We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Los Marqueses

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Los Marqueses to your Saves list
Hotel Los Marqueses
Av Garcilaso 256, Cusco 084, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 145 Hotels in Cusco
Vernon, BC, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This 300 year old palace turned hotel oozes character! Rooms surround a beautiful interior courtyard. There are minor flaws, like squeaky floorboards & cranky old locks on the doors, but these are a minor price to pay for retaining the history of this amazing old building. Enjoy the decor & imagine life here in a glorious (or infamous) past! Nice lounge; good service; lovely breakfast. Central location -- only a 5 minute walk to the main square.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    80
    26
    8
    8
See reviews for
40
98
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Me and my wife stayed here for three days before we treked the Inca trail. Its always advisable to climatise yourself before the trail and im glad we did. The hotel is a nice setting and great location. The rooms were big and clean and nice big bathrooms and hot showers. the breakfast was very nice and the waitress was very sweet. She would say the word 'iiiigs' instead of 'eggs'. We now say it all the time.....bacon and iiigs love ??
There is always coffee and cocoa tea on hand and the staff were very forthcoming. I wouldnt stay here if you are on a tight budget though as its quite pricey.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here the night before and after the Inca trail. SAS travel is 2 doors down so that was also convenient because we went on the SAS Inca trail tour. The rooms are clean with nice hot showers. They had coca tea for us upon arrival and a nice breakfast both times. They stowed our bags for us while we were on the trail and shuttled us to and from the airport which was great!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

As soon as we arrived, we were escorted to the interior patio to sit and enjoy a cup of cocoa tea. The check-in process took place while we sat around the table. This was most welcomed as we began our acclimation to thin air.
I am passionate about old buildings and this hotel did not disappoint with thick, wooden doors, exposed beam ceilings, and tiled walkways. Our room was beautiful with exposed beams and a window overlooking the street below. There was a small but efficient heater. The room key was a vintage skeleton key which proved to be a bit of a challenge in opening the door.
Breakfast was a very nice spread of fresh juices, bread, rolls, meats, and cheeses with the option of ordering cooked eggs from the grill.
The hotel staff was wonderful. They arranged for transportation, laundry service, and helped us with dinner reservations. The check-out process was as smooth as the check-in process. Although the shower water was only lukewarm at best, I did not care much as we were in Cusco, and this hotel is in great location.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

After arriving late from Buenos Aires due to a delayed flight, these guys we're more than happy to pick is up from the airport for the short drive into town and then upgraded us to the honeymoon suite on our arrival - which was a gorgeous old room and a real delight to stay for a few nights in readiness for our Inca Trail trek with SAS, who also own the hotel and are based next door. The central location of the hotel was perfect for sorting out last minute supplies for the trek in town and finalising everything for the trek. They also stored our extra luggage for the duration of the trek and we're always helpful and very polite. Highly recommend staying here prior to your trek

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for 4nights as recommended by SAS Travel as I has used them for them for Inca trail. Very convenient as the travel office was next door and we could clarify all koind s of questions before out trek.

The hotel was OK, very quaint and pretty. The room was good and clean but lack of windows gave a cramped feeling. On the other hand the location close to the main square and rest. made it easy to go back and forth multiple times. Good hotel to get used to the Cusco altitude!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

A very average blah place to say. The photos make it look waaaaay better than the reality. The is a huge difference between quant and poor quality. This place is renovated to a sub-standard quality and they provide a very poor breakfast compared to the other 3 star standards in Peru. Rooms are noisy, as steps resonate through the building. Very blah. Good location though.

Room Tip: Better to get a room upstairs otherwise you can hear people above you walking around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Los Marqueses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Marqueses

Address: Av Garcilaso 256, Cusco 084, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Los Marqueses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Marqueses Hotel
Los Marqueses Cusco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Los Marqueses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.