We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection to your Saves list
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   408 Calle Pumacurco | One block Plaza Nazarenath, Cusco, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #48 of 147 Hotels in Cusco
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Charming place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed at this hotel 4 nights in July 2012 and are definitely staying there next time in Cusco! It felt like home. The rooms are very nicely decorated, have very comfortable beds and showers are with hot water all the time. Staff is very friendly and always there to help you make your stay better. The breakfast buffet is awesome. It included fresh yogurt and milk! We dined in the hotel's restaurant all 3 nights and found the food exquisite. Everything we ate from soups to dessert was extremely tasty. The prices were cheaper than in the places around the main square. We enjoyed the opera music that is on during breakfast time and the life performances during dinner. The morning of our Machupicchu trip the staff arranged breakfast for us at 3am! My family and I felt in love with this place and greatly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Arqueologo, Director General at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear MilenaTz
Thank you so much for sharing this opinion, we are very grateful for your recommendations. For our guests who are leaving the hotel early morning, we count with an additional service, continental breakfast from 4 to 6 am. Our restaurant is the only one which offers this kind of show in Cusco. We look forward to have back soon.

Joel Evrard
General Manager
Hotel Arqueologo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    97
    29
    18
    11
See reviews for
44
129
20
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

great hotel! it is very central; just 3 blocks from plaza de armas. the staff members are all very friendly and helpful. need a taxi to poroy station or the airport? check! you want coco tea? check! you want them to buy your machu picchu tix before you arrive? check! need recommendations on what to do or where to eat? check! they will help you with anything you need. the blankets are so crazy cozy that it was hard to get out of bed in the morning. my friend and i had a wonderful time here and had absolutely no complaints at all. if i come back to cuzco, i will definitely stay at hotel arqueologo again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Arqueologo, Director General at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear Andrina O
Thank you so much for sharing this nice opinion. we are so happy you have enjoyed you stay here. Our staff is well trained and willing to help our guests, whatever they need. Likewise we count with a business center to organize excursions, arrange transportation, etc. we look forward to have you back soon.

Joel Evrard
General Manager
Hotel Arqueologo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two days prior to doing the 4 day Inka Trek, then returned for one night after the trek. They held onto our luggage for the 4 days we were on the trek and were very accommodating with all of our needs. They greeted us upon arrival with tea and were helpful even though we showed up far before check in. Very cute, personable place with good plumbing, clean rooms, a hot shower ad friendly staff. The beds were big, but a little hard--still nice though, fluffy blankets and pillows, plus we were so tiered from many busy days it didn't seem to bother us at all. The included breakfast was good, several egg options and bread.

The hotel is located in San Blas which is a cute area and very close to the main square as well.

Finally one of our favorite parts was the amazing restaurant next door, probably the best meal we had on our whole vacation. Oprah singers serenaded the restaurant for a short while as well making it a very nice ambiance and a little extra touch.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Arqueologo, Director General at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear deanne107
Thank you so much for your recomendations, likewise we are so happy, you have enjoyed your stay here. Our facilities allow our guests get to restaurant, shops, museums, etc., in a couple of minutes and the Plaza de Armas as well. Once more thank you for considering the best meal in our restaurant during your vacation. We look forward to have you soon.

Joel Evrard
General Manager
Hotel Arqueologo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I called the hotel to make sure I asked in details about the room I was reserving. I was assured I would get what I asked for but at the hotel, we were told the room I had reserved was taken! Nonetheless, they offered us an updgrade in order to get a room that would be similar to the one I had reserved. We thought it was a fair solution.

Upon arrival, the pick up did not show up so I had to call the hotel to ask them to send us a car. That is a usual problem in Peru so next time, I will grab a cab and have the hotel pay the 8 soles to get there...

The personal at the hotel is above average in Peru and I got the sense they were trying to satisfy us which made us feel good. The hotel is one of the rare one in Peru I have seen using a mattress protection. The water pressure is good and hot water is always available. The room we had- 408- was very nice. After we complained about having noise from the room on top of us, they left the room empty for our stay to avoid the noise inconvenience!! That is a rare attention here in Peru!!!

Really a nice hotel to which I would come back when in Cusco.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Arqueologo, Director General at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for taking your time to write this interesting review, sometimes problems appear in unexpected situations that we can’t avoid, but our staff is well trained to solve these inconvenients, you made a reservation of a superior room which was not available at that time, we have given you a suite to ensure you feel better, we took that decision because one of our goals is to make your stay the most pleasant possible, we are glad you have enjoyed you stay and look forward to have you back soon.

Joel Evrard
General Manager
Hotel Arqueologo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I loved this place. we Had such an amazing stay at this hotel. the staff was fantastic. The entire property is awesome. breakfast in the morning was really great. and just cannot say enough nice things about the hotel. really loved it/ and again the staff made our trip. they even were able to help us book our entire side trip to macho picchu which was a lot of help for me. the rooms were great. and the restaurant on site really made us feel comfortable. i plan on going back cause of the experiences i had while at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Arqueologo, General Manager at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Dear Jeremy E

It’s been a pleasure to meet you, we are so grateful for your nice words about our hotel, as well as glad you have enjoyed your stay, our travel agents always are willing help our guests to organized their trips, with guarantee. We look forward to have you back soon.

Joel Evrard
General Manager
Hotel Arqueologo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

A quaint inner garden and hot cup of coco tea awaited our arrival. Our room was clean, and comfortable. The lobby bar was our introduction and benchmark for Pisco Sours ... which was not surpassed during our 2 weeks in Peru. The bartender, Ibi, was beautiful, charming. The included breakfast of fruit, cereals, breads, teas and coffee was served in a sunny room w/ a good city view and also eggs made to order. The nights were cool and each night staff visited to ensure we had heat. The one critique is our room could have had better lighting. The attached restaurant offered a special and unexpected treat of live opera arias during dinner.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Arqueologo, General Manager at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Dear Kenneth W.

Many thanks for your time to write this review, likewise we are happy to know you have enjoyed your staying here. We want to apologize for the bad lighting in the room, we have already taken deeds to solve it. It has been a pleasure to have you here, we look forward to have you back soon.

Joel Evrard
General Manager
Hotel Arqueologo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Cusco is a unique & fascinating place to visit, recommend June when all the winter solstice celebrations are on. Hotel is perfectly located, staff caring & know how to make your stay easy. We speak almost no Spanish but we had no communication problems. Great rooms, restaurant, breakfasts, wifi worked well, taxis all know the hotel, rooms comfortable & highly recommend

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director General at Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear ChristineE54

Thank you so much for this nice opinion, it has been a pleasure have you here. Our hotel is located 5 minutes on foot from the main square, count with an easy and safe location, it allows guest to get quickly to shops and restaurants. We are very grateful for your recommendation and look forward to have you soon.

Joel Evrard
General Manager
Hotel Arqueologo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection

Address: 408 Calle Pumacurco | One block Plaza Nazarenath, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#37 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Arqueologo: Located in downtown millenary Cusco. A five minute walk from the main square, in the ancient devout neighbourhood of San Blas; with narrow streets, Inca walls, colonial balconies and baroque style chapels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, T4B, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arqueologo Exclusive Selection Cusco
Arqueologo Exclusive Selection Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.