We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel

Save Saved
You added Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel
Mantas 114, Cusco, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 144 hotels in Cusco
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great location!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Location: In the center of Plaza de Armas. Very convenience to find food, to shop, to sight seeing. Because the hotel is located in the heart of the city, so I could hear some traffic on the street, but it's acceptable, cause I like to see the view from my room.

Hotel provides heater which is good during my stay (Christmas).
Breakfast is ok.
Service: I asked the hotel for the possibility of early breakfast at 5.20am and hotel arranged it for me that was very nice and kind.
Room Decoration: Modern and clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    45
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
31
49
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The newly renovated and very modern hotel Plaza de Armas in Cusco was a great experience. The room had everything and the best part was the friendly staff especially Madelaine who went out of their way to be accomodating and all were a complete pleasure. What a difference from the old Plaza de Armas...RECOMMENDED COMPLETELY!!

Room Tip: book the king superior......the suite if you want a lounge area and an oversized jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
short hills, NJ USA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The location is right on the square, which can be loud (bring ear plugs), but it is very convenient and so beautiful. The breakfast restaurant & bar/cafe has a balcony right over the Plaza. The rooms are small but efficient (bedside lights, duvets, etc. ) and clean & crisp. Not hugely charming but much prefer the new, contemporary Peruvian look to most of the competing hotels which are older and more cluttered.
We stayed 3 nights - on 2 of them there was no turndown service and on the 3rd there was.
Breakfast was delicious.

Room Tip: The room with the slanted ceiling is much bigger & nicer than the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

That was the last stop in Peru for me.However,I have to say that was a perfect ending for me as well.The hotel was located on the main plaza,that was great and very convenient.In addition,their room are very clean,stuff are very friendly and helpful.I stayed there for 5 days,I felt so cozy just like at home.The view from the second floor was great if you have enough time to enjoy your Pisco.I am so glad I have stayed 5 days there in Peru.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Pros: friendly and helpful staff, nice clean rooms, stylishly decorated, comfortable beds, great breakfast.

Cons: can be noisy. Our room (3rd floor) faced out onto the intersection of Avenue del Sol and Ave. Marquez, which seemed to have traffic till about 1am and then again starting around 4am. I have a feeling that the rooms facing out onto the Plaza would be quieter (traffic always flowing one way?), and certainly the interior rooms would be quieter still.

We really enjoyed the hotel though. The location was ideal -- close to major sights, great restaurants, fun neighborhoods and good shopping. We would definitely return, just with earplugs next time! Or maybe we'd try the altitude medicine -- that might have affected our ability to sleep soundly also.

Room Tip: If a quiet night's sleep is important to you, choose an interior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed 2 separated nights at this hotel. Both rooms were really nice and clean. The staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel is right at Plaza de Armas, the best place to be in Cuzco, near everything.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I traveled with a group of 4 other people. We all agreed that Plaza de Armas hotel set the bar high for the rest of our stay in Peru. It is perfectly located right in the center. I would recommend bringing earplugs though because the great location comes at a cost noise wise and it was pretty loud outside with beeping, whistling, music, and cannons going off (yes, cannons...every morning). That is the only negative thing I can say though. The rooms were clean and attractive. The bed I shared with my husband was huge and very comfortable. The shower had great water pressure and no "too hot, too cold" issues. It has a great rooftop that we all sat out on at night for drinks. We were also on the 4th floor which has a separate sitting/bar area that we were able to sit in at night and talk and relax.The staff were friendly and welcoming. They were able to call and set up a van/cab for us to take for the day to visit various sites we wanted to see in the Sacred Valley. I would recommend this hotel to any friends or family I had visiting Cusco.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with friends I would recommend the 4th floor to have a nice sitting area. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel

Address: Mantas 114, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 144 hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plaza de Armas Cusco Hostal is located in one of the most iconic buildings in downtown Cusco, right on the Plaza de Armas (main plaza). It boasts an incredible view to Cuzco's old baroque-style cathedral and beautiful churches and stone buildings from the ancient Inca time. Enjoy the charming service and the unique location just steps from the major tourist attractions, best restaurants and handicraft markets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.