We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building and courtyard, nice loft rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection to your Saves list
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   408 Calle Pumacurco, Cusco, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 157 Hotels in Cusco
TORONTO
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful building and courtyard, nice loft rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights while in Cusco. The courtyard is gorgeous and lit-up beautifully at night. Never had the chance to try the restaurant but the bar and resto looked nice too. The rooms were very clean, loft style with small living quarters on the main floor and bedroom upstairs. The breakfast was nice including eggs, pastries, fruits and cereal but the coffee was outstanding. Great location just a few blocks from the main square and a nice (oxygen starved) stroll to the hill-tops.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toofinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Charlotte North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We found this hotel after our flight home was cancelled by LAN; which we learned happens frequently, so make sure you can stay an extra day or two in Cusco if the wind kicks up over the Andes..best to book an early flight out to avoid wind problems!

We stayed her one night, in a two level room, which was very spacious! The sleeping area was upstairs, clean, quiet. The down stairs offers plenty of sitting area, full bathroom. There is no TV or phone. Free Wifi worked great! Staff was friendly, easy to communicate with...please don't expect everyone to speak perfect english...this is NOT THEIR primary language!

The hotel has lots of charm! Free breakfast in a lovely eating area on the 2nd floor with lots of windows and great views. The pisco sour "welcome drink x3" was much needed after our flight was cancelled! The location is perfect, just steps away from the main square and in the heart of many local shops. We felt very safe! I would surely stay here again!

Room Tip: Each room offers a balcony, which offers a nice connection to the outside world! We stayed in room 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rossi004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
67 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My friends and i stayed at Arqueologo hotel for a total of 4 nights in November 2012. We stayed in Cusco, before going to Machu Picchu. We only reserved for the first night in Cusco here, but we ended up spending our entire nights in Cusco here. I just fell in love with this hotel. I have no problem with the facilities, rooms, and services, but I have a BIG complaint about the exchange rate when I paid with my credit card. The Soles/$ exchange rate was about 2.5 when I visited Peru, but when I paid my bill with my credit card (Master card), they used the exchange rate of 2.7!!! It's almost 10% tax on credit card transaction. I could ran to an exchange bureau but did not have time because we had to catch a cab to the airport. I hate this!!! But other than this cheating, I love the hotel. Below are the pros and the cons, and some pictures.

Pros:
(1) Not super-new but the decoration of the room is lovely (see my pics). The hotel has a colonial style, a cute garden in the middle of rooms. We enjoyed relaxing in chairs in the garden in our first day in Cusco, adjusting to 3400m.
(2) Easy walk (a bit upward but...) to the central square. Less than 10 minutes. Never felt dangerous even at night.
(3) Shower in my room (Rm 302, next to the reception) worked very well. Water was hot, and the water flow was strong. But my friends (in Room 102) complained that their shower was not as good as mine. So check shower before deciding your room.
(4) They offered a welcome pisco sour, which was very good.
(5) The heating in the room was no problem.
(6) Breakfast was very nice. The breakfast room was decorated in a lovely manner.
(7) The staff (especially the ones working at the bar and the restaurant) are very friendly and nice!
(8) The restaurant attached to the hotel was one of the best in Cusco we thought. It's a bit far from the center of tourism, so it's less pricy, but the quality of the meat and the chef were superb. We liked the restaurant so much we decided to come back for our last supper in Cusco. They also have almost-daily jazz or singing performances at the restaurant.
(9) For the quality of the rooms and services, I think the hotel is very reasonably priced.
(10) They have free wifi, but it seems that they turn off the wifi at night. I did not get signals in my room (at night).
(11) They kept out bags when we visited Machu Picchu and stayed in Aguas Calientes for one night.

Cons:
(a) In the first night, although I made a reservation through hotel.com the day before, we were told that they do not have our reservation in their system. According to them, their system is not connected to hotel.com server on Sunday (the first night of our stay was Sunday). At the end they had some vacancies so there was no problem, but they gave us standard rooms although I reserved superior rooms. So be careful.
(b) The Soles/$ exchange rate was about 2.5 when I visited Peru, but when I paid my bill with my credit card (Master card), they used the exchange rate of 2.7!!! It's almost 10% tax on credit card transaction. I could ran to an exchange bureau but did not have time because we had to catch a cab to the airport. I hate this!!!

At the end, I love my stay. If they did not charge 2.7 soles/$ for my bill, I gave five stars. Now I learned the way they tricked their customers, I think I come back to this hotel when I come back to Cusco.

