We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good choice for Cusco” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Balcon-Cusco Hostel

Save Saved
You added El Balcon-Cusco Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Balcon-Cusco Hostel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Tambo de Montero 222, Cusco 5184, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 235 Cusco B&B and Inns
Terrace, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“a good choice for Cusco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

if you want a place with character, great views, and quiet, choose El Balcon. It has a great breakfast and we loved the staff. We had some problems with hot water one night, and a poor tv connection another, but just telling them meant it would be fixed and that means everything. The travel agency associated with it, Green Peru Adventures, can offer you great advice and we found Roland to be very knowledgeable and honest about what we could expect and what he recommended. The view from El Balcon is great, it's like living in a garden and museum, quite lovely! We did have an issue with the price creeping up but pointing it out fixed that, just a warning.

Room Tip: top floor has best views but there are a few more stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    44
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
10
49
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I highly recommend this hotel in Cusco. The site is beautiful. The staff is super accomodating. Prices are slightly higher for the area, but worth it for what you get. A staff member of the hotel met my flight and picked me up from the airport to get me to the hotel. They had a full breakfast included each day with all day tea service (Mate de Coca for altitude ease). Dinner was also available if one wanted. I loved everything about my stay there!

Room Tip: We had the Premium Family room which was 2 rooms with 3 beds total for $145 per night. This gave us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed here twice on work trips and was always very happy - the rooms are large and the balcony setting atmospheric - I wouldn´t recommend it for families with toddlers though.
The breakfast is very good, but even better is the room it is served in - a great place to also chat or even work in the evenings.
Since there are only a few rooms it can fill up easily, but that also means that the hotel never seems crowded.
It is in a hidden steep street - away from the noise in the centre, but easy to get to the main square on foot only a few blocks down.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

What a great place. Minutes away from the Center of town, but yet totally peaceful. What a fantastic view of the city from the balcony . Friendly and very helpful staff for whatever questions we had. Good food. A beautiful garden, very nicely decorated rooms and comfortable beds. They stored our luggage for free and we could travel light to Machu Pichu and other places, but we always came back to our "home away from home". I highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Beautiful panoramic views from the upstairs balcony rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

El Balcon is so fantastic, they collect you from the airport for free, have free wifi and a yummy fresh breakfast. The rooms are clean, big, comfy and really colonial feeling with hot, powerful showers and safes.

The location is great, close to the Plaza das Armas and its balcony has stunning panoramic views over all of Cusco. Get a bottle of Cusquena beer and watch the sun go down!

They also have a travel office who are really helpful and great for booking day excursions with as well as a very cheap laundry for all your rank clothes after the Inca trail!!

Hostel really doesn’t sum up El Balcon, it’s much more than that, except for the price which is so cheap! I really can’t recommend it enough.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Located on a hill (well, that's pretty much all of Cusco!), you walk up to your clean, comfortable room, settle in and go to the dining area for coca tea and maybe use the internet to tell your friends back home that it's all good! The staff is totally dedicated to helping you, when necessary. Breakfast is hearty... eggs, cereal, yogurt, fruit, toast, juice, tea, coffee (they do that weird Peruvian version of concentrate and added water) to get you energized for your day in Cusco. Like most places in Peru, the hot water is a little temperamental, but nothing to get ruffled about. Beds are so comfy, great pillows - you WILL get a good sleep! We stashed our luggage, went to Machu Pichu, came back here, went to the Amazon and came back again. Why not? It was like our home in Peru!

Room Tip: See if any rooms on the top floor, with balconies, are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

El Balcon saved our vacation! We were staying at a different hostel which had fungus in the two rooms that we stayed in.
We went for a walk and found a wonderful blue door with ornate faces and buzzed and when we looked in a beautiful garden and a wonderfully friendly staff appeared and made it possible for us to stay. thank you! The second floor has an amazing view of Cusco and breakfast is simple and good along with dinner. The tourist police are right down the hill so it makes it feel safe to walk up the stairs to the hostel at night before ten PM, for sure. The owner and his wife are very friendly and welcoming and appreciate your being there to share their house with them! We, my husband and myself met the most friendly and kind individuals. El Balcon is a very special place, please enjoy and respect what it has to offer.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Balcon-Cusco Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Balcon-Cusco Hostel

Address: Tambo de Montero 222, Cusco 5184, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 235 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Balcon-Cusco Hostel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Tambo de Montero 222, Cusco, three blocks from the main plaza or Plaza de Armas. The house was constructed on top of Incan agricultural terraces. Since the Inca era, a Tambo was considered a place of rest for travelers and tradesmen similar to that of a hotel or inn. Official documents for the house, El Balcon, date back to the 1630s and because of its location and architecture it was most likely the house of Don Pedro de Montero de Espinosa, Potuguese merchant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your El Balcon-Cusco Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcon Hotel Cusco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Balcon-Cusco Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.