We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Los Apus Hotel & Mirador

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Los Apus Hotel & Mirador to your Saves list
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Atocsaycuchi 515 | Corner With Choquechaca Street, Cusco 00000, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 145 Hotels in Cusco
LJ54
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

location is great, heating does not work, value was very good, staff cook the bfast but two of them couldn't boil an egg. We got a heavily discounted price, but i wouldn't pay full price to stay here. The woman at the front desk was awesome, then men were not very helpful

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    113
    23
    10
    5
See reviews for
37
123
46
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Good hotel located in a great spot near Plaza de Armas del Cuzco. The heaters in the room didn't work too well and the hot water took awhile to get hot. Other than that, the staff was very nice and the rooms were big enough.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

I stayed for my last night in Cusco at Los Apus. I really enjoyed it. The room was warm with beautiful wooden beams in the ceiling. The enclosed central courtyard that served for a lobby was lovely. The only problem I had was that my room was right over the lobby and I could hear other guests planning their day. It was mostly very quiet and I think most of the other rooms were not quite as close to the action as mine. The staff was very helpful, they even let me stay past check out since my flight wasn' t until the afternoon. Location was excellent, just five minutes from the main square.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at Los Apus from June 13 through June 18 and then an extra night after the four-day Inca Trail hike. The hotel is a converted Inca temple and is beautifully decorated with some original Inca artifacts. Reservations and questions prior to our trip were quickly answered and arranged. Their daily rates were very reasonable and the reason we decided to stay for five full nights to acclimatize prior to our Inca Trail adventure. The hotel manager, Sr. Luis, and the rest of the front desk staff, were very helpful and accommodating throughout our stay. The breakfast server, Victor Hugo, always made sure our order of eggs was cooked to our liking and made sure preferred items were available. The hotel provides a complimentary breakfast with eggs made to order. There was also 24-hour set up of coca tea, which really helped us combat altitude sickness. We had two different rooms, both with balconies, which we loved despite the cold temperatures. The rooms were cold at times as the central heating did not appear to be working during our stay. The hotel staff provided us with space heaters during our stay, which did the job of warming the room and our Floridian blood. The bathrooms had great water pressure and hot water and were always well maintained. The rooms were on the small side but we saw bigger ones without the balcony. We loved the location in the San Blas neighborhood. It was close to everything yet away from the noise and hustle of the main square. The main square was a quick 7- minute walk. There were plenty of convenience stores, restaurants and laundry places nearby. The hotel kept our bags and valuables while we went on the Inca Trail. They have a secure safe in the reception area and we did not hesitate to leave our valuables and excess currency with them. When we got back, we were received with the key for the same room we had vacated 4 days earlier. Our luggage was already in our room. This was really a nice touch, as we just wanted to shower and collapse in bed after the trail and Machu Picchu. All in all, I highly recommend this hotel for your stay in Cusco.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Small boutique hotel in a very nice area of Cusco, perfect sleep, the bed feature douvets (first time in South America!!). Welcoming staff and beautiful rooms, some with original Inka walls! Althought it had a big variety, breakfast was nothing to write home about. Highly recommended though!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I stayed at Los Apus from June 21st through June 26th in the morning. What I found was an extraordinary and polite staff, a delicious breakfast every morning and a nice and beautifully restored old house. They offer also free wi-fi. My room was spacious and kept clean every day, and every time I returned from a tour, usually late in the afternoon, I always found my room (209) in immaculate condition, clean and tidy. The bed was extremely comfortable. They have hot water also, a must in Cuzco. The views from the terrace are beautiful also, specially in the morning. And the location is ideal (San Blas neighborhood), just few blocks away from the main attractions in Cuzco city.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, CA
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I recommend Los Apus as the hotel to stay in Cusco hands down. Peru can be a bit frustrating sometimes but Los Apus is always on top of things.

The location is great- not right on top of all of the touristy things but still within walking distance of everything.

The rooms were very comfortable. We loved the balconies and it was great having hot water (not sure that all of the hotels do in Cusco).

The staff was awesome. They're a bit reserved but they go out of their way to make sure that you enjoy your stay. One of the friends with me was having a birthday while we were there and they had a wonderful cake for him that day.

Breakfast is included and it's large and delicious. And the constant supply of Coca tea is a nice touch for help with altitude sickness.

And they have a rooftop patio with a great view. I think that sometimes they serve food but we were able to bring our own drinks up and enjoy it.

Room Tip: Second floor with balconies have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Apus Hotel & Mirador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Apus Hotel & Mirador

Address: Atocsaycuchi 515 | Corner With Choquechaca Street, Cusco 00000, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Cusco
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#31 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Los Apus Hotel & Mirador 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning cosy colonial hotel, twenty exquisitely decorated rooms, central heating system, four rooms with balconies. All with wooden floors, german soundproof windows, extra-long beds (205cm), 32" LED Tv's with cable, in room safe, free WIFI, smoke detectors, direct dial telephone and private bath with tub or shower. El Mirador Restaurant & Bar and its terrace for unforgettable landscapes, or the cosy El Patio Restaurant, featuring international and regional cuisine. Location: Quietly nestled in the foothills of the unspoiled historical site of San Blas, three blocks away from the Plaza de Armas, its restaurants and souvenirs shops. Just 10 minutes from the Velasco Astete International Airport and 30' from the Poroy rail station to Machu Picchu. Accommodations: 20 tastefully decorated rooms, four with balconies, wooden floors, German soundproof windows to the exteriors, extra-long beds (205cm), 32" LED Tv's with cable, central heating, in room safe and free Wi-Fi, smoke detectors, direct dial telephone, private bath with tub or shower. Non-smoking and challenged guest rooms available. Restaurants: "El Mirador Restaurant & Bar" and its terrace for unforgettable landscapes, or the cosy "El Patio Restaurant", featuring international and regional cuisine. Facilities: Wireless internet access in all areas including the rooms. Mail service, safe, oxigen, laundry, fax and money exchange. Hair dryers upon request. Doctor on request. Flight and train reservations service. Free transportation from the airport. Free Coca teas at "El Patio" as well as any other kind of tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Los Apus Hotel & Mirador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Apus Hotel And Mirador
Los Apus Cusco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Apus Hotel & Mirador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.