We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and great cause!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ninos Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cusco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ninos Hotel
Save
You added Ninos Hotel to your Saves list
Calle Meloc 442, Cusco, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 145 Hotels in Cusco
Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great value and great cause!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2007

We stayed at Ninos 2 a total of 6 nights during our Peru trip and were in 3 different rooms. The hotel is very clean and comfortable and the profits support a great cause. Rooms are basic but very large, bright and have space heaters and plenty of hot water. We had read that the location wasn't in the best neighborhood, but we repeatedly walked back and forth to the Plaza area (10 minute walk) and never felt unsafe, even in the evening. The hotel has very inexpensive laundry service available and staff were able to recommend restaurants and activities. Breakfasts at the hotel were delicious and very inexpensive. The 2 rooms over the school area are a little noisier when the children are there (Monday through Saturday), so bring earplugs if you want to rest during the day or request a room near the central courtyard instead. We stored our bags twice and had no problems. We would definitely stay again.

  • Liked — Price, friendly staff, cleanliness, supports local children
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    224
    48
    14
    8
See reviews for
118
345
84
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2007

I really loved the Ninos Hotel, it's as good as everyone says it is. The hotel offers basic facilities but has a lovely ambience and is full of character. The rooms are clean, the beds comfortable and the staff are absolutely lovely. The breakfasts were also wonderful - it was really special to be able to wake up to pancakes, an omlette or just toast and fruit salad, and eat it in the sunny courtyard or in front of the fire in the dining room. Make sure you try the chocolate cake, too - yum!

My bags were taken care of whilst I was on the Inca Trail hike, my laundry done for a small fee, taxis always called when requested, and the rooms maintained well. Security is great (the door from the street is always locked and you ring a bell to get someone to let you in).

One tiny thing - when I emailed prior to departing for Peru I was told that check-in time was any time in the morning, and as my flight from Lima arrived in Cuzco at 7am I went straight to the hotel thinking I could get access to my room (and some much needed sleep!). However, it turned out check-in time was 11am. It was no real hassle though, as they looked after my bags whilst I took off to explore the gorgeous town. The main square is less than a 10 minute walk away.

I highly recommend the Ninos Hotel, and would definitely stay here again if I ever make it back to Cusco.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2007

This hotel is a great value, and it makes you feel good!! The rooms are cute and rustic and even have a little heater which is great for the cold Cusco nights. The service was exceptional, from the excellent breakfasts with fresh braked bread to the free cacoa tea, the staff was very helpful. They even called and made reservations for us at various restaurants. I also enjoyed having the kids running
around, makes the hotel a little happier than most others. GREAT LOCATION.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2007

We stayed a total of 4 nights at the Hotel Ninos, before and after our trek to Machu Picchu, and could not have been more thrilled with the services and value of the accomodation. The hotel is a little off the beaten path, but is easy to get to via taxi (which are dirt cheap) and is in a safe neighborhood. The staff is very warm and friendly, and able to help figure out dinner reservations or other plans you may want to make (city tours, sacred valley tour, etc). The rooms are simple, but nice, with pleanty of warm blankets to take the chill off of the Peruvian night. The bathrooms are a little "rustic", and the water temp tends to oscilate between cold and scalding at times, but these are small issues. For the price of the room, and in comparison to the rest of Cusco, you defnitely get your money's worth. Also, the courtyard is really pretty and quaint, and the little library area was nice to enjoy a cup of tea and sit by the fire. Finally, it is nice to know the benefit that goes to the children charity by supporting Hotel Ninos. All in all, an excellent choice for a hotel in Cusco!

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2007

We stayed in Ninos 2 and it was wonderful. When you enter the court yard it is like another world. Simple, tranquil, and calm. We stayed on three occasions during our 6 weeks in Peru different rooms each time. . All the rooms were simple and clean. The showers were consistantly hot, which was not the case in more expensive hotels. Breakfasts excellent with good variety. The staff were fantasticThe hotel is non profit making and supports the street children of Cusco.

  • Liked — simplicity and peace
  • Disliked — nothing to dislike
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2007

My husband and I stayed in the Ninos Hotel I in August of 2007. Overall the hotel was great, from the complementary cup of coca tea upon arrival to the very clean rooms and friendly staff. We stayed in the room ‘Celso’ on the second floor for 3 nights prior to our Inca trail trek and then 2 nights after the trek in the ‘Moises’ room. Both were very clean and bright and opened to the lovely courtyard below. The staff was very helpful in offering advice about activities and they held our luggage during the trek. There were only two downsides we could identify: there is no central heating (which seems to be standard throughout Cuzco) so the rooms were cold. However, there were several warm blankets and a small space heater so we slept fine. The other negative was that it is further away than many other hotels from the main plaza, although the walk was only about 10 minutes. Overall we would highly recommend this hotel and contributing to the excellent work that this group does in Peru.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prophetstown, Illinois
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2007

When we traveled to Peru our goal was to first have fun and second support the local economy as much as possible. Ninos 2 is a wonderful cause and the hotel proceeds are a perfect blend of tourism and support for the community. I applaud the vision the owner had. While supporting the local economy we did not want to give up comfort. Ninos 2 was a truly great place to stay. Our room was quiet - came in late and up very early. They have secure luggage storage for your trip to Machu Picchu. It is a short walk to the train station to Machu Picchu. The neighborhood was authentic. Their were a lot of "corn drinking" establishments in the area - including across the street. They were not a problem and we wished we felt brave enough to go in one of them! After a long day in Machu Picchu we ate at a pizza place around the corner - too tired to walk to the square. The man was thrilled to have us and was quite doting - a favorite meal even though the pizza was just OK. The hotel was very nice and we would tell everyone to stay here! Warning - if you are making your own travel arrangements reserve your train tickets to Aqua Calientes ahead of time and you have to go to the Wanchaq to pay for them. The station has limited hours and system is a hoot - but go for it! Onward....

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ninos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ninos Hotel

Address: Calle Meloc 442, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cusco
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
#18 Family Hotel in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Ninos Hotel Cusco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ninos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.