We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel In Cusco” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rumi Punku

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rumi Punku to your Saves list
Hotel Rumi Punku
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Choquechaca 339, Cusco, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #13 of 145 Hotels in Cusco
Los Altos, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel In Cusco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Rumi Punku for 5 nights (3 before Machu Picchu and 2 after) last week. Both of the rooms were very comfortable. The hotel held our bags while we were visiting MP. The hotel had Karina pick us up at the airport when we arrived from Lima. The pickup is included in the price of the room. Karina then arranged our taxi rides for us to and from the train station for Machu Picchu and a tour of the Sacred Valley. The hotel staff was always friendly and helpful. The included breakfast was not large but sufficient and included fresh fruit and eggs cooked to order. Of course there is plenty of coca tea to help relieve the altitude issues. The location is very good being close to Plaza de Armas. There are many great restaurants within a 5 minute walk. Note that there are at least 3 laundries within a one minute walk of the hotel so don't over pack. We definitely recommend Rumi Punku and would stay there again.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    280
    47
    18
    3
See reviews for
171
442
73
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We found this hotel to be delightful, charming and well located with many restaurants, shops and attractions within walking distance. The hotel has historic charm, is well maintained and provides a filling breakfast buffet. We stayed 3 nights then left for 1 to go to MP and then came back for 1 more night. The staff held our luggage for our return and placed it in our room upon our arrival back. We were in room 401 which has a great view of the city and a picturesque balcony to enjoy it. The city can be somewhat noisy at night and early morning with barking dogs and firecrackers, so use the earplugs they provide in the room. The staff were helpful and securing services we requested and we thoroughly enjoyed the massage we had in our room. The two massage therapists they employ did a great job. As we were coming back to the hotel after our trip to MP, we set up a second massage for the day after our return and we are so glad that we did.

Room Tip: Make a massage appointment - you will be so glad you did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ede, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Rumi Punku is a very nice hotel in the historic center of Cusco close to the Plaza del Armas. It is a well maintained property in a nice area with lots of bars, restaurants and small shops and laundries. The hotel looks historical and is much bigger then you would expect from outside with 3 inner courtyards. Decoration is very nice. Airport transfer was complimentary and well arranged. Check in easy and attentive with extra information regarding the city and tours. The room was nice with TV and free wifi and a refrigerator. There was a bathroom with shower. Amenities were basic. A in room safe was available. Beds were quite hard to sleep in so I had some trouble sleeping. Also the rooms were not soundproof and during the night guests coming back were quite disturbing. The only negatives I would say. Breakfast buffet was good. Price quality good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

What a wonderful hotel. The attention to detail was great. It's spotless but more than that, it's beautiful. The rooms we stayed in were both lovely, even the small one was nice. The hotel is located a short walk from the plaza des Adams (the main square) and all the restaurants and shops. I'd stay here again!

There is no pooling I can't figure out how to remove the rating below. If they had a pool it would be lovely too.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor get more sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Spent 4 nights at Rumi Punku (3 before MP and 1 after). Very please with property, room, staff, operations and location. Really liked the small feel of it achieved by the layout: rooms arranged around 3 different courtyards plus a terrace leading to top floor. Courtyards are landscaped extremely well with period and native furnishings. Lounge area comfortable and at morning b'fast, wood stove burning to take chill out of air. 3rd world price to do laundry after return from MP.

Easy walk to San Blas and Plaza De Armas

Cons: Wifi so, so, but it was always there. Bathroom fairly modern but tight. On arrival room had 2 complimentary bottles of water, but never got them again. (Very minor point, however, since store right down street sell bottles for under $1, and I could have always bought from mini-bar.)

Bottom Line: No hesitation to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bountiful, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Rumi Punku is very professional and surpassed our expectations upon our arrival and during our stay. Most of the staff speaks English very well and was extremely helpful and courteous to myself and my family. The breakfast (5 am - 10 am) was very good and hardy (eggs, bacon/sausages, cheese, ham, breads, butter, jam, 2 kinds of yogurt, milk, cereal, grains, fresh fruits, freshly squeezed fruit juices, coffee, teas & hot chocolate). When we needed a taxi, the staff was more than willing to call a service to come pick us up. We had clothes washed, used irons, and got suggestions on where to go eat/visit with no problems. We also stored our luggage for a night when we went to Aguas Calientes/ Machu Picchu for a very minimal cost and in a secure place. We never felt like we had reason to mistrust the staff, and after several days of staying there, no longer put things our security box (which is also provided) with no problems. We never had problems with being too cold or too hot in the room. There were plenty of blankets and heater just in case.

The only thing that I would clarify is the 'high speed' internet. If you are expecting speeds = to that found in the states, you will be VERY disappointed. The speeds are about that of dial up.

Room Tip: I believe #307 (a room my aunt and uncle got) had 3 nice big windows overlooking the courtyard and m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had to acclimatise for a couple of days before setting off on a 4 day trek. This place was perfect. Well located. Good rooms. Clean. Good staff. Great breakfast.......available from 05.30am. And they store your bags when you're trekking. Nice place to return post trek as well.

Room Tip: They all looked good to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rumi Punku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rumi Punku

Address: Choquechaca 339, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cusco
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rumi Punku 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Rumi Punku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumi Punku Hotel
Rumi Punku Cusco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rumi Punku, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.