We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection to your Saves list
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   408 Calle Pumacurco | One block Plaza Nazarenath, Cusco, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 145 Hotels in Cusco
Ghent, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel with excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Great,friendly staff (thanks Alex & co for making our stay just perfect!)
Perfect location
Clean,big,comfortable rooms
Beautiful courtyard
In the end:super hotel!
We got to enjoy Cuzco & surroundings to the fullest!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Arqueologo, Manager at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Chloe,
Thank you very much for your review of Hotel Arqueologo. We are more than happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us.
It was very nice to have you at the hotel, and also have some conversation about Belgium, especially about the beautiful city of Ghent.

On behave of the entire Hotel Staff, we wish you all the best, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future for another great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    87
    28
    18
    11
See reviews for
41
122
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, US
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I liked this place, it has a character and interesting atmosphere you would expect from such city as Cuzco. the location is great, few min walking distance from the main square. I loved my bed!:) it was huge and very comfortable and I really needed it -there is so much to do in Peru that good sleep is a must. The staff was very friendly and my overall stay was a pleasure.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Arqueologo, Manager at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Olga,
Thank you very much for your review of Hotel Arqueologo, this is very important for us.

It was our pleasure to have you staying at the hotel, and we are happy you had a great time with us and in Cusco.

On behave of the entire Hotel Staff, we want to thank you, and wish you all the best.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another unforgettable stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutz, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We spent a whole week at this average property, which you should avoid if you can. (IM an SPG platinum but both SPG properties were sold out and we were forced to stay here). We had some serious issues here which significantly reduced the quality of our stay. First our sheets were dirty and the staff refused to change them, even after being told multiple times. Next, we had to ask the staff to reset the wifi on a daily basis, which is not something that we should have had to do. Clearly the wifi infrastructure should be improved. Its something that the hotel is aware of but does not appear to be willing to fix, instead preferring that guests suffer through it. Next, our loft (room 410) has a leak in the roof. When we complained about it, the staff was extremely casual about it. I asked to speak to the manager, who never responded. We consider ourselves lucky as it did not rain for the duration of our stay, and so were dry after that one rainy night.

Pros:
Some of the staff in this hotel are responsive.
They have oxygen available which may be helpful if you have altitude sickness.

Cons:
Bad wifi.
Roof leaks.

Other tips:
Overpriced restaurant. There are much better options outside the hotel within walking distance in and around the town center. Take a walk, enjoy the town and get better cheaper food.
Don’t pay for the over priced bottled water in the front desk. Go across the street where there is a tiny grocery and the water costs 1.5 soles a bottle.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Arqueologo, Manager at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for your review on Hotel Arqueologo, it is very important to us.

We would like to clarify some of your concerns about your stay in December.
First of all, we are sorry that you thought the sheets in your suite were dirty: our Houskeeping staff do change the sheets every day, and there was no notification nor any other complain about dirty sheets from any other guest of the fully booked hotel in that period.

We do recall you had an issue with the WIFI on your phone, our hotel has several designated WIFI areas including in each room. We recently added an extra modem in the hotel in order to reinforce our free WIFI connections.
Hotel Arqueologo puts more efforts in sustainable tourism and eco-tourism than any other hotel in Cusco, consequently free WIFI is not the first thing that comes to our guest’s mind when booking their stay at this hotel.

We do apologize for the leak in your suite, as the hotel was fully booked in this period we could not reallocate you and your family to another room. In the meantime, the roof has been checked, and the leak has been fixed, to avoid any future leak. We would like to thank you for mentioning this item, as we were not aware of the leak.

We think it is also fair to mention in your list of “Pros” that the hotel provided you with a 50% discount on the additional bed in your suite on all six nights. Besides this, we made an exception to allow four persons in the room, while our maximum is of three persons in one room.

We thank you for your mentioned tips, and would like to add the following:

Our Restaurant Divina Comedia, is a gourmet food restaurant, our dishes are a fusion of French cuisine with a touch of Peruvian ingredients, ranked on Tripadvisor at number 14 out of 359 restaurants in Cusco. Consequently, there are 13 other better restaurants in the city to eat at, which I can assure you, would be in the same price range.
To eat at Divina Comedia, is a choice of the guest, we do not oblige anyone to eat anywhere, as it is also the choice of any guest to stand up, and walk out, if the menu does not suit your taste or budget.

