We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind, helpful staff, overall a great hotel in Cusco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rumi Punku

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rumi Punku to your Saves list
Hotel Rumi Punku
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Choquechaca 339, Cusco, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 145 Hotels in Cusco
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Kind, helpful staff, overall a great hotel in Cusco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My two friends and I stayed in a three bed private room at Rumi Punku this past weekend. The service is incredible! We had separate flights and the hotel arranged for free airport pick-ups for each of us. They gave us a great recommendation for a pollo a la brasa restaurant (Peruvian rotisserie chicken) called Los Toldos on Almagro and El Sol. The hotel is well located, too. About a 10 minute walk to the main square, Plaza Del Armas, and a 15 minute walk to the PeruRail train station where you buy tickets to Machu Picchu. There are street markets all over Cusco selling the exact same souvenirs. The one closest to the hotel - a 2 minute walk - is especially well-priced.

The breakfast was fresh tropical fruit - kiwi, papaya, mango, melon - freshly squeezed passion fruit and orange juices and crispy croissants. They will serve you eggs at no charge - just ask! Overall, we had an amazing experience in Peru. The people are so kind and welcoming, the hotel is clean and the beds comfortable. I highly recommend Rumi Punku for your stay in Cusco.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    281
    48
    19
    3
See reviews for
172
444
75
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
baltimore
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel two years ago, and we are back. While our room is rather basic, we love this place because it has a beautiful court yard, comfortable living area and beautiful dining room. The staff at the front desk is also very helpful and quick with excellent recommendations and bookings. Furthermore, it has an excellent location -- just a few minutes from the main square and all the actions. If you decide to stay at this hotel, be sure to communicate with the hotel your flight number. Someone will wait for you at the airport (it is a free service).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The Rumi Punku is a nice clean hotel with very good service. The rooms were big with comfy beds and clean modern en suite bathrooms. The breakfast which is included is good and my only complaint would be that as most if not all of the rooms look out over courtyards within the hotel most mornings people there were poeple up and about very early getting ready to go to the airport or start treks. This woke me up 2 of the 5 nights we stayed there. Most hotels around the area seemed to be a similar layout however so it wouldn't put me off staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for a few nights before heading off on a trek and then the night we got back, found the service excellent an they also helped me book bus tickets as my Spanglish wouldn't be the best. Also on the night we returned from our trek (which was the longest day ever by the way) they had our bags waiting for us in the room which wa great as I just wanted to jump into bed. Then while I was struggling with carrying both suitcases downstairs the porter rushed up to give me a hand which I thought was nice. All in all had a great experience and would recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have stayed few nights at hotel Rumi Punku in upgraded room with views to a very picturesque courtyard. Very quiet room with enormous bed and jacuzzi. Very clean-toiletries and towels very changed regularly.
The location was perfect for us-only few minutes away from the main Plaza, on a quiet street with few good quality restaurants.
Breakfast we found fantastic - with lots of fresh fruit and juices and good selection of teas. They would also prepare something for you if you could not find it on the table (like scrambled eggs).
They also picked us up from the airport free of charge and gave information about the city and main attractions.
But what most important-when we arrive to Cuzco we found out that our bags are not there and we had to wait over a week for our airline to send them back to us. Hotel Staff went beyond the call off duty to help us locate our bags and sort everything with the Spanish only speaking airlines staff-which we are forever grateful for.
Overall excellent place to stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Beautiful place, great rooms and terrific people! Picked us up at tha airport and let us check in super early. We spent two nights here prior to our Viacamba trek, then came back for one night before heading home. Stored our big bag while trekking. Great breakfasts, gave us terrific information on local sites and how to get there. Close to everything. We would go back in a hearbeat! Thanks Rumi Punku.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

How is this hotel only rated 3-stars? Small-inn hotel has lots of character, staff are friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was great. Wifi was excellent. Hotel-organized day trips were OK, but nothing special. Stayed here before and after Inca trail - they kindly held our luggage. Then, on our return, bags were waiting in our room. A very nice touch. I enjoyed exploring the hotel's nooks and crannies. After a day of exploring, I'd suggest renting the private sauna / jacuzzi for an hour or two (~$15USD/pp). For those who complained about surly front-desk staff, I wonder if it was due to language-barrier? They were very patient with my Gringo Spanish, and I otherwise received very courteous service as well as great restaurant suggestions (Uchu, Pachapapa). I think basic rules of international travel apply: always be considerate, try speaking English slowly and use simple terms.

Room Tip: I think every room has a slightly different layout (we stayed in two different courtyard rooms on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rumi Punku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rumi Punku

Address: Choquechaca 339, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cusco
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rumi Punku 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Rumi Punku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumi Punku Hotel
Rumi Punku Cusco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rumi Punku, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.