We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection to your Saves list
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   408 Calle Pumacurco | One block Plaza Nazarenath, Cusco, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 145 Hotels in Cusco
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

the service was great. Location was a couple of blocks from the main square. the food at the restaurant was good but it took a bit to long to get our food.
the rooms were very nice, the only thing is that you had to leave your room key plug in to a "card slot" to get the lights/electricity to work, which was kind of pain in the butt, if your with someone and trying to do two different things/plans. overall, i would recommend this place to anyone, it was a great hotel and the people there were soooo nice and helpful.

stayed there january 2013

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Divina Comedia R, Gerente at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your opinion on our hotel certainly our hotel is located just 02 blocks from the main square, which facilitates the rapid mobilization of our guests. Likewise staff our travel agency is always ready to advise, inform and organize trips that our guests request. Also, we are working day after day to give a better service for wonderfull guest, like you. We'll be happy to receive you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    87
    28
    18
    11
See reviews for
41
122
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Louis
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is absolutely beautiful and charming. Our room had two levels, the lower level sitting room was comfortable and the upper level sleeping loft was as well. The bed was nice and firm with perfectly crisp sheets. The courtyard had plenty of vignette seating. The bar is wonderful with a huge fireplace and warm fire.

Room Tip: Close enough to everything but far enough removed to be quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Divina Comedia R, Gerente at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your opinion on our hotel certainly our hotel is located just 02 blocks from the main square, which facilitates the rapid mobilization of our guests. Likewise staff our travel agency is always ready to advise, inform and organize trips that our guests request. Also, we are working day after day to give a better service for wonderfull guest, like you. We'll be happy to receive you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel. Gente muy amavel. (Portugnol). I was particularly impressed when I had a terrible headache and vomiting from adjustment to altitude that the staff were extremely solicitous and helpful. I was very grateful for their attitude.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Divina Comedia R, Gerente at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your opinion on our hotel. We are so grateful hear that our staff were so considerate with you. Also our hotel is located just 02 blocks from the main square, which facilitates the rapid mobilization of our guests. Likewise staff our travel agency is always ready to advise, inform and organize trips that our guests request. Also, we are working day after day to give a better service for wonderfull guest, like you. We'll be happy to receive you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The hotel is located in prime location and within walking distance of city center and market places. The hotel staff is friendly and helped us book a day trip to the Sacred valley. The hotel bar is quite quaint and so if their courtyard. They offer free breakfast in a restaurant located in the extreme end with forest views. We were a party of 2 and the chef was nice enough to cook breakfast early morning just for the 2 of us. Our room was on the upper floor and had a split section.
The only turn down was lack of wireless in room and the internet on their office desktop was too slow (too too slow).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Arqueologo, Gerente at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your appreciation of our hotel.
The internet or WiFi is not currently available in the rooms but you can access it from all the public areas. We are working to get the signal to enter into the rooms as well; the width of the walls within a colonial house make installation of a good signal complicated and we are trying to arrive at a solution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I guess it depends what you're looking for, but I didn't really enjoy this hotel. The courtyard and bar were nice and quaint, but the rooms left little to be desired.

We stayed in two different rooms while there and the experience was very similar. I found the rooms to be really dark, dingy and the walls paper thin. We could hear every conversation, snore and cough from the rooms next door.

The other thing I really disliked about the rooms is the absence of a phone and an internet connection in the rooms. I sprained my ankle really badly hiking the Inca Trail and was basically bed ridden for the last few days in Cuzco. Not being able to order rooms service, asking for help with our bags or getting in touch with our friends across the hotel without walking downstairs was incredibly frustrating. In addition, the "free wifi" doesn't work in most of the rooms so I had to go downstairs to even get online.

This hotel would not be my first choice, but if you're looking for no frills and a place to stay with friends then I guess it could work.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Arqueologo, Gerente at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments.
We will take into account your comments about the lighting.
The hotel is situated in a typical antique colonial mansion and we are not able to make many modifications.
On our website, we note that we do not have telephones or televisions, but the latter can be requested.
The WiFi, as indicated on the website, is only available in the public areas, not in the rooms. We are working to get the signal to enter into the rooms as well; the width of the walls within a colonial house make installation of a good signal complicated and we are trying to arrive at a solution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

It's a very nice hotel located a few blocks away from Plaza de Armas, the main square of Cusco. The hotel has a beautiful patio with lots of plants and flowers. The room was spacious and cozy with a very clean bathroom. The breakfast was also very good and the cafeteria has a great view of the city, which is especially beautiful at sunrise. They also have a restaurant where you can get a good drink in the evening.
On the other hand, they forgot to pick us up at the airport as promised and didn't seem to care much about it. On their web page they advertise free pickups, but when I asked them about this service, they told me it's a mistake and that the cost is $10, which I accepted. However, they still forgot to meet me. Also, the wi-fi had coverage in the patio, but not in the room, and was REALLY slow, just about enough to check your email, but that's the case of most hotels and restaurants we have been to in that area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Arqueologo, Gerente at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments.
Our location is in the midst of the city’s historic center and the climb to reach it is in accordance with the geography of Cusco with its steep narrow streets that are typical of Inca construction.
The breakfast buffet offers a range of products and with a view of the city.
The transfer from the airport is always included when you make your reservation through our website; there is a cost if the reservation is made through any other medium. We hope we have answered your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afula, Israel
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful,we loved the cup of coca leaf tea we were welcomed with on arrival.
The room comfortable,spacious clean, the shower was not cramped.Location perfect 5 minutes walk to the central square (coming back longer because it is uphilll and the altitude makes uphill harder.
The Hotel is in a very pretty building with a beautiful courtyard and garden.
I would love to go back.

Room Tip: Friends who were traveling with us,stayed in room 405 and all the lights worked on the same switch s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Arqueologo, Gerente at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments.
The coca tea is always available as a complimentary service to our guests and it is recommended for acclimating to the altitude.
Our rooms are well equipped for the comfort and convenience of our guests to make their stay unforgettable.
We hope to have you at our hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection

Address: 408 Calle Pumacurco | One block Plaza Nazarenath, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#36 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Arqueologo: Located in downtown millenary Cusco. A five minute walk from the main square, in the ancient devout neighbourhood of San Blas; with narrow streets, Inca walls, colonial balconies and baroque style chapels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arqueologo Exclusive Selection Cusco
Arqueologo Exclusive Selection Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.