We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rumi Punku

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Rumi Punku to your Saves list
Hotel Rumi Punku
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Choquechaca 339, Cusco, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 147 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

This is a great value for the money in a not-so-cheap place like Cusco. It has all the basics as you'd expect and a great location

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    703
    291
    51
    18
    3
See reviews for
179
456
77
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Had an excellent 3 night stay here (2 before Inca Trail, 1 after). The staff was very attentive and helpful. We got an upgrade upon arrival without asking. Bathrooms and common areas were exceptionally clean, breakfast was delicious, and hotel was very quiet. No complaints here, even though it was the priciest hotel I stayed at in Peru ($100/night), it was also in one of the busiest tourist areas, so you get what you pay for: in this case, an excellent hotel! Highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

The Hotel Rumi Punku is in a great location with a helpful staff. You can walk to the Plaza Mayor and all the major attractions. Many good restaurants nearby. Our luggage didn't make the flight, but they called the airline for us and helped us get the luggage delivered to the hotel. The breakfast is tasty and the rooms are comfortable. Overall, a great value for the money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

The Rumi Punku Hotel, was nice experience for us we arrive very early to the airport and we were excited to know Cusco and Machupichi, and there was a person waiting for us.
When We arrive to the Hotel the staff gaves a warm welcome with coca tea.
The transfer gave us all the tourist information, she introduce us to the manager who gave us all the information about the Hotel, allways he was kiding any time it was a particularcheck in.
We had early check in, the room were confortables, the breakfast was fresh and is from 5:00 am to 10:00 a.m, so we had early breakfast after two days we had to go for the inca trail, they keep our luggage free.
When We come back all the lugagge were already in our rooms.
Tips for the next travelers:
1.- They have oxygen free
2.-If you want an early check in you can have it , no aditional cost
3.-They have a business center for the guests, if you want to make your flight check in on line , to talk by skype with your family ...
4.-This Hotel is located in front of the San blas ,typical neighborhood of Cusco

Thank you to all the Hotel staff of Rumi Punke, we are very sorry we took so long to write a review, as you know we also have to work, best wishes for you!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

I had a great stay not long ago in this hotel, it was really great and I can suggest it everyone. The hotel staff is friendly. Free transfer from the airport is included. The location is very close to the main square and numerous shops. Rooms are clean and comfortable, I was upgreated to penthouse with great views to the whole town. Breakfasts are very good. I highly recommend this really beautiful place.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parthenon, Arkansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

I began visiting Peru around 3 years ago. I loved my time there and have
continued to return....visiting 7 times in the course of these 3 years.

On my first trip, I reserved a hotel in Cusco based on reviews on Trip advisor.
This hotel, Rumi Punku, was definitely not a disappointment.
From the pick up at the airport by a taxi driver and a member of the hotel
staff, I felt very welcome. Entering the hotel (after all night of flying), I was
seated on a comfortable couch and served hot coca tea while I filled out
the paperwork.

Although it was early morning and before check in time, I was given a room
very quickly. The room was spotlessly clean, the bed and bedding comfortable,
the water always hot. The courtyards are beautiful....flowers and plants
gracing the courtyard and
always a small vase of flowers in the room.....one of the many signs of attention
to detail that make the hotel special. The hotel has an old world charm
while offering all the modern conveniences.

I have returned to this hotel many times....at the beginning and end of each
trip and often in the middle as well.

Sergio, who works in the reception area, has often said to me that “this is your
home in Cusco” and everyone in the hotel has contributed their friendly service towards
making me feel that he is right.....this place has become my home in Cusco.

Some of the other things I like about staying there include the internet room. the
ease of making international calls, and the great breakfast. The breakfast
is served buffet style in a beautiful room with two lit fireplaces to take the early
morning chill from the air. They always serve a variety of fresh fruit, 4 choices of
fresh juice, croissants and other breads with butter and strawberry jam, some meat and cheese, sometimes avocado, and always eggs cooked to order. And, of course, there is coffee and tea. Throughout the day, there is always complimentary hot water and tea available.

There is heat in all the rooms which can be important during some times of year
in Cusco.

The location is good.....an easy walk to the main plaza and close to the interesting
area of San Blas as well as close to the best restaurants. However, the street Rumi Punku is on is not so busy as the plaza area and thus is quieter.

I am a woman who travels solo, and I have always felt safe walking to the hotel
at night and certainly inside the hotel at all times.

Sergio and the rest of the staff are always available to help one find just
the right taxi, tour, directions, restaurants, etc.

Since I have been going to this hotel, they have opened a new section with
“superior” rooms. All rooms in the hotel are nice (although some are small), but if you can afford the extra cost, the new section is especially lovely.

For me, there has been no reason to look elsewhere in Cusco.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altadena, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

This charming hotel is located just a few blocks away from the main square and is very close to most of the museums, restaurants, and shopping areas. Staff is very helpful and attentive. Oxygen is available upon request, which one of our party needed badly as he was hit hard by the altitude of 10, 500.
The dining room, TV room is beautiful and very Cuscueno in feel. The breakfasts are very good and start early which is necessary for many travelers. Good coca tea available all the time with a big basket of the leaves for chewing outside the hotel. I found it quite helpful and didn't have any altitude symptoms until 13,000 at Lake Titicaca.
The rooms are all unique and nice. Good bathrooms, and lovely patios on many levels allowing a lot of different views from different rooms and areas of the hotel.
Number one negative in the relatively cold climate, almost no hot water. Got some showing late at night, but that was it. Not sure about the excuses, but we were there for 2 nights, went to Machupicchu, and came back for another night and there was no improvement.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rumi Punku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rumi Punku

Address: Choquechaca 339, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cusco
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rumi Punku 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Rumi Punku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumi Punku Hotel
Rumi Punku Cusco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rumi Punku, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.