We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steakhouse !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uchu Peruvian Steakhouse

Uchu Peruvian Steakhouse
Calle Palacio 135, Cusco, Peru
5184246598
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 448 Restaurants in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Peruvian, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Delicious steaks prepared on volcanic stone, appetizers to share based in contemporary Peruvian cuisine, organic products used in all dishes, Uchu Peruvian Steakhouse is a great place to relax with a glass of one of our many wines or fresh juice in hand while enjoying one's dinning experience.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great steakhouse !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

A friend recommended that we try this restaurant and I'm so glad she did so ! The food, service and ambiance of this restaurant is great. I enjoyed receiving my meat/shrimps still cooking on a hot stone so that I can choose the level of cooking. The Alpaca steak was simply delicious. One of the top restaurant in Cusco for sure...

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    592
    186
    28
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“It's a good steak place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

OK, we went here for good meat after too many cebiches and potato-based plates during our great vacation.

They definitely delivered to that promised. The steaks and the service are great, the design is oh-kaaay, not exactly what I would expect from a #2 in the most sought after destination in a country, but nothing to complain about.

Enjoy.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellant service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had dinner at Uchu in October after a couple of other places that were recommended were booked. Glad they were booked since it turned out to be a great meal. The staff was wonderful giving great advise on what dishes to try. We had the alpaca steak cooked on a hot stone at the table. It was the best steak I have ever had. Meeting the owners Elizabeth and her husband was a treat. Elizabeth is from the US and married a local who is a chef. They just opened Uchu this year and for a new place they really have it together. I recommend it highly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“australian bloke”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This restaurant deserves to be ranked no. 1. The staff are friendly, attentive and cheerfully helpful with advice on their delicious menu. Ceviche, Alpaca, steak and the Peruvian Syrah were perfect. Thanks Helen, Eddie and the rest of the staff for a few memorable feasts.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We ate here on Friday night, the restaurant was quiet but the staff were welcoming and very attentive.

Great pisco sours were followed by a shared starter of Shrimp & Maracuya Ceviche and then the Alpaca steak and Lamb ribs served on hot stones. The side of chilli & peanut mashed potato is not to be missed.

The menu looked so interesting we went back for a late lunch on Saturday, shrimp & key lime bruschetta and the avocado salad.

The decor and ambience of the restaurant and the friendly staff make for a thoroughly enjoyable dining experience.

Highly recommend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uchu Peruvian Steakhouse also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Uchu Peruvian Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uchu Peruvian Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.