We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Grande Lodging

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Grande Lodging to your Saves list
Casa Grande Lodging
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   Santa Catalina 353, Cusco, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #155 of 281 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

I stayed four nights at the Casa Grande in Cusco and was very satisfied with the hostal. Cusco is a bit more expensive than other towns in Peru so be prepared. My room with a double bed, TV, private bathroom (shower) cost 65 soles per night.

The hotel is well kept and some of the rooms face a beautiful inner courtyard. The breakfast was very good with bread, bologna, cheese, tea and coffee. I also appreciated the two computers that provided free internet access from 7 am to 10 pm.

My room, 203, faced the street and there was some street noise but most of the other rooms do not face the street so noise should not be a problem. The bed was very comfortable and bathroom was functional and clean. The room was made up nicely every day (except the Sunday) and the TV had many channels (including several english ones).

The location of the hostal just off Plaza des Armes so it is central, and finally the staff was very pleasant at all times. They allowed me to store my luggage at the hotel my last day. My only complaint was the 9:30 am checkout (which is a bit early) and the fact that they make you pay for your room each day rather than when you checkout. Both minor issues.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    17
    20
    7
    6
See reviews for
6
17
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

Great little hotel right around the corner from the main plaza. My plans changed a bit during the trip and the hotel I was staying at didn’t have any rooms available for when I needed but the Casa Grande did. Great price (better than where I was staying) and it was comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was tasty and the staff was very pleasant. Would definitely stay here again with friends and/or family.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

With all of the impersonality and tourism pressure in Cusco, it's hard to believe that this place right next to the Plaza de Armas would be so unpretentious and friendly. Cusco is overpriced, but this place has all of the necessities for the tired trekker or meandering tourist at a decent enough rate. The staff were terrific and genuinely friendly. Best place I stayed in Cusco.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

I was two nights at this lodge and I founded it really nice and comfortable. The service was good as well as the attendants. The location was also great at only steps from the Plaza de Armas, the price was cheap and the room was clean and quite.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

Very close to the Plaza and good price. I stayed 2 nights and my only complain was the guest, there were people watching tv (soccer game), and they were screaming like crazy that my baby woke up a couple times, and my baby can slepp in any nosy place.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2009

It was the third hotel we tried out in Cusco: overall the location was great, very close to the plaza de armas.
The hotel looked nice in it's old style, but we had better value for money at other places.
The room had no radiator, only for an extra charge.
The breakfast was ridiculous: no plates, bread, jam, butter. That's it. (maybe we had got tired of bread and jam by then, but it was the most rudimentary breakfast we had in Peru)

Free wifi if you have your own laptop.
Staff was extremely friendly. Shockingly the women staff (very tiny ladies) were carrying all big suitcases around.

I'd not stay there again but choose other hotels with more value for money next time.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2008

We found this place after walking down one of the main streets in Cusco. The reception staff were really friendly and the open courtyard of the hostel onto which all of the rooms face, was pretty. We had a double room with bathroom. Everything was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The shower wasn’t brilliant as the water flow was quite low but there was hot water. The room did get cold at night but for an extra 10 Soles (£2) a night you can rent a portable radiator to heat the room. This room had a lot of natural light but some of the rooms can be dark so ask to look around a few rooms before you choose one. The layout of the hostel is great and has a lot of character with a cobbled courtyard, balconies and old wooden floors in the main areas. No room safes and no hairdryers but this is a hostel so expect the basic hostel standards. Cusco is relatively expensive so for the price we found this to be a good place to stay. It is also very centrally located right on one of the main streets leading to the main square but our room was quiet at night as our room was at the back. A basic breakfast is included in the price of flat bread orange juice, coffee/tea and jam.

  • Liked — Central location and price
  • Disliked — Shower was very weak
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.4 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#123 of 150 in Cusco
3.5 of 5 stars 21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#30 of 150 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 524 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa de Mama Cusco Recoleta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#50 of 150 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 stars 226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#14 of 150 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Grande Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Grande Lodging

Address: Santa Catalina 353, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 281 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Grande Lodging 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A good colonial and restored house; just few meters to main square and all facilities are around us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Casa Grande Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Grande Lodging Hotel Cusco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Grande Lodging, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.