We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT service and delicious alpaca” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uchu Peruvian Steakhouse

Uchu Peruvian Steakhouse
Calle Palacio 135, Cusco, Peru
5184246598
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 423 Restaurants in Cusco
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: South American, Steakhouse, Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Delicious steaks prepared on volcanic stone, appetizers to share based in contemporary Peruvian cuisine, organic products used in all dishes, Uchu Peruvian Steakhouse is a great place to relax with a glass of one of our many wines or fresh juice in hand while enjoying one's dinning experience.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“GREAT service and delicious alpaca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is a somewhat new restaurant in Cusco. The owner of Marcelo Batata, which is the same owner of here, told me UCHU has been open for about a year. You would never know it was so new! Great, great service and the alpaca on stone is worth trying.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    506
    158
    23
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best meal in Cuzco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We ate here and it was the best meal in Cuzco we had. On the pricey side for Peru standards, but relatively fair prices for US standards. The meal was worth every penny. Highly recommend the Alpaca steak and the Lamb Ribs. The three chocolate desserts they have are amazing!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, FL
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Great grill alpaca!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

The food is good. We had the mixed grill with chicken, alpaca and shrimp. Great presentation cooked on hot stones. Service really needs to be improved!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
1 review
“A gem of a restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We made our last meal in Cusco to be at Uchu because we knew this place was going to be a treat of a restaurant. Boy, we weren't disappointed at all! Fine dining at its best, Everything we had at Uchu was so delicious and beautifully presented, including the drinks. We had their signature grilled meat combo with yummy sauces to dip in and an appetizer. Perfect! Decor was warm and interesting as well. Can be a nice place for a date.We recommend everyone to splurge a little and check this place out. Even the owner/ host was wonderful and accommodating as well. We can't recommend this place enough!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic authentic Peruvian steakhouse.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Based on a recommendation from a good friend currently living in Cusco, we went to Uchu for dinner. Like many restaurants here in Peru, the exteriors of the buildings can be deceiving. The interior decor is very nicely done. We ordered one of their steak combinations, which included beef tenderloin, lamb & alpaca. It was served on a hot volcanic stone and included a salad and a very delicious mashed potatoes w/ peanuts and chile. A fantastic dish. We enjoyed the chocolate madness dessert as well. We highly recommend dining at Uchu if you are visiting Cusco.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uchu Peruvian Steakhouse also viewed

Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 
Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Uchu Peruvian Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uchu Peruvian Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.