We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here in Cusco!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rumi Punku

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rumi Punku to your Saves list
Hotel Rumi Punku
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Choquechaca 339, Cusco, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 145 Hotels in Cusco
Wakefield, Mass
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stay here in Cusco!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2008

If you visit Cusco and you do not stay at the Rumi Punku, you messed up!. The Hostal Rumi Punku is quaint, safe and is convenient to the central plaza. The hot showers were great and the Norwegian dynes are such a nice touch in making the beds sooooo comfortable. I arrived at the Rumi Punku with a group of 22 people (mostly dental students from Tufts University). That large a group puts a lot of pressure on the hotel staff. Javier Siclla and his staff were fantastic in accommodating all of us. Every morning, breakfast was there for us; even the one morning when we had to leave at 4:30AM! Peru is a beautiful country but its people are what make it so memorable - The Hostal Rumi Punku is a quaint and comfortable place to stay but its staff makes it the only place to stay in Cusco.

  • Liked — clean, safe, convenient, friendly
  • Disliked — I liked everything
  • Stayed April 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    281
    48
    19
    3
See reviews for
172
444
75
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2008

I stayed here for 4 nights, 3 nights before going to Machu Picchu and 1 night after coming back from Machu Picchu. The hostel held my bags for me while I was gone for the night. I paid $60.00 per night for a single room, a bit high for Cusco but worth the price. You can easily get a single room in Cusco for $25-$30 but you will not get many of the conveniences that Rumi Punku offer: free pick up from the airport, hot water all the time, an electric heater in all rooms can be plugged in, satellite television with 80 channels, and 24-hour tea or coffee. As others have mentioned the location is great - only 5 minutes from the main plaza. Sacsayhuaman is a short walk from Rumi Punku. Just turn left out of the hosel and walk up the stairs. It was a 20 minute walk. Lots of laundry places are nearby and they will deliver to the hostel for a small charge. This is helpful as you do not need to bring lots of clothes to Cusco.

I would like to give this place an excellent rating but I cannot for two main reasons. First, I had room 109 for the first three nights. This room was located right outside the office and near the main door. At times, noise was a problem. As another reviewer mentioned below, rooms on the first floor get a lot more noise/traffic than the other floors. On my arrival in Cusco, I slept most of the first day but I kept being woken up by people checking in, cleaning, and those doing some repair work. At night it was quieter, but still, at 5am people were up walking around right outside my door and I could hear them. The second room I had was on the second floor and that was much quieter. Finally, I got a little tired of the breakfast which is exactly the same thing everyday: rolls, jam, butter, fruit, granola, yoghurt, ham, cheese, and cook-to-order eggs. I like variety for breakfast especially when it is advertised as an American Buffet Breakfast.

Except for these two issues, I was happy with my stay.

  • Liked — Location, comfortable bed, and satellite tv
  • Disliked — noise level wqas high, internet did not always work, and breakfast was boring
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2008

In San Blas, a few minutes away from the Plaza de Armas, and near a lot of restaurants, this hotel is really worth it. This is very secure, and since it's not the best neighbourhood at night (only red this, never experienced it, and walked at night all the time we were there) there is a guard outside at night, and you must ring the very patient staff every time you come in. The staff is very friendly and professional. The rooms are wide and very clean, and well lit. The breakfast is typical ''american'' peruvian, but if you're getting sick of eating the bread and jam with egg, you must go down the street and try any of the magnificent meal at Jack's, or Inka...Fe, or you can have a croissant on the little street up to San Blas Plaza. At night, try Pacha-Papa up there! Well, you won't regret this place, and its surroundings !

  • Liked — The architecture is interesting, combine with all the modern necessities
  • Disliked — Well...you'll know why they sell so much whool around if you forgot yours home!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2008

While we used to stay in 4-5 star hotels, with the peak season in April, we did not have many choices but Rumi Punku based on the previous travel reviews.

The naming "Hostel" concerned us prior arrival, however, it is indeed a lovely hotel with great European B&B touch in the traditional stone made quater, which surprised us. Great antique collections, warm deco and Peruvian garen in the hotel. Great location to Plaza de Armas in 5 mins walk yet quiet without disturbance. Very clean and bright rooms, strong hot shower available whole day. Hotel staffs are absolutely helpful and friendly.

I appreicate the 24 hours hot water and tea during the altitude sickness, order to cook eggs for breakfast are 5 star hotel service and the Peruvian breakfast was a special experience.

It is more than just a hostal, it is a great hotel to experience while in Cusco!

  • Liked — Atmasphere and the gardens
  • Disliked — No bath
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii, USA
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2008

Very good value.
Clean, good location and secure.
Hotel will pick you up from airport.
Breakfast is included.

  • Liked — Location, value
  • Disliked — Internet service was sparatic
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2008

Wonderful staff. Pretty interior. Clean rooms with above average bathroom. Average breakfast included. Can get noisy at night. I heard some girl tell her mom about 20 times on the phone that she was safe while I was trying to sleep. I was ready to go assure her mom myself. I noticed the next morning that there was a sign up by the reception telling guests to be quiet during reasonable sleeping hours. The staff is really outstanding. They helped us with many small details without hesitation.There is a beautiful shared room that has a whirlpool (though it was empty while we were there) with a sauna and exercise bikes. Rumi Punku is the ideal location because it is slightly off the beaten path so probably more tranquil than places right on the main square. At the same time it is only a 5 minute walk to the main square.

  • Liked — Staff and beauty of shared spaces
  • Disliked — Noise at night
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2008

A friend and i stayed in Cusco, for 3 days. We were suggested Rumi Punku by a friend, who had stayed there. It was such a nice experience. When we arrived, we stayed in the hotel for a whole day, adjusting to the altitude. it felt so cosy and comfortable to be there. Gorgeous archways and gardens, genuinely homely.

The staff were really friendly and helpful. they organised our machu pichu and city tours, making us feel all the more relaxed. its tucked away, nice and quiet, yet only 5 mins walk from the main square. Also yummy breakfast and fast internet We didnt want to leave!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rumi Punku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rumi Punku

Address: Choquechaca 339, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cusco
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rumi Punku 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Rumi Punku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumi Punku Hotel
Rumi Punku Cusco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rumi Punku, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.