We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection to your Saves list
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   408 Calle Pumacurco | One block Plaza Nazarenath, Cusco, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #44 of 145 Hotels in Cusco
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed our stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Arqueologo in late July 2014 and it is a very nice hotel in a convenient location. The hotel is an easy walk from the plaza in the center of the city. The free breakfast was actually very good with eggs made to order. The rooms are heated, very clean, and the beds are comfortable as well. The courtyard and cocktail lounge with a nice big fireplace added to the charm of the hotel. But what really makes this hotel stand out is the super helpful and friendly staff. Alfredo helped us print out our boarding passes and called our tour operators for us, called taxis for us. The rest of the staff was also outstanding. We could tell they really wanted to help us in any way they could to make our stay in Cusco a great experience. I would definitely recommend Hotel Arqueologo to anyone.

Room Tip: If wifi in your room is important just say so at check-in and they will put you in a room where the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Arqueologo, Guest Relation at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Rick,

Thank you for your kind words. We are very glad you liked our hotel and it was a pleasure to have you as a guest.

We are commited in providing a good service to all our guests to give them a remarkable experience in Cusco.

Please do not hesitate in visiting us next time you come to Cusco.

Best regards,

Hotel Arqueologo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    87
    28
    18
    11
See reviews for
41
122
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We love Hotel Arqueologo. We stayed there before and after our week-long Salkantay/Inca trail trek. The first night we were there, we got an incredibly beautiful room with fantastic architectural detail. The bed was up on a loft and the bathroom and sitting area were on the first floor. We loved the rustic look that looked like we were staying under a thatched room. The second room we got was like a regular hotel room, but it had a lovely stained glass window.Each room was unique.

The public spaces were beautiful. The bar has a great sitting area with comfortable couches and chairs. We watched one of the World Cup games there. The hotel gives you a coupon for a free Pisco Sour, which is pretty tasty.

Breakfast is pretty substantial (toast, waffles, eggs, fresh juices,lots of fresh fruit, yogurt, coffee, cereal, cheese, and cold cuts). The cafe where the breakfast is at is also very nice looking. We sat down and took our time to enjoy our breakfast.

The service was incredible. The staff is so helpful and nice. We couldn't have asked for better service.

Internet in the rooms can be spotty. We didn't get any WiFi in our first room, but had no problems the second night.

This is not a nice hotel for Peru, this was a really nice hotel anywhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Arqueologo, Guest Relation at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Ms Lillian

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion on this website at the same time I want to say thank you for your special attention that you had to describe the features of the room and differents areas of the hotel.

Thank you for all of your review specially the last part " This is not a nice hotel for Peru, this was a really nice hotel anywhere "

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Hotel Arqueologo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Beautiful hotel, clean and big room, delicious breakfast ,very very nice employee. Just stand the palace armas. It's definitely my wise choice!! There is heater in the room,so it's warm. Cocktails of the bar is charming.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Arqueologo, Guest Relation at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Mrs Fengjie

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion and thanks for your preference we invite you to visit Cusco again and visit more places that you already had been and we will be happy to have you with us again.

Best Regards

Hotel Arqueologo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

After 2 weeks of staying in hostels and trecking I needed some relaxation for my last two nights in Cusco. I treated myself to a loft style suite - room 409 - which was perfect. The bed was very comfortable and there was a lovely view. The staff here are super friendly and helpful and the breakfast which is included is great. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Arqueologo, Guest Relation at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion
We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Hotel Arqueologo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberec Region, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

nice place and nice people. Just arriving did not have a heating on and the second time was no hot water in the bathroom. But they shifted me to one other and everything was good. Nice calm place with cozy design, clean rooms...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Arqueologo, Gerente at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Ursula,

Thank you for helping us to improve our services with your comments, we are glad that we meet meet your expectations. however let me explain about the hot water and our central system heating.

Concerning these points in february is low season in Peru so we decided to some improvements in the hotel so that's why was the problem with some rooms.

As soon as we knew the problem we moved to another room and we fixed the problem

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely

Hotel Arqueologo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Vadick and Martin make the best drinks in the bar/ lounge. Sit by the fire and enjoy the ambiance or chat up the bartenders for an excellent night staying in the hotel while in Cusco. Also has very nice outdoor spaces and a sunroom with a great view of the city where you can eat your breakfast¡

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Arqueologo, Gerente at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Ms Rachel,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to describe the different areas of the hotel and also the service of our staff.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Hotel Arqueologo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel provides you with everything you need: amazing service,good brakfast, cosy rooms and comfortable beds. You can also leave you're luggage there for the trip to machu piccu... I highly recommend this place! Price is also good.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Arqueologo, Gerente at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Hotel Arqueologo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection

Address: 408 Calle Pumacurco | One block Plaza Nazarenath, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#36 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Arqueologo: Located in downtown millenary Cusco. A five minute walk from the main square, in the ancient devout neighbourhood of San Blas; with narrow streets, Inca walls, colonial balconies and baroque style chapels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, T4B, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arqueologo Exclusive Selection Cusco
Arqueologo Exclusive Selection Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.