Room Tip: Check shower. Make sure you get very hot water with a strong water flow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank makoto n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel could have been a perfect experience, but it wasn't quite. For Cusco it does seem very reasonably priced and there is no question that I would stay again. I loved the "loft" room ... with a small living room and beautiful bathroom downstairs and a huge bed and airy, open feel in the upstairs loft. Caution, if you have trouble with narrow curving stairs, you don't want this loft room. I didn't care that there was no TV ... I wasn't in Peru to watch TV. OK ... so my little travel problems ... it started before I got to Peru and was trying to get an entrance ticket to Machu Pichhu. The travel agent associated with the hotel said they could get me one. When I arrived they didn't have one. They were able to get one the day before my travel to MP ... however it was really dicey and close and they had to get a Montana ticket rather than the regular ticket. It was both bad and good service. Second ... the hotel advertises that they pick you up at the airport. But the front desk person said they wouldn't. But the reservations person said they would. And when I arrived at the airport, there was no one to meet me. A phone call by a local person to the hotel ... and they did send someone. But it was a waste of time.

Although there were problems ... overall it was a great place and I'd do it again, but perhaps be a little smarter next time ... maybe something you can learn from my experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a loft room! (unless you can't do narrow winding stairs)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AK_Steve_AK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Arqueologo, Director General at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment Mr. Steve
First of all I wanted to apologize for the inconvenience you had at our hotel, we we care every day to improve our service and eliminate the faults we have and your comments help us to identify them, Our travel agency is to solve different problems that our customers may have in the realization of their excursions and so meet the different needs of our guests.
Our standard and superior rooms have no tv but given our guests if requested. We also have suites with TV according to the needs of our customers, again thanking your comment. the hope back with open arms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Spent 3 nights here in early October. Good location in Cusco, on a quite street, just a few minutes (uphill, might be problem for someone) walk from Plaza de Armas. Rooms were nice (we had a loft-type room with king bed). No TV in the room, but you can request. Friendly and helpful stuff. Used their travel agency to arrange all our tours in Cusco area, reasonable priced, great service. Front desk staff was friendly & welcoming. Great breakfast included, free wifi. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manasr13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Arqueologo, Director General at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment and your recommendations Mr. manasr13
We are happy because she loved our location and the different areas of our hotel as well as the different services we offer in the main travel agency which we have performed various services such as the Sacred Valley, Machu Picchu and other ... Which are well organized to the satisfaction of our customers.
we look forward to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I love this hotel. It's cozy, in a great location a few minutes walk from Plaza de Armas and Sacksaywaman, and the staff are all so friendly and helpful. The bedrooms are clean and comfortable and have a very cozy, country-cabin feel, the showers are hot, and the breakfast was great. This hotel is a great value for the price. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JennaB27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Arqueologo, Director General at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias JennaB27 por tu comentario Nuestra ubicacion facilita la posibilidad de realizar visitas a los diferentes atractivos importantes de nuestra ciudad como Sacsayhuaman y calles antiguas que datan de la epoca Inca y como tambien nosotros ponemos mucha enfasis por la exelente presentacion de nuestras habitaciones hacia nuestros clientes asi como tambien en el servicio que presta nuestro personal para asi poder conseguir la mejor satisfaccion de nuestros huespedes.
Esperamos tenerte de nuevo en nuestro hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

some reviews on trip advisor mentioned that this hotel was out of the way in a dark and creepy area and was not anywhere near the value but this is NOT true - it was an excellent stay, good value. we had the Inka Suite (with the loft) so maybe this room is better than others, but we enjoyed our stay and the reception staff and the hotel restaurant was also delicious and comfortable. we did have hot water during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lfd220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Arqueologo, Director General at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Enchanted by the comment that recognizes the excellent location that is our hotel, although we are in a very calm and quiet street in the neighborhood of Cuzco typical sancristobal which makes a pleasant stay for our huepedes. About the rooms in our hotel we are acclimated and equipped to meet the needs of our customers, com and also to our staff is trained to provide quality service.
We look forward to have you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.4 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#7 of 157 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 stars 1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
#22 of 157 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 994 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
0.1 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection

Address: 408 Calle Pumacurco, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Cusco
#37 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Arqueologo: Located in downtown millenary Cusco. A five minute walk from the main square, in the ancient devout neighbourhood of San Blas; with narrow streets, Inca walls, colonial balconies and baroque style chapels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arqueologo Exclusive Selection Cusco
Arqueologo Exclusive Selection Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing