We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in a sea of attractions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orquidea Real Hostal

Save Saved
You added Orquidea Real Hostal to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Orquidea Real Hostal
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   Alabado 520 | San Blas, Cusco, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #51 of 236 Cusco B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A gem in a sea of attractions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed here with my partner and two friends on our month long trip through Peru. This by far stood out as the most memorable of places we stayed at. The architecture of the hotel is really different and If you are expecting your normal mini fridge and flat screen style hotel look elsewhere. If you are looking to immerse yourself into a different culture and be within walking distance to the main Plaza this is the place to go. The front desk was great in offering tips on how to take the local buses to sites in the Sacred Valley and also helpful with restaurant recommendations. They also offer a shuttle service to pick you up from the Airport which was extremely helpful as the altitude immediately hits you and may be disorienting at first. The overall service of Orquidea was prompt and friendly and if I ever find myself in Cusco again I would most definitely stay here. They had complimentary wifi and a morning breakfast the helps cut down on costs which I really took advantage of!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    33
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
10
23
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here for two nights after we went to Machu Picchu. The staff was very helpful, the breakfast filling, and rooms massive. This is a great value for the cost ($55). It was very easy to walk to all the intown historical sites and great restaurants.

The room itself is a little dated but it was clean and very large. The bathroom was more modern and the hot water consistent.

Room Tip: second floor rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We spent a total of four nights here and were very content. Loved the beamed ceilings, tile floors, and rustic charm of the rooms. They were attractive and clean, and the electric heaters warmed things up enough to keep us comfortable in the chilly Cusco winter. We also appreciated the extra blankets in the dresser, the hot showers, and the steady supply of hot tea in the lobby. Breakfast was tasty but didn't vary beyond eggs cooked to order, bread and jam, fresh juice, and coffee or tea. Hotel staff were always pleasant, they happily stored our bags for 3 days while we were trekking, and they gave us a good rate on a larger room when we returned. However, they did not seem prepared to offer advice about booking any tours, helping us buy bus tickets, or assisting with arrangements other than calling taxis. Fortunately, the hotel is very close to the main plaza, with tons of tour companies nearby (as well as shops and restaurants). One caveat about the location: the hotel is not set right on the street; to reach the front door, you have to climb stairs up a pedestrian passageway. The climb can be daunting until you get used to the altitude, but the upside is that the hotel is very quiet (there's no street noise, though you may hear other guests walking past your room when they come or go). Only other drawback was that there was only one computer for guests to use, and it was out of order part of the time we were there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at this property, a good property with Very Poor Customer Service. Checked in late at 10:00 pm. After check in asked the girl at the front desk what time was the check out and she said 8:00 am, so I requested if it is possible to check out later. She said No, but later agreed for 9am, and said if later I have to pay 25% of the one day rent, because they have someone coming in that day. But next day during check out I asked another girl at the front desk, who was nice, and she said no issues I could have checked out little later, because they had no one coming till 2:30 PM that afternoon.

Also the beds were squeaking and made noise.

The first front office girl had very bad attitude.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stay here for 6 nights and also left my luggage here when I visited Machu Picchu. Staff are helpful and friendly, just make your requests. It's a very affordable place so you get what you pay. Clean and cosy rooms and very near the the main square & restos so location is ideal. Room had a heater which was ideal for me. Bed and pillows were a bit too soft/flat for me though. You can also requests for the type of eggs u want for breakfast plus coca tea or coffee.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Very nice hotel, good location, excellent staffs. They are very kind, help me to carry the luggage. Inform me tour messages....
The hotel is on the hill. Therefore, you can see the beautiful views of Cuzco.
The breakfast is served early, nice room. I love everything from this hotel and Cuzco

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed here for the 2 days I was in Cusco. Small, narrow building, and rooms (at least mine) somewhat dingy because of limited natural lighting, but its location and the most accommodating of staff more than make up. Barely a five-minute walk to decent restaurants, even a supermarket. A mere three blocks from the Plaza de Armas. While the hostel requires a 45- or 50-step climb up a kind of side alley to reach its doors, that's actually a good thing, since its distance from the busy street below keeps the place quiet. To my amazement, the fab staff were there at steps' bottom when my taxi arrived to help me with my luggage, and accorded me the same selfless assistance upon my departure. In fact, during my entire stay all were most eager to help in any way possible. A pleasant, included breakfast is served starting at 5:00 AM in a sunny upstairs dining room with views of the surrounding city. Very enjoyable stay. I would go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orquidea Real Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orquidea Real Hostal

Address: Alabado 520 | San Blas, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 236 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Orquidea Real Hostal 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orquidea Real Hostal come to life from the restoration of an old colonial house located in the historical heart of Cusco. Its architecture keeps to tradition and colonial style and thus blends beautifully with its surroundings. The hostal's original Inca walls , its exceptional views of Cusco , the ceilings with visible wooden beams, make it very cozy and unique . Hot and cold water supply is guaranteed day and night by means of an underground reserve of 400 liters per bathroom which complies with European standards. Orquidea Real Hostal Guests can take pleasure in touring the city's top attractions: Qoricancha temple, The Catedral, Main Square, San Blas neighborhood, inka Musseum, etc The hotel features 10 appointed guest rooms each one with cable television, safety box, electric heater, hair dryer, also some of them with balcony/terrace. The facilities and services provided by Orquidea Real Hostal ensure a pleasant stay for guests. To name a few of the hotel's facilities, good location, bilingual staff, tours information , Wi-Fi in public areas and storage service for free.. Enjoy our unique friendly atmosphere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Orquidea Real Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orquidea Real Hostal Hotel Cusco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orquidea Real Hostal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;