Hotel Arqueologo has a water filter (brought from Switzerland) installed for our guests in the patio of the hotel. This tap is free of use for the hotel guests and allows them to drink water from the tap which normally is not recommended in Cusco. So there is no need to buy water while staying at this hotel. It would be handy to be aware of this kind of information prior complaining about the price of the bottles of water at the reception.
Our receptionists make sure to mention our filtered tap water to all our new guests, since we are very proud of this achievement.

Next time you are in Cusco, we invite you to pass by our hotel and restaurant to experience all the improvements we are making to provide all our future guests with a pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

A really great place, full of character and charm! One of those hotels you long back to... just to sit by the fire in the bar or to look out over the Cuzco roof tops from your french balcony. Great location, just a few blocks from the plaza, but still with a very quiet and tranquil atmosphere. Staff was super friendly, always smiling. Big soft beds. Breakfast is simple, but ok. Their restaurant is very good and some days of the week they have live music (opera and local music). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Arqueologo, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your fantastic review of Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection!
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future for another great experience!

On behave of the entire Hotel Staff, we send you our warmest wishes for the Holidays and for a happy and prosperous New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Perhaps if I had not booked my trip to Machu Picchu through this hotel & been so badly ripped off, I would have found more to like about the hotel. Unfortunately, the manager, is not to be trusted & did not provide the tour we booked. No response to our query of why our tour was so less than what we had booked. The hotel does not have a very good location. Normally, I don't mind walking up steep hills, but with the high altitude, it was not pleasant. Breakfast was not provided at the time it is scheduled to start, 6, so if you have to leave, you're out of luck. The rest of the staff there were nice, but not especially helpful. Overall, the only negative experience I had on my 4 week trip revolved around this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Arqueologo, Gerente at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments.

We regret the inconvenience that you experienced during your stay at our hotel but we would like to clarify certain points.

The purchase of a tour to Machu Picchu that you made on our website has precise cancellation conditions and it is not possible to make refunds once your reservation has been made and confirmed. This is due to the policies of the company that provides our Peru Rail train service.

The train timetables were coordinated with you with the delivery of the tickets. If you purchase another ticket on your own, we are not responsible for the consequences.

Our hotel is located two blocks from the Plaza de Armas in the historic center of Cusco. There is always the option of taking a taxi (between $1-$3 in price).

The breakfast buffet is between 6 and 9:30 am. Outside of these hours, there is the possibility of a light meal with advance notice to reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This place is not anywhere near 4 Stars. Information on website not correct. Needs major maintenance. Staff is poor quality. No individual control of heat. No in room phones. No in room internet or TV. Noisy with a lot is stray dogs barking, roosters, construction. Hot water varies. Would have given only one star, but a good restaurant & bar.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Arqueologo, Gerente at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
We are unable to locate which client this is as there is no name, nor date of stay. It appears that they are comments from a competitor.

We are a 3-star hotel. The stars that are mentioned have nothing to do with the category of our hotel, it is a score based on valuation according to TripAdvisor reviews. There is no cheating.

The central heating in our rooms has a regulator to turn it on and off.

Televisions are available in reception, but they must be requested.

We are known for being located in a tranquil area with little traffic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The location is nice though going uphill is a bit demanding at that altitude. The layout of the hotel is very nice but not properly looked after.
Rooms are clean and spacious enough, beds are large and comfortable but we had problems every day with the heating ( it gets very chilly in the night) which was always fixed but the whole process was annoying. No television in many rooms although it was on the booking. Breakfast would be kind of ok if the service was better, there was always some cutlery, plates or bowls missing. If we asked to have one the waiter stand up from his chair, would get a dirty one, wash it and hand it over wet. Everyday the same pattern.
The restaurant is well bellow what I would expect in Peru.
Staff is kind in terms of smiling but seems either incompetent solving problems or unwilling.
The discomfort we felt on a daily bases for 5 days doesn't match the hotels level and prices.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor are brighter. Double check for television if want to have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Arqueologo, Gerente at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Heating if our customers do not feel comfortable may request extra one at the reception in every room plus we have Extra blankets. In Cusco we have a very large temperature variation.
The breakfast is served at our hotel in time 6 Am to 9:30 am. We encourage our customers to respect these times. As of 9:30 am we have a snack at the bar.
There are TVs on request at the reception. The suites have plasma TV.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection

Address: 408 Calle Pumacurco | One block Plaza Nazarenath, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#36 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Arqueologo: Located in downtown millenary Cusco. A five minute walk from the main square, in the ancient devout neighbourhood of San Blas; with narrow streets, Inca walls, colonial balconies and baroque style chapels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, T4B, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arqueologo Exclusive Selection Cusco
Arqueologo Exclusive Selection Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.