We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Do not recommend”” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Grande Lodging

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Grande Lodging to your Saves list
Casa Grande Lodging
Santa Catalina 353, Cusco, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #139 of 244 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Lima, Peru
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
““Do not recommend””
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Terrible, really terrible. I stayed there for 1 night ... the rooms were dirty and bad illuminated. When we arrived, the girl of the frontdesk showed us a room that couldn't be closed from the inside ¿? Instead, she offered me a padlock (but the room would still be opened when we were inside ¿?) Then, she offered us another room, but actually she never could open the door (the lock was broken). Finally, she gave us a room, very small, and dirty. When we were sleeping, we heard noises from the couple of the next room (the walls were so thin that you could hear everything!).
The breakfast is served in the yard, and given that Cuzco is a cold city in the early morning, your breakfast will be served frozen too.
Finally, I made a reservation in order to sleep there when I return from Machu Picchu (an amazing place!). It was like 2 am and we were returning from Machu Picchu (the train lines suffered a problem because of the weather) when we arrived to Casa Grande. As soon we got inside to the hotel, the boy of the frontdesk told us that they were overbooked and we couldn't stay there (he offered us to go to another hotel)... we had to accepted his offer because we had no choice.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    16
    14
    5
    6
See reviews for
6
13
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

The hotel is very different from the pics you see in the internet. The bedroom smelled very badly, the shower is only hot with a few drops of water and there was one day that there was no water at all. The blankets and sheets had stains on them and the breakfast is very poor.
The location was great, but I am sure you can find hostels better than this "hotel" just as well located.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Was the worst place I stayed at in a month in Cuzco. My boyfriend and I called it "the dungeon". Scariest room and bathroom I have ever seen, really felt like a prison cell. I talked to some German tourists and they said their room was really loud. I have to give them credit for giving me a break on the price of the hotel for the room from hell and setting us up at Hostal Catalina across the street which was a wonderful place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Cove Springs, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

Casa Grande has a good location, decent services and ok rooms for the price, although it can be noisy. They can provide a heater for your room which we appreciated. Staff is helpful with the exception of people who sell tours through the hotel. (Tour company is called Amazing Andean Adventures.) The woman, Norca(sp?), who sold us a trip to Machu Picchu was eager to sign us up and promise all the best things.
We traveled to Aguas Calientes to stay overnight before our trip the next day up to Machu Picchu The hotel we were booked into was nearly empty and very noisy thanks to a local family who lived there and let their kids run and scream through the hallways. We were supposed to meet with our tour guide that night in order to go over the details of the next day's trip to MP. The guide didn't show up until we repeatedly asked the hotel staff to make several calls to find him. He arrived late with no apology and then told us we would not be able to take the sunrise tour we had signed up for. That was what we had especially told the tour operator we wanted.
Again the tour guide made no apologies, was rude while showing us his big plastic smile, and just said, "That's the way it is." So we were very disappointed and went on a later tour the next day with a different guide that turned out alright. When we returned to the Casa Grande in Cusco the next day, the woman who sold us the tour saw us several times around the hotel but never apologized for the mix-up or even talked to us. She had our money and that was that. So we wouldn't recommend using the tour services at the Casa Grande or the Amazing Andean Adventures agency.
FYI, if you go to Machu Picchu you don't have to book a guide in Cusco but can wait until you get to MP where there are plenty of guides who you can use and get a good price from.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

I stayed four nights at the Casa Grande in Cusco and was very satisfied with the hostal. Cusco is a bit more expensive than other towns in Peru so be prepared. My room with a double bed, TV, private bathroom (shower) cost 65 soles per night.

The hotel is well kept and some of the rooms face a beautiful inner courtyard. The breakfast was very good with bread, bologna, cheese, tea and coffee. I also appreciated the two computers that provided free internet access from 7 am to 10 pm.

My room, 203, faced the street and there was some street noise but most of the other rooms do not face the street so noise should not be a problem. The bed was very comfortable and bathroom was functional and clean. The room was made up nicely every day (except the Sunday) and the TV had many channels (including several english ones).

The location of the hostal just off Plaza des Armes so it is central, and finally the staff was very pleasant at all times. They allowed me to store my luggage at the hotel my last day. My only complaint was the 9:30 am checkout (which is a bit early) and the fact that they make you pay for your room each day rather than when you checkout. Both minor issues.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

Great little hotel right around the corner from the main plaza. My plans changed a bit during the trip and the hotel I was staying at didn’t have any rooms available for when I needed but the Casa Grande did. Great price (better than where I was staying) and it was comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was tasty and the staff was very pleasant. Would definitely stay here again with friends and/or family.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

With all of the impersonality and tourism pressure in Cusco, it's hard to believe that this place right next to the Plaza de Armas would be so unpretentious and friendly. Cusco is overpriced, but this place has all of the necessities for the tired trekker or meandering tourist at a decent enough rate. The staff were terrific and genuinely friendly. Best place I stayed in Cusco.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Grande Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Grande Lodging

Address: Santa Catalina 353, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 244 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A good colonial and restored house; just few meters to main square and all facilities are around us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Grande Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Grande Lodging Hotel Cusco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Grande Lodging, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.