We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Ruinas in Cusco Peru” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ruinas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ruinas to your Saves list
Hotel Ruinas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Ruinas # 472 | A dos cuadras de la Plaza de Armas, Cusco 084, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 147 Hotels in Cusco
Regina, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hotel Ruinas in Cusco Peru”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

While on a guided trip to Machu Picchu with Lobstick Travel we stayed two nights in the Hotel Ruinas in Cusco. It is a three level walk-up, but it is very neat and clean with very friendly staff. They provide meals in a dining area and the food was very good. A bus picked us up at the door to take us to the train station for our journey to Machu Picchu.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to any one doing this trip.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    66
    23
    5
    0
See reviews for
27
64
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

We stayed here for three nights before doing the inca trail and for one night after. The staff were welcoming and helpful and we were able to leave some bags and use the hotel safe whilst on the trek. Rooms are basic but decent and clean, and breakfast is simple but tasty. Well located in cusco and felt safe walking back to hotel at any hour.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaii
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

Beware, the building next door is under construction, so if you like to wake up early to the sound of jackhammers this is the place for you. I know they can't help that a hotel is being built next door and they did refund our second night as we had to move to a place where we could get some sleep.Wish they would have said something to us first. We were taken to a room on the 3rd floor but it was 90 degrees with no ventilation, so we were moved to a room right next to the construction noise. I could tell that they weren't happy about losing business due to the noise. We were told they would pick us up complimentary from the airport, but when I said we were coming in on the train they charged us for pick up.
Perhaps another time this would have been a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

The staff were attentive and bilingual which was helpful. Location is convenient though construction next door was noisy and nessitated closed curtains for privacy from workmen. The room with "matrimonial" bed was a bit small for a week long stay with two people needing some inroom workspace. Breakfast buffet was nice and varied. My blackberry "disappeared" from the restaurant the last day of my stay.

Room Tip: I do believe room size varies. Ask to see your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Arrived in the middle of the night after 3/4 day trek toMacchu Picchu. Staff are very welcoming and friendly, nothing too much trouble. Comfortable beds, hot water, great buffet selection at breakfast. Wifi available and local quality restaurants nearby with main square just a five minute walk

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Great location and excellent service from a really friendly staff. Rooms were kept spotless (they even arranged our daughter's stuffed animals on the bed). Coca tea available all day for free. Beds were comfortable, only it was very noisy during the day from building going on next door.
Don't drink the coffee at breakfast- otherwise great food, especially the fresh fruit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

First of all I have to thank the guy at the reception, he had been really helpful and of great assistance. They kept our laggagues while we stayed in Aguas Calientes for two days, furthermore they helped us booking the hotels in Aguas Calientes and for this I have to thank the lady running the Ruinas travel services (100 meters away from the hotel).
The room was big and very nice, the shower hot and full power. Great breakfast too.
Anything you would ask to a 5 star hotel I think.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ruinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruinas

Address: Calle Ruinas # 472 | A dos cuadras de la Plaza de Armas, Cusco 084, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Cusco
#40 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ruinas 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two blocks from the Main Plaza. 15 minutes from the airport. 10 minutes from Sacsayhuaman. Very close to Qoricancha temple, San Blas neighborhoord, Museums, Churches.WiFi. Buffet breakfast included. Restaurante. Bar. Laundry service. Babysitter. Money change. Credit card and cash payment. Airport pickup. Tourist information. Pay parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Ruinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruinas Hotel Cusco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ruinas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.