfast is excellent, with fresh local food and fruit smoothies. Miguel is also an exellent cook. Highly recommended!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

First off, the owners (Miguel & Viviana) demonstrated excellent hospitality throughout our entire stay at their "hostel". To be honest, it was more like a Bed&Breakfast than a hostel as the owners lived there with their son and their dog Tito. For most Cuzco travelers and tourists, it's very easy to overlook this place because of the lack of reviews and the number of good reviews takes precedent over everything else when researching beforehand. With that said, our group of 8 people took a chance and felt we had made an excellent decision with Hostal Wara Wara.

Pros
- Free Wi-Fi
- Free Breakfast
- Hot shower water
- Clean rooms
- Miguel & Viviana speak good english
- Miguel was very helpful tending to needs (Directions to places, recommendations for restaurants, calling cabs etc.)
- Spectacular view of the Cuzco at night
- 10 min walk from Sacsayhuaman (a must see Inca Ruin in Cuzco)

Cons
- Location (almost a none factor because a cheap 5 sole 5 minute taxi ride up the hill soles this issue; walking down to the plaza takes literally 5 minutes)
- Rooms can get a bit cold (but each bed is provided with 2 warm wool blankets)

Room Tip: If possible, request for rooms #6 and #7 as they are away from the common area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Wara Wara is run by a nice international couple - Peruvian girl (Viviana) and Argentenian guy (Miguel). Together they make a great job helping people in Cusco to get around and have a decent accomodation. In our experience the hostal had reliable Wi-Fi connection and hot water. All our humble requests for breakfast transfer (or for example preparation of the eggs in advance because we had to leave early) were met with understanding and had no objection. That was appreciated.
The hostel also has a nice balcony with a beautiful view on Cusco. It is worth the money paid!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We ended our nearly 3 week trip to both Ecuador and Peru with a 3 night stay at Hostal Wara Wara. We arrived exhausted from a full day climbing Huayna Picchu, the train ride to Cusco and a long taxi ride from the Poroy station. We needed dinner, but didn't really want to go back out - either by foot or in a taxi. Enter Miguel who, even though it was late, offered to whip us up some dinner - pasta and burgers and a Peruvian bottle of wine - which left us all happy and definitely feeling like a guest in an old friend's home.
We had two rooms (one for the adults, one for the 3 kids) which were just the right size, nicely decorated and cozy (once we procured a space heater - necessary in August!). Only downside is bathrooms had little ventilation and remained moist all day.....but were perfectly functional, especially for the price.
Location is great, with a suberb view of the Plaza de Armas and almost all of Cusco. It's only only a short walk to the ruins of Sacsayhuaman. It is a bit of an uphill walk to get to Wara Wara from the square, but for anyone who has been hiking at all in Peru, it will be no big deal. Taxis are available, but we mostly walked everywhere.
Viviana and Miguel (and their adorable son Luciano) are wonderful hosts - making delicious breakfasts, engaging in conversation, making recommendations and/or reservations, arranging taxis. We weren't there very long, but we were sad to say goodbye!
I'd recommend to anyone who is looking for a place to stay with personalized attention.....a nice little home away from home!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Wara Wara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Wara Wara

Address: Don Bosco 190, Cusco 08000, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 275 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 3 blocks away from the main square, it is a luminous and spacious place with a panoramic view to the downtown historic area...The hotel counts with 6 rooms, including dobles, triples, and bridals, all of them with their own private bathroom and hot water all day.We offer the following services: American Breakfast, Wifi Internet, Luggage Room, and optional Transportation to the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com and T4B so you can book your Hostal Wara Wara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Wara Wara